Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bside myself with aural pleasure
The Pet Shop Boys have long been known as much for the quality of the B-sides to the singles they release as for the A-sides. The magnificent Alternative paid testament to the fact when it was released in the late 90s, whilst sundry other compilations and remix albums have included great songs that were never on albums or released as singles. This double album certainly...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Format-MP3 Download Version
It's ok, not great. There some good songs on the compilation and some not so good-culled from b-sides between 1996 and 2010 the compilation isn't a patch on Altenative the last b-side compilation. The standout tracks to me are:

"The Resurrectionist", a b-side from the "I'm with Stupid" single-a sort of techno-noir song about body-snatching, however I prefer...
Published on 17 April 2012 by MR Paul Dobbs


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bside myself with aural pleasure, 19 April 2012
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
The Pet Shop Boys have long been known as much for the quality of the B-sides to the singles they release as for the A-sides. The magnificent Alternative paid testament to the fact when it was released in the late 90s, whilst sundry other compilations and remix albums have included great songs that were never on albums or released as singles. This double album certainly keeps up the quality levels, with 38 outstanding tracks, some of which will only be familiar to diehard fans, but many of which will stir memories of the past fifteen years or so of PSB sounds.
Standout tracks for me include the pulsating 'The Truck Driver and His Mate', with all Tennant & Lowe's trademark irony wrapped-up in the lyrics, anthemic 'The Boy Who Couldn't Keep His Clothes On', and updated version of former Clothes Show theme 'In the Night'. Elton John even appears on a version of the hit single 'In Private', originally written for and performed by the late great Dusty Springfield, whilst 'Blue on Blue' is surely the single that never was, and the brilliant cover of a homage written by 'My Robot Friend and recorded by Robbie Williams on his 'Rudebox' album, 'We're the Pet Shop Boys', provides yet more quality.
A great album, packed to the gills with original electronic pop, and a reminder of why the boys continue to endure, thirty years after that fateful meeting on Kings Road...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for all PSB fans who didn't buy the singles, 11 Feb. 2012
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
The Pet Shop Boys are nothing if not consistent. As most fans will already know (and previous reviewers have already remarked) their B-sides are as good as their A-sides - a lot of them are discarded album tracks which see the band only marginally, if at all, more camp/experimental/humorous than we might ordinarily expect to find them.

Whilst I must admit I am more of a fan of the Pet Shop Boys' earlier work, I might be so bold as to venture that "Format" is an even stronger collection than their previous B-sides compilation Alternative. "Sexy Northerner" and "In Private" are worth the price of admission alone.

As ever, the collection is immaculately presented: 2CDs in cardboard slipcases with a booklet packaged in a thick card box (although, note to anyone reading this in future - PSB releases do tend to revert to jewel cases after a while). The booklet usefully contains the boys' (as interviewed by Jon Savage) comments on each and every track.

My only complaint would be that their awesome cover of Coldplay's Viva La Vida (from 2009's Christmas - now out of print) is not included - I suspect that may be a format limitation issue as both CD's are a 78 minute run-time). Nevertheless "Format" is a comprehensive and entertaining package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The packaging is as good as the music!, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
W. Harvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
Although I've always loved the Pet Shop Boys and have all their albums, I've never been enough of a fan to buy all the singles so I appreciate these B-sides compilations.

Seventeen years on, 'Format' is the follow-up to the brilliant Alternative and although of comparable quality is a very different collection. What I enjoyed most about 'Alternative' was seeing how Neil and Chris progressed musically. It was almost like hearing them become the Pet Shop Boys, so by the time of the last track on the second CD they have arrived at their unique sound.

There's less development in 'Format' because that sound has been established. To that extent this new collection is less of a journey than a series of forays from an established point, so there are some real oddities, tracks that sound more experimental than anything you'd get on an album, for example 'Disco Potential' or 'The Former Enfant Terrible' (great title even if the song doesn't quite work). There are also some ridiculously camp songs too, 'Between Two Islands' and some unexpected instrumentals.

This means the album is a bit patchy and I can see certain songs being permanently skipped over. What remains (and it is the majority) is just wonderful and cover the complete soundscape of the PSB. There are the thumping dance numbers, 'Resurrectionist' or 'Blue on Blue' as well the quieter, more thoughtful and intimate tracks (the closest PSB come to ballads) such as 'The Calm before the Storm' a short, elegiac gem. There are also some unexpectedly rocky numbers, 'I didn't get where I am today', for example, and I was glad to see 7" versions of 'Discoteca' and 'No Time for Tears'.

My only slight disappointment is a lack of true 'signature' PSB tracks, those songs that combine relentless disco beats with melancholic orchestral arrangements... but because this is a B-side collection (i.e. material that didn't make it on to the albums) that may not be a surprise.

Finally no review could omit saying something about the packaging. As always with a PSB release it's as good as the music with a beautiful box, great cover design, two separate wallets for each CD and a fascinating booklet that adds more detail and explanation about the songs. (Shame there's no photo of 'The Boys'). Indeed so consistently good is PSB packaging I can never imagine buying one of their albums on digital download.

Non-PSB fans probably won't be moved by this collection, but if you like them this is an essential purchase. It only goes up to 2009... so let's hope that means a third B-side collection will be released one day. I just hope we don't have to wait as long as we did after 'Alternative'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whatever the format, PSB are genuine all-time greats, 17 Feb. 2012
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
If we're being totally honest about the music business there are few bands who could ever truly release an "essential" greatest hits package. There's even less who could rattle up a two cd set of b-sides. Rarer still is the band who could rattle up a two-disc greatest hits packed with 35 UK top 20 hits and TWO great compilations of completely different b-sides/extra tracks.

The times have changed since Alternative, Pet Shop Boys' first collection of b-sides. B-Sides were in their latter years back in 1995 when we got Alternative and yet the onslaught of "digital" singles means that "extra" tracks are now more in vogue than they've ever been. Such is the work ethic and quality of Messrs Tennant & Lowe it never seems to be a chore for them to come up with quality "extra" tracks that have always seemed to be a cut above the "throwaway" ditties that can make up a lot of band's extra efforts (even if the days of PSB tailoring b-sides to particular singles are also long gone).

If there's less "experimentation" on Format than there was on Alternative it's perhaps understandable yet the chronological nature of the release means you can trace a number of "pop phases" through these tracks (as the Boys themselves have acknowledged) as they've never been shy to express their influences nor have a crack at what the sound of the times is.

When Format is good, it's so good you wonder why certain songs didn't at least make it onto albums. Indeed there are some, such as the Johnny Marr featuring I Didn't Get Where I Am Today, that simply scream out "hit-single". There are also a number of what I would term "essential" PSB tracks that might not have had the "hit potential" but remain up there with their best works. I'm thinking of the likes of The Truck Driver & His Mate (a wonderfully witty and sly take on the nighttime adventures of said truck driver, which was their attempt at an "Oasis sound"), Sexy Northener (a pulsating dance driven rhythm allied with some of Tennant's brilliant eye - or eye - for observation) and Blue on Blue (a sort of electro-clash song that would no doubt have been praised to the hilt if some young, "bedroom genius" came up with it). Then there's the likes of Party Song which, quite amazingly, started life off as an attempted cover of Smells Like Teen Spirit (you'll think not at first, but listen...you'll pick it up).

Comparing it to Alternative there's probably a few more tracks on here that don't hit the mark and there's probably a bit less that makes you sit up and think "how on earth wasn't this a single?". However in general it shows you that whilst their critical reception may have ebbed and flowed over the thirteen years of this compilation (1996-2009) they've rarely stopped producing quality pop tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are the Pet Shop Boys, 7 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
From 1996's "Bilingual" to 2009's "Yes", the PSBs have continued to release a plethora of bonus and non-album tracks with every release and FORMAT does an excellent job of chronologically documenting these. Here, you will find the PSBs at their experimental best, ranging from jungle, latino and electronica to rabid pop and all-out rock. There are too many to review individually, but highlights on the album for me include the guitar-driven "I didn't get where I am today" which could easily have been a successful single and is remininiscent of Beautiful People from "Yes". Johnny Marr's trademark plucking of a Beatles-esque riff under an uplifting melody make it a crime that this song was consigned to B-side status. The Nirvana-inspired "Party Song" is another that would make many of today's young upstarts green with envy that 2 men in their 50s can produce such relevant, vibrant, colourful yet challenging pop after approaching 30 years in the business. Tennant sings with a sneer only Shaun Ryder could rival over an electronic riff which owes more than a nod to "Smells Like Teen Spirit". Sheer brilliance. One other than merits a mention is the strangely disturbing "Gin and Jag" which explores the dark side of the internet. The threatening lyrics match perfectly with the danger-tinged harmonies employed by Tennant.
Overall, a wonderous piece of work, which flows, on the whole, with a surprising underlying consistency, despite the changing styles throughout the 38 songs and 13 years spanned. Ideal for a long car journey, at least until the promised 2012 album of brand new material is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northeners, 14 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
Just think: how many bands do you know who can afford a quadruple album of essential B-sides?

"Format" arrives in a Mark Farrow-tastic box with thirty-eight tracks and a booklet where Jon Savage interviews Neil and Chris about the dark side of the single. Needless to say, they once again turn out to be The Wittiest Couple In Pop, no contest.

As for the music: this compilation holds together very well. even if it spans nearly two decades and various genres. We get disco, ballads, techno stomps, rocky bops and a wondrous cover in the form of "We're The Pet Shop Boys", the ultimate meta-pop song that was written by My Robot Friend and later sadly mauled by one R. Williams.

It does not end here: these songs also sparkle lyrically, brimming with a variety of themes that are presented with heartfelt, surgical precision. One simply cannot listen to the PSB without thinking of literature; E. M.Forster and Alan Hollinghurst, for instance, keep coming to mind. Mr Tennant's tone and narrative slant are up there, dispensing acute social commentary and poignant stories at every turn.

"Format" is therefore a further, pristine addition to the already glorious PSB canon.

These northeners really have a way with words and music. How do they do it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best "B-Sides" of all time., 6 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
The sequel, of sorts, to 1995's "Alternative", "Format" is best seen as perhaps part of a very much a dying breed : The B-sides album. Over their quarter century (is it that long? It doesn't seem so, but it obviously is), the Pet Shop Boys have seen the dominance of the format, the plushing of the vinyl single, the rise, and hasty death of cassette, and the entire lifespan of the CD single : "Always On My Mind" was the first Number One Christmas single available on CD in the UK. 38 songs at a very affordable price in a double set : near enough every Pet Shop Boys song that hasn't been on an album. Near enough.

Now, the b-side is an anarchronism : there are no b-sides anymore. Physical singles are practically extinct : HMV in Oxford Street - the biggest record shop in Europe - contains a two feet of rack space for the CD single. Everything is available on your virtual storefront.

Taking perhaps a strange role then, this record, or box set, of something like 40 songs is a lavish, exhaustive two and a half journey through Pet Shop Boys back pages. Running from 1996 to 2009, from the bands out-of-time "Bilingual" to the largely successful commercial reappraisal of "Yes", , "Format" is, by definition incomplete - missing the b-sides to the last three singles - and doing what most b-side albums do, which is sound exactly like a collection of songs that don't quite fit well together recorded many years apart.

To their credit, the Pet Shop Boys still bother with b-sides. For many bands, the b-side is now nothing more than a digital bundle of extra leftovers pared off and thrown randomly across the internet through several retailer-only exclusives, or perhaps, even worse, akin to the Depeche Mode remix record from the summer, where 25 extra remixes were only available from 7 seperate digital sellers.

For this band - Britains best songwriting duo - there is no such as a b-side, just a song that doesn't make it onto the album. And here they are. Keen listeners will know first few songs from the 2001 remaster set of "Bilingual", with others from the various limited double-disc formats of the albums at the time of their release. Others - such as "The former enfant terrible" have only ever been seen as downloads. Not that this necessarily matters, for "Format" collects almost every non-album song from the second fifteen years of their lives, and places them in chronological order . Until such time as an exhaustive set of remasters and reissues slip out for their last few records, "Format" is the place to be.

It starts with "The Truck Driver And His Mate", which is somewhat more sexual than you might expect. Beyond this, the rest of this are some of the finest songs you've never heard - 12 songs alone from the "Bilingual" record, including the under-rated remix/amped up re-recording of "Discoteca" which takes a mid-paced ballad and becomes a andrenalised stomper. "Disco potential" and the somewhat lyrically slight "The View From My Balcony" (which is exactly that), are not the greatest Pet Shop Boys ever.

1999's "Nightlife" was, at the time, seemingly shorn of, and out of step with the world.A brash disco album with tinges of regret, the b-sides were oft overlooked : the band were at this stage, touring to half-empty arenas with a bankrupt Harvey Goldsmith taking the proceeds, and whilst their commercial stock was challenged, the record gifted some of the finest songs they ever wrote - whilst "Je T'Aime" with Sam Taylor Wood is missing, we do get the under-appreciated tussle that is the Chris-Lowe led "Lies". Sticking with the chronological aim of the record, CD1 ends with "Sexy Northerner", which is amongst the greatest b-sides of all time : unforgettable, daft and funny in equal measure. The key to happy living is not taking yourself too seriously, after all.

The second CD opens with 8 or 9 songs from the 2002-3 period around the "Release" album, where the bands commercial stock was as low as it has ever been, the material was presented with a somewhat realistic, organic approach and - whilst the relative "back to basics" approach of touring with a regular band of guitars, drums, and so forth and minimalist staging had a certain effect, the overall result was one of a drift from the world of big hits. As was expected, a consolidating greatest hits record was issued : the b-sides from period are both good, average, and somewhat unexceptional. You can see why songs such as "Always" - a midpaced, unexceptional, fogettable song - never made the parent album. And, despite being covered by Robbie Williams, the song "We're The Pet Shop Boys" (itself a cover) is perhaps one of the finest, funniest, and most enjoyable hagiographies ever committed to tape. Later, songs such as "The Resurrectionist", and a retooled with-Elton-John version of 1989's "In private" are welcome additions and proof, were any needed that after twenty years, the band still had and maintained a certain, unique personality. The kind that if it didn't exist, you would miss it, and wonder where such artists wwhere in the world. By the end of the album, and the prolific "Yes" period, the b-sides of the first two singles are present : but many songs - the b-sides to the German "Beautiful people" single, the Christmas EP, "Together" are all absent without leave, and - time restrictions of the format aside - missing.

"Format" is what it is, both a dying breed of the compilation of the now sadly endangered extra track and b-side, and a compendium of extra songs that supplement and expand the previous five studio records with several additional songs each. Some of them are the finest songs the band have recorded : some of them not so. Some of them are songs that you will hold in your ears with a wonder as to where they have been all your life. Others not so. And, unless you bought a digital download from one specific website, others will be songs you probably didn't know existed. Designed for the casual, this weighty, popstuffed package is a value for money delivery mechanism for 38 songs that have, over the past 15 years, been a well-kept secret from pop music's back pages. We're the Pet Shop Boys, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like this, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
Like the Pet Shop boys and this album is excellent.play it all the time. Easily one of my best buys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a PSB fan, you've got to have it., 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
Quality, accurate selection of songs, nice packaging. One of PSB's best albums. You never get disappointed with these boys !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Boys never fail!!, 7 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Format (Audio CD)
I love this cd from the Pet Shop Boys
It is amazing that this is a 2 CD set!! and it only contains B-sides
It really shows just how prolific the Pet Shop Boys are
My favorite song on this album and also my favorite Pet Shop Boys song is Sexy Northerner
I cant Wait until their next album in september
The only down side is i had to purchase this album from amazon UK since it was not offered for sale in the U.S.
That is a mystery to me
Go out and buy this album you will not be disappointed
Bill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Format
Format by Pet Shop Boys (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews