Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all round Full HD 3D projector. Almost perfect except for one flaw
The Epson EH-TW5900, I would assert is probably the best value sub £1,000 Full HD 3D projector available.

To provide some context I had owned several Optoma DLP projectors before this such as the HD72 and HD20. Although they were low in price, I lost confidence in Optoma products (after having 4 different HD20's) as they were very unreliable and temperamental...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Daniel Billinton

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be smaller, less noisy and have lens shift
We had our old projector on a shelf to the back of the room about 4ft off the ground and it worked fine there with the horizontal keystone correction and the angling of the base (if you move a projector around you will severely shorten the bulb life as we found first time out). This projector is more rigid. The bottom of the image must line up with the bottom of the...
Published on 10 Aug 2012 by Savita


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all round Full HD 3D projector. Almost perfect except for one flaw, 1 May 2012
By 
Daniel Billinton "daniel" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
The Epson EH-TW5900, I would assert is probably the best value sub £1,000 Full HD 3D projector available.

To provide some context I had owned several Optoma DLP projectors before this such as the HD72 and HD20. Although they were low in price, I lost confidence in Optoma products (after having 4 different HD20's) as they were very unreliable and temperamental proving to be very sensitive to HDMI cables and sometimes refusing to 'hand-shake' with an HDMI signal.

In short I wanted to upgrade to 3D and I considered the optoma HD300x and the HD33 but was unconvinced as I knew that for 3D you needed at least 2000 lumens for a decent bright image. Anyway, I took the chance to try Epson LCD technology instead.

The first thing you notice about the Epson is it's size - the LCD technology is inevtably bulkier than the equivalent DLP technology found in the Optoma's. It's much heavier too - so much so that I had to reinforce my ceiling mount. But when it is up, it really looks like it means business. The build quality is superb and it feels very solid and professional compared to the plasticky Optoma's.

2D PERFORMANCE

I tried the projector with various reference Blu-rays, James Bond Blu-rays, David Attenboroughs Blue Planet, etc. and the performance was initially very smooth. Noticably the graininess of DLP projectors was absent, whites and areas of colour were smooth and didn't have that annoying mpeg-like blocking of inferior projectors. Fast motion handling was far superior to a DLP projector too. One thign I noticed was that the full HD resolution was so good , that just like a good detailed and revealing Hi-Fi system, that it actually revealed the strenghts and weaknesses of very good Blu-rays with multi-million production budgets. When you have that level fo transparency you knwo you have a high quality piece of kit on your hands.

3D PERFORMANCE

I tried the 3D with the benchmark disc - Avatar Blu-ray 3D (the genuine panasonic version), Hugo blu-ray 3D, David Attenborough's Flying Monsters Blu-ray 3D and various other Imax Blu-ray 3D discs

First impressions were incredible. this was much better than expected. I felt like I was in a mini Imax theatre. The scale and resoluton of the image made you feel that you were immersed in another world. Unlike other 3D TV's and 3D projectors, the image was bright enough to comfortably watch. Apparently Epson do this by brightening the image and also keep the shutters open on the 3D glasses for as long as possible. everyone that has seen it is amazed at what can now be easily produced in a home cinema setting for under £1,000. interestingly, the slight darkening that the 3D glasses produce drastically improves the contrast ratio and the weak blacks.

STRENGTHS

The projector just works and is fuss free, set up is simple.
Very bright and stable full HD image
Smooth, detailed images are much less grainy that the equivalent DLP projector.
Brilliant motion handling
Natural colours
Compatible with a wide variety of sources, 2D, 3D and all types of HD sources.
3D performance is exceptional and very easy to set up.

WEAKNESSES

Weak Blacks - this is the major weakness of the projector and can be annoying as the very darkest the projector can actually achieve is a dark purply/blue. The claimed 20,000:1 contrast is nonsense. My cheaper Optoma HD20 DLP projector had much better blacks. However this is the weakness of LCD projectors and apparently you have to spend mroe like £2k+ on Epson's EH-TW9000 to achieve better blacks. In practice though you can live with this, and if you have some ambient light and white walls and furniture, then you won;t really notice this unless you have a fully blacked out 'bat cave' home cinema room, As such I would recommend a grey screen with a lower gain than a white glass beaded screen that I have.
Bulky and heavy to mount.
Occasionally noisy Iris and cooling fan.
3D performance is more impressive than 2D performance

Conclusion

A very good all round projector that is hard to beat at the price. despite it's flaw, it is a joy to use and I am glad that I ditched the cheap Optoma's. The Epson is a much more grown up professional beast that feels like it means business and it really does deliver the Home Cinema experience at a realistic price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in 2d and 3d, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
This is my first projector but it is hard to imagine it getting much better than this. In 2d the picture is smooth and bright even in a well a lit room and the contrast is great. This thing blows my old Sony Bravia out of the water both in terms of picture quality and size. Before it arrived my girlfriend was against the idea of a projector, thinking we'd need to black out the room and turn off all the lights to see a good image but now she has seen it she is also amazed and watches her shows during the day using it. 3d is also impressive, played some 3d games and was blown away by the depth i saw, Bigger really is better when it comes to 3d. The keystone correction is also very good and makes positioning the projector much easier, I have a lamp hanging in the way of my ideal hanging spot but putting it off center was no problem after a few adjustments to the keystone settings.

Only thing i would point out is that the speakers on the Projector aren't upto much. I know most projectors dont have any speakers whatsoever but if your looking at this projector intending to use the built in speakers then you should either look elsewhere or buy a sound system to compliment your new massive, bright and clear image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money HD and 3D projector, 10 Feb 2012
By 
David Clough (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
Epson are the world's largest manufacturer of projectors. They released 3 new home cinema projectors in the UK in November 2011 at very competitive price points. The Epson EH-TW5900 is the budget model of these three. The service from Amazon was, as usual, excellent. Very quick delivery and well packaged.

The projector is relatively heavy and has a large footprint so make sure you are expecting this! It appears to be very well made and does not feel in any way cheap or "plasticy". Setting it up was simplicity itself and, as it has inbuilt speakers, there was no need to hook it up to a home cinema system to try it out. The manual zoom and focus controls work smoothly and within minutes an HD projection from our SKY HD box was on the lounge wall. WOW! The picture, over 100 inches wide at my setting of the zoom, was spectacular in its definition and in its colour, even on our magnolia wall! The sound from the 2 speakers was also perfectly acceptable for most purposes but would, of course, benefit from a surround sound system.

On connection to a Bluray player, 1080p full HD, the projector again proved spectacular. If you have never seen the difference between a projected image and a large HD TV then you may think I'm exagerating but believe me, I'm not. The 5900 has a very comprehensive menu system which is easy to use via the very good remote control and with "Living Room" selected the bright image can be viewed comfortably without having to resort to total darkness. With a reasonably dark room, the ECO setting works well and extends the life of the projector's lamp.

So far the Epson has exceeded expectations when fed with signals from 2D HD sources. When viewing 3D from SKY or from bluray disc the image is also outstanding (sorry!)and is brighter than many competitors when wearing the active shutter 3D glasses. No glasses are supplied with this base model but apparently Panasonic glasses are compatible with the projector. Epson active 3D glasses are available at extra cost but we chose Youniversal glasses from Xpand. There are no obvious problems with "crosstalk" or other problems sometimes seen with 3D images in my experience - just immersive, brilliant pictures.

The Epson EH-TW5900 is an incredible projector producing excellent images in both 2D and 3D. For many people who will use it in a normal home environment rather than an expensive, dedicated cinema room it offers tremendous value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epson TW5900 Wow...., 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
Looked around for ages for a HD projector read loads of reviews and finally settled for the TW5900. Totally blown away by its performance, picture quality is awesome straight onto a painted wall with a 3.5 meter plus image size. Project also runs quietly and doesn't require lengthy cooling down periods after use. It's a large unit so you need to consider placement, I have mine ceiling mounted so no problem. 11 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for 2D watchers who occasionally watch 3D, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
If think 3D will make up less than 10% of the movies you watch then this unit is perfect. I have owned for a 1-year upgrading from a Sanyo Z2 (highly reviewed at the time). Being an LCD projector you won't encounter rainbow effect known with many home cinema projects. Blacks are very deep so picture is fantastic even with a 'little' ambient light in the room from say lamps etc. Detail is excellent for a sub £1000 unit and blu-ray and upscaled DVD truly look awesome.

Where it is a bit of let down is the 3D area as brightness halves and there is some 'cross talk'. That said, if like me this a small percentage of your overall watch, the question is if it worth the additional £500 to get say the Epson TW6000 or TW6100? if not, this projector is a brilliant for money with 2D and with prices around £850 it really is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive projector, in 2D and especially 3D, 12 July 2012
By 
LapsedPacifist "LP" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The TW5900 is an amazing 3D ready projector which seriously impressed me.

My biggest worry was what would a projector look like in daylight, would the colours look washed out? I can confirm that the TW5900 works well in daylight, the pictures projected by it are clear and watchable. I would recommend that you get blinds for the best result though, preferably of the blackout variety.

The unit itself is fairly large compared to some projectors I have seen, so I would recommend that if you can, ceiling mount it.

The best results from this projector do come in as much darkness as you can get, which is where the remote control comes into its own; it comes with a backlight and has all the keys available on the main unit itself, so you can adjust the picture the way you want it even in total darkness!

The unit itself also comes with inbuilt speakers, which are very good. If you can afford it though, I would recommend a surround sound system, for a totally immersive experience.

For 3D, you do need to buy some additional active-shutter glasses, but the 3D effect itself is clear and flicker free.

In terms of ports you get two HDMI ports, component, composite, S-video and VGA connections, stereo phono jacks for audio input and a USB port that lets you play photo slideshows straight from a flash drive or portable hard disk. Unfortunately there's no support for video files, so you'll have to use the video inputs for that.

All in all, if you are looking for a strong-performing projector for either 2D or 3D, the Epsom TW5900 should be towards the top of your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome piece of kit, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
This replaced my old SP4805 which went "pop" the way things do after a while. The difference on getting the Epson was chalk and cheese. An incredibly bright, pin sharp picture. Before we had to dim the lights, with the Epson we can easily watch during the day. Easy to set up, but it does weigh somewhat more that the SP so I'm installing a new mount. We have it connected to the AV amp via a single HDMI cable which eliminates reported transition delays.

And then when you try 3D!?!? OK so you have to shell out a bit more for the glasses, but shop around, the prices are varied. The glasses do dim things (hence the generally bright image) but it doesn't create a problem. You cannot however have any lights on in your field of view, because they will strobe as the lenses shutter left and right.

The iris is a bit vocal, but once you're into a film you don't really notice it. It's top bob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars do you need 3d?, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
I paid extra for 3D in my projector set up, however in hindsight i am not sure whether this is needed as i get a headache when watching 3D with the glasses. A nice feature to have i guess.
In terms of the projector quality, this is an awesome set up.
Great HD clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, Well Specced, Great Picture, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
Read a lot of reviews before purchasing but bought the Epson over the Optoma so as not to risk the DLP flicker. It is also brighter and has built in speakers and an illuminated remote control which are all useful features.
Once mounted on the ceiling it was simple to set up and produces a great picture out of the box, even without recourse to the comprehensive range of adjustments available. Blue ray is really impressive - not had any 3D content through it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be smaller, less noisy and have lens shift, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson EH-TW5900 2000 Lumens Full HD LCD 3D Projector (Electronics)
We had our old projector on a shelf to the back of the room about 4ft off the ground and it worked fine there with the horizontal keystone correction and the angling of the base (if you move a projector around you will severely shorten the bulb life as we found first time out). This projector is more rigid. The bottom of the image must line up with the bottom of the projector lens. You can adjust the front feet to point it upwards but not downwards (ceiling mounted that means downwards of course). We put a block of wood under the back to point it downwards and that worked. But I thought I'd check all this with Epson. On their website they make you give your product to make an enquiry but this is of course out of date and this product isn't listed so I selected any product and then wrote the product in the message. This was the reply:

In reply to your email, as these machines do not have any back legs, and only have front extendable legs, we cannot guarantee whether the support of the block will last, as this could potentially cause parts internally to start dropping forward over a period of time. If you notice any issues with the display I would advise removing the block, and having the machine table mounted as advised within the Users Guide.

I challenged this as a "let's cover ourselves legally" reply and asked for specific details as to how on earth internal components could drop forward! This was their rather non-technical reply:

The information you have previously been provided with represents EPSON's considered position on the issues you have raised. As the machine is designed with feet at the front, this is manufactured for the front to be lifted, not the back of the machine. When the machine is ceiling mounted, it will be on a level surface and when a machine is in transit it is in its shock absorbent packaging. I and all other EPSON staff reply not as individuals but as representatives of the company and it is our aim that all EPSON staff should be speaking with a single voice and giving consistent responses. We endeavour to support all our customers wherever possible. On this occasion EPSON have acted within our technical advisory capacity and are unable to offer further assistance on this matter.

Since the bottom line literally is the bottom of the projector lens then that means that if you are using a screen and you want to fill it when you have a square-shaped image then you have no choice but to ceiling-mount the projector (widescreen will be fine either way although it will be positioned either at the top or the bottom of the screen due to this limitation). Ceiling mounting was not something I particularly wanted but am now forced to do by the rather simplistic nature of this product's set-up. The moral of the story is: unless you only watch widescreen or you love adjusting the projector every time you use it and putting it on different height tables depending on what you are watching (bearing in mind the reduced bulb life you'll get) then you'll have to ceiling mount it. And if things go pear-shaped don't expect much help from Epson as they seem to be more interested in being legally correct than listening to their customers. Apparently the Epson TW3200 has lens shift but not even knowing the term 'lens shift' I did not find that out. I don't really see why it should be necessary to have to become an expert to buy a decent product nowadays.

Having used the projector for six months (ceiling mounted of course) I would now say the following:

1. Having this enormous white lump of machinery hanging off the ceiling is still not a favourite option but as I explained it is about the only option with this projector.
2. The performance in both 3d and 2D is excellent as far as picture quality goes. I really don't see what all the argument about the density of the blacks is all about.
3. The whirrs and clunks it makes at various points during projection can be a bit offputting during quiet parts of a film so unless you are only watching loud action movies you might find that offputting too ... but this may well be the same for any other similar projector.
4. A central projection point definitely gives a better image than sideshot with keystone correction.
5. I can still find no way of projecting widescreen and non-widescreen films without manually adjusting the projector. There seems no way to get the widescreen size to come up within the square size of a non-widescren image. If anyone knows how to do this then please comment.

Overall, I'd agree that the performance of the projector is very good value for money in relation to other projectors. I still can't say I like Epson as a company much though and if more people say that then maybe they'll improve in the way they deal with customers.

UPDATE Feb 2014

After 15 months the 3D packed in. The crosstalk was so bad that animation films were unwatchable and other 3D films lacked the clarity and depth you'd normally expect. It took Epson five weeks to sort it out and the loan projector was also faulty (flashed randomy five or six times during a film and blurred out to grey for 5-10 secs in one film). There was a two year warranty on the projector. Epson refused to extend the warranty saying that he fault had not been notified earlier but of course it was not clear until seeing the image on the loan projector that the fault had been there from day one and just got worse. Now have an excellently functioning 3D projector but given the story so far I am wondering how long it will last....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews