Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned Punch Up!
The Rock plays Chris Vaughn a retired US Special Forces Soldier who has returned home to set up a new life for himself. Yet when he returns home he finds the place he left behind is now a dilapidated crime riddled shell with his old school friend, Hamilton now running the show. Together with a mate (Johnny Knoxville), Chris Vaughn decides to take a stand against the...
Published on 13 Jun 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Throwaway stuff
A competent if uninspired remake sees Dwayne Johnson clean up the criminal element that has taken hold of his old town. The fight scenes are well choreographed but the Rock faces similar problems to Arnie in that unless he's fighting five guys, he doesn't appear to be in much trouble. His saving grace is that he can act a fair bit, certainly moreso than other musclebound...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. S. Storey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned Punch Up!, 13 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
The Rock plays Chris Vaughn a retired US Special Forces Soldier who has returned home to set up a new life for himself. Yet when he returns home he finds the place he left behind is now a dilapidated crime riddled shell with his old school friend, Hamilton now running the show. Together with a mate (Johnny Knoxville), Chris Vaughn decides to take a stand against the drug dealers and take back his old town!
This movie is only about 1hour & 10min long (makes a refreshing change to the 2hr long movies which keep coming out) but saying that, that's really all you need. The film moves at a great pace with the action heating up in the first 15 minutes and doesn't let up until the very end. Each fight scene is amazingly played out using the good old fashion methods, none of this defying gravity just a large plank of wood and some hard raw punching.
This is a great honest movie, its not trying to be anything special. So just sit back, watch and enjoy a thoroughly good film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Throwaway stuff, 19 July 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
A competent if uninspired remake sees Dwayne Johnson clean up the criminal element that has taken hold of his old town. The fight scenes are well choreographed but the Rock faces similar problems to Arnie in that unless he's fighting five guys, he doesn't appear to be in much trouble. His saving grace is that he can act a fair bit, certainly moreso than other musclebound hulks who grace the silver screen; he's also charismatic which gives him plenty of screen prescence. The movie is well shot, the sets are fine and the cast do a good job of convincing us who they are. Johnny Knoxville does what he's always asked to do as the dependable sidekick and Neil Mcdonough can do a menacing bad guy standing on his head. The movie nips along to a satisfying conclusion without becoming bland or boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Extras????, 30 July 2012
This review is from: Walking Tall [Blu-ray] [2004] (Blu-ray)
This is a bare bones Blu Ray release unfortunately. Compared to the DVD Collectors Edition this really isn't worth the upgrade unless your just a fan of picture clarity and sound.

The only extra given on the Blu Ray release is the Feature Trailer.

Still it's a great little movie with plenty of action and some 'ohhhh thats gotta hurt' moments so it gets 4 stars from me.

PS. I don't generally review the movie itself as you have IMDB for that, I just like to inform people of what extras are or aren't in addition to a previous release.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, one of The Rock's best., 23 April 2005
By 
J. Day "Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on Sky Box Office recently and it's a great movie, probably the best I've seen the Rock in. It's based on real events, so the action is kept quite realistic, with a fairly short finale with the big bad guy at the end highlighting the fact. The Rock and Knoxville pull off good performances and it's a well edited and paced movie. However, it's seems really short and I think clocked in just over an hour, though I hope the extras make up for that. Definitley worth a rent first, but WWF/WWE/ The Rock fans won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mines a cedar !!!!!!!!, 27 Jan 2005
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
Cracking film with some great fight scenes,good story and acting. The Rock does look the part I must say wih a cedar in his hand. Bottom line well worth the money on a Friday night with a four pack and pizza. The only moan is the film is very short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it. its a good movie., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
I love this movie. Who wouldn't want to look like this dude. The Lord sure blessed him with the building blocks for success when it comes to the gym. And like I said, its a watchable movie to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Tall [Blu-ray] [2004] (Blu-ray)
I would recommend with film I think its fab :-) love the rock and he is just brilliant in this film :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELENT VALUE FOR MONEY, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
FOR THE VERY LITTLE I HAD TO PAY OUT FOR THIS DVD I WAS AMAZED AT THE QUALITY >>>it arrived earlier than expected which was even better. top marks all the way. THANK YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars walking tall movie with the rock, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Tall [Blu-ray] [2004] (Blu-ray)
Its a good movie and action from start to finish and also a true story 10 out of 10 movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something I would do, 15 April 2013
By 
Padman (Milton Keynes, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Tall [DVD] (DVD)
Know your own limits and know what you want and just take it, no matter what people throw at you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking Tall [Blu-ray] [2004]
Walking Tall [Blu-ray] [2004] by Kevin Bray (Blu-ray - 2012)
8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews