Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grower
The mark of great music - songs that sound ordinary at first, but then, with each listen, grow in nuance and depth. At first I was reeled in by the chorus in Part-Time Believer (one of the best singalongs I've heard!) but now I've realised that every song is wonderful. After twenty listens, the melodies still sound fresh. I haven't enjoyed an album this much since Lord...
Published 14 months ago by sunfish

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yep - this one sounds like Fleet Foxes also!
Excellent songs in a Fleet Foxes vain. One small problem though, Boy and Bear are yet another casualty of the ****LOUDNESS WAR!****. Each song has been mastered and brick wall limited beyond the available dynamic range. Compressed, clipped and totally buggered about with by the engineer.

Did the band know this? Did the band sanction this? Why put so much time...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Mr. C. A. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grower, 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: Moonfire (Audio CD)
The mark of great music - songs that sound ordinary at first, but then, with each listen, grow in nuance and depth. At first I was reeled in by the chorus in Part-Time Believer (one of the best singalongs I've heard!) but now I've realised that every song is wonderful. After twenty listens, the melodies still sound fresh. I haven't enjoyed an album this much since Lord Huron's Lonesome Dreams, and I'm always on the lookout for good new music.

I think it's more like a cross between Crowded House and Ben Howard - I'm not sure I would put Boy & Bear in the same category as Mumford and Sons.

A wonderful album! I can recommend it unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, 6 April 2012
By 
Mr. P. Davis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonfire (MP3 Download)
I've heard a few of these songs and loved them. I was hoping to pick up the mp3 album tonight, but as it's priced at double the cost of most top 40 albums at the moment, i'm going to have to hold off. how 1 less for a digital download equates to the cost of making stamping, distrubiing and shipping the cd vs a digital download i don't know. I wish we could access this music at a fair price. i will go see them live when they're near me and buy the t-shirt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Mumford, but. . . .better (!?), 21 April 2012
By 
Mr. C. A. Lillie (Wallasey, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonfire (Audio CD)
Fantastic!! If you like Mumford and sons, you will LOVE this. Arguably more variety in its style than Mumford. Liked them so much, I've just been to see them live in the Salford kings arms in a tiny room upstairs. UNBELIEVABLE live!!, filling stadiums, with the right promotion, which m guessing they're not getting. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cant stop listening to it., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonfire (Audio CD)
I bought their second album Harlequin Dream first. Loved it so much II had to have this one too. I think this one is even better. Great songs and a great voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonfire (Audio CD)
I must admit I hadn't heard of them before and found this album by accident and after reading a couple of reviews became intrigued by the good reviews. So pleased I ordered this and harlequin dream, can't stop listening to either at the minute, every track is great, like some of the other reviews mentioned its one of those albums that grows on you with each listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yep - this one sounds like Fleet Foxes also!, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. C. A. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonfire (Audio CD)
Excellent songs in a Fleet Foxes vain. One small problem though, Boy and Bear are yet another casualty of the ****LOUDNESS WAR!****. Each song has been mastered and brick wall limited beyond the available dynamic range. Compressed, clipped and totally buggered about with by the engineer.

Did the band know this? Did the band sanction this? Why put so much time in crafting wonderful detailed music only to have it messed with like this?

For God's sake, put the volume knob back into the hands of the listener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonfire
Moonfire by Boy & Bear (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews