Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small and useful - but underpowered
This Sony Portable USB power supply is great for boosting your battery when you are running out of power but not near a plug in charger. Its small and portable, fits in a jacket pocket, and doesn't look too bad either.

The down sides are it only manges to charge a 2000mAh Samsung Galaxy battery to 70%, against its claim of giving any phone a full charge. It...
Published on 15 April 2012 by neman s khan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Portable yet under-powered & difficult to trust storage
This portable charger is light weight, easy to use and works well (if slowly). I took it with me when travelling through Peru and it worked well.

Downsides here are:

The flashing light system is difficult to remember what the sequence means - leading to having no idea if it's full or empty
It takes a v long time to charge devices
It always...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. O. Rice


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small and useful - but underpowered, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
This Sony Portable USB power supply is great for boosting your battery when you are running out of power but not near a plug in charger. Its small and portable, fits in a jacket pocket, and doesn't look too bad either.

The down sides are it only manges to charge a 2000mAh Samsung Galaxy battery to 70%, against its claim of giving any phone a full charge. It also is unclear how much power is left as its flashing light system is not that helpful either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Portable yet under-powered & difficult to trust storage, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. O. Rice "Osh" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
This portable charger is light weight, easy to use and works well (if slowly). I took it with me when travelling through Peru and it worked well.

Downsides here are:

The flashing light system is difficult to remember what the sequence means - leading to having no idea if it's full or empty
It takes a v long time to charge devices
It always seems to be flat if you have used it once before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a present, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
it was a present for a friend. hopefully she likes it. looks ok only if it has more mah capacity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading product description., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
It states 2000mAh in the product description and “enough for 1x charge for your phone”, but when you look the printings on the actual battery, it says: Capacity: 3.6V 2000mAh, Output (this is what you should be interested): 5V 1000mAh. That is a hell lot of energy loss during the voltage conversion!

Considering the energy couldn’t be 100% transferred from the Sony battery to your phone due to energy loss via the 3.6V to 5V to 3.xV (depends on your phone) transformation, and the fact that THIS battery will stop sending power when it’s on “low” power state before it reaches “empty” state. You only get somewhere around 1300~1500mAh juice into your phone’s battery if you are lucky. That said, if you are using, say, Sony’s Xperia Z1, which comes with 3000mAh battery, you can only top up 1/3 of your phone’s battery, so what’s the point of bring this rather bulk (it’s actually much bigger than what it looks like in the picture) battery “pack” in your pocket?

Do me a favour: save yourself a good £12 and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great product at a good price!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
This portable charger is a nice accessory to have as smartphone batteries generally don't last as long as their feature phone counterparts. Amazon, at the time, were selling it significantly cheaper than Sony's RRP so I grabbed the bargain, It works well and charges my phone (Xperia L) nearly too 100% (I didn't fully charge the charger). So it is a great piece of kit for the mid/low end smartphones but for the more powerful ones it probably won't be enough.

Build quality and design are both good-as well as ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesnt even charge my iphone 4s once completely., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
The first time I used it , it charged my phone. But turns out, next time I tried using it without charging it, it wouldnt charge.
So basically, it charges phone only once when it has been completely charged. But here's the worst part after using it for three days, it wouldnt even charge my phone once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars just so so, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
it has the limited time for using and just almost one battery
but small and light
OK for its pride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small and light, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
This product is small and light so will fit into a pocket easy enough. It comes with a handy short microusb cable which charges itself off a AC USB charger or any USB device. This short cable makes it even more portable. Its output of 1A will even charge my Toshiba AT300 which comes with a 2.1A wall charger and will not charge off a standard computer 0.5A USB port, but very slowly. Of course with a 2Ah battery, it cannot be expected to fully charge the AT300, or even my LG 4X HD with an extended 4.1Ah battery. It also get warm when charging my AT300, due to the high drain I think. It will however give a useful boost in an emergency when you just have to make that phone call or send that email.

Now why did I take a star off? It does not have any switch on its body and is turned on and off by plugging the USB cable into the outlet. So you cannot leave the cable in the outlet as I believe it will drain the battery. You can however plug it into the microUSB in port but since microUSB is smaller and therefore weaker, I am not sure if this is a really good idea. As a result of not having any switch, the device communicate with a series of flashes of its LEDs. Good luck remembering what the flashes means. It will be so much better if they can print the information on the body itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal solution for recharging so many electronic devices., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones (Accessory)
I bought this as a present for someone going travelling as I had bought one last summer and found it invaluable whilst on holiday. I charged my phone and my kindle with it. Very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony CP-ELS Universal Charger for Smartphones
£13.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews