Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2012
A sweet story set in a realistically depicted Cornish seaside town. I really enjoyed this.

The romance was gently built and there was a heart-felt dilemma at its core. I'll look out for more 'New Bay' stories from Nell Dixon.

Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
Having enjoyed other novels by Nell Dixon, I couldn't wait to dive into A Cornish Christmas. Sea rescues, stray dogs, Christmas carnivals in Cornwall... it has all the ingredients for a perfect holiday read. Curl up by the fire and lose yourself in a well-written romance.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
This novella was a lovely, gentle read set in one of my favourite locations - a Cornish seaside town which was evocatively depicted with a cast of very realistic, down to earth characters. A relaxing read for beach or sofa.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
This is a short book, but nonetheless and enjoyable one.

Meg works in a dress shop in Cornwall. Her boyfriend, Adam, is the local doctor and also a member of the local lifeboat crew. Meg's father was also a lifeboat man and had died at sea when meg was 14 years old. meg has kept Adam at arm's length because she cannot imagine being married to someone who faces the danger at sea as part of his vocation. Of course, things can change!

A well written book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
Author Nell Dixon delivers another satisfying contemporary romance novella with A Cornish Christmas. The beauty of this one is, you don't have to wait for Christmas to enjoy it.

[SPOILER ALERT] Meg manages a boutique clothing store near the shore of New Bay. Adam, a friend who wants to be more than a friend, works in a nearby clinic and also volunteers aboard the bay's lifeboat, which is a problem for Meg, who lost her fisherman father during a storm when she was a teenager. She's never been able to get over that tragedy and now distrusts the sea, refusing to give her heart to a man who voluntarily braves its worst. It's only when Meg sees Adam with another woman that she realizes it's too late; he already owns her heart. And it's not until Adam rescues a stray dog trapped on the beach from the onrushing waves that she realizes his generosity of spirit is part of what she loves about him. But when the lifeboat, and Adam, are called out for a before-Christmas rescue in dangerous waters, she must face her fears as well as the possibility of losing the man she loves before she has even told him. [END SPOILER ALERT]

Dixon's writing doesn't disappoint, with its clarity and its realistic portrayal of two people coming together in difficult circumstances. The humor is gentle, the emotions are real and not overblown, and the chemistry is delightfully subtle. For readers taking a break from paranormal or alpha males, there's certainly worse out there. Happily recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
This short story was amaturish and easily predictable. I am not a writer but I am sure that I could have written this within a few days. The simplest of boy meets girl love stories with no real added features of note or to capture the imagination and a very abrupt ending. Thank goodness it didn't cost very much.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Not worth the money spent on it. Suitable only as a short story in a Womans Mag. I would not reccomend it to a friend or buy another book by this Author.
It could have been about anywhere. Did not have the flavour or feel of Cornwall - and I should know, I live there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
A seasonal romantic short story set in Cornwall ....... Entertaining and enjoyable suitable for holiday or traveling on a short journey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
ENA'S REVIEW
This cover is a more Christmas themed novella. I do think the cover could have looked more wintery really.
So another relationship based story, this time it's the guy Adam who wants a more meaningful, less platonic relationship, but Meg doesn't seem so sure. Will things change? Will Adam get his ideal relationship with Meg or will she continue to keep him at arms length, as a friend only. Could Christmas have the added magic to turn their friendship into something more?
This one out of five is a definite 5/5!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Just love my kindle and get great pleasure getting books from this site. New fan of Nell Dixon. Hoping for more from this author
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.