Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Where did Ender disappear to after he saved planet Earth from the formics? What happened to Peter and his bid for world domination, to Valentine in Peter's shadow, and to the human race and its government between ENDER'S GAME and SPEAKER FOR THE DEAD?

Finally, Orson Scott Card provides the missing story in the ENDER series that readers have been waiting for...
Published on 30 Dec 2008 by TeensReadToo

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read if you're a fan of the series
...Spends more time winding up loose plot threads than it does actually spinning story. Being sandwiched inbetween two chapters of Ender's Game, for the most part, that's somewhat unsurprising, perhaps, but it really doesn't move the story on at all.

Essential if you follow the series, and care about what happens to character like Graff. Fills in the gap at the...
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by Cantankerous Liberal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 30 Dec 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ender in Exile (Hardcover)
Where did Ender disappear to after he saved planet Earth from the formics? What happened to Peter and his bid for world domination, to Valentine in Peter's shadow, and to the human race and its government between ENDER'S GAME and SPEAKER FOR THE DEAD?

Finally, Orson Scott Card provides the missing story in the ENDER series that readers have been waiting for! Card writes with his characteristic straightforward style that, though simple, belies the hidden ethical dilemmas presented to the characters every step of the way. And through it all, the story is as gripping as ENDER'S GAME and will keep you up all night until you reach the book's AWESOME conclusion.

Having saved the world from a race of super intelligent and ruthless fighting formics, Ender is exiled to the far reaches of space under the pretension of governing and developing a new colony for humans on a new planet. As always, the government plays an underhanded game in sending him off and all his doings, as Earth and its countries are still at war and unsettled after Ender and the other children of his Battle School won the war. Seen as "Earth's most deadly weapon," Ender soon guesses he will never return to Earth, his family, or any semblance of the life he once knew.

Instead, he begins to research his new obsession, the formic race he destroyed. The new colony he is going to is built on an old formic planet, so Ender goes willingly into hyperspace, aging only two years while everyone on Earth ages forty years. Valentine escapes the plans of Peter on Earth to join Ender in space and secretly, Ender is relieved to have someone he can trust. While Ender indulges in every spec of information on the formics and on the people of his new colony, Valentine waits patiently for Ender to confide his new plans to her while also beginning a series of historical novels on Ender, Battle School, and the Earth wars.

Upon landing on the new colony planet, Ender is hailed as a hero and a welcome source of leadership. He is also confronted with the best discovery he could have asked for - a species of creatures is found deep in a cave, hybrids between formics and a native creature. This is the closest Ender or anyone else has come to studying the actual formics themselves! Through his mental and telepathic communications with these creatures, Ender learns more than he could hope for about the planet and the formics history.

One day, Ender and a native person named Abra go off to explore the planet to find a location for a new colony. On this adventure, Ender discovers the answer to the question he has silently asked himself since he found out the game he played was really a war - "Why did you [the hive queens] let me kill you?"

The truth is more exciting than I can spoil for anyone who has breathlessly awaited this novel.

As always, Orson Scott Card intertwines the story of emerging governments, political struggle, and personal and moral dilemmas as the story of Ender unfolds. Kudos to him for not only continuing a series for over twenty books, but for doing so with inventiveness, brilliant writing, and a compelling story.

Reviewed by: Erikka Adams, aka "The Bookbinder"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read if you're a fan of the series, 29 Nov 2008
By 
Cantankerous Liberal "~AR" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ender in Exile (Hardcover)
...Spends more time winding up loose plot threads than it does actually spinning story. Being sandwiched inbetween two chapters of Ender's Game, for the most part, that's somewhat unsurprising, perhaps, but it really doesn't move the story on at all.

Essential if you follow the series, and care about what happens to character like Graff. Fills in the gap at the end of Ender's Game wonderfully.

Just don't expect it to stand on its own merits.

Strictly for fans of the series. Also completely incomprehensible if you haven't read the "Shadow" saga.

That said, I've enjoyed it. Genuinely worth the read. Wish it had a little more story, but that's for Shadows in Flight to wind up, I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you're a big fan of the Ender books do yourself a favour and avoid..., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender In Exile: Ender Series, book 6 (Ender Saga) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the Ender books and looked forward to reading this with great anticipation, but this was incredibly disappointing. Characters that were previously interesting and strong seemed all of a sudden weak and forgettable.

And I'm sorry but the pictures of the characters after every few chapters were just horrible and ill thought out! When you've read so many Ender books over the years, and given the excellent characterization you build up an image of the characters in your mind, and then to see them illustrated poorly like cartoon characters ruins that image in one fell swoop. Seeing Bean as some cartoon giant just erased the strong somewhat dark image that had been depicted over a number of great books.

While this book might fill in a few gaps I wish I hadn't read it because previously I remember the Ender series as powerful, exciting, sometimes moving - but reading this has nullified that and somewhat spoiled the feel of the whole series.

Sorry to be negative but I don't think OSC did justice to his magnificent serious with this book, quite the opposite in fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great novel, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fan's of Card have long called for a direct sequel to Enders Game which he has finally been released by his UK publisher Orbit. Whilst it is, as promised a direct sequel, the novel is one that deals with a great many lose threads from other novels in the series as well as giving the reader the chance to get to know the characters on a more personal level. Each one jumps from the page with the guilt suffered by the principle protagonist weighing heavily on his mind for the Xenocide (Alien Species Genocide) of Earth's Enemies. Beautifully written it's a tale that really will give the readers contemplative thoughts about mankind's attitudes as well as getting to know the emotional contexts faced by survivors of a war that they never wanted to fight. It's a great offering and with Card's humour wrapped into his gorgeous descriptive pieces its definitely been one of my favourite acquisitions of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give this book a miss, 4 Jan 2010
By 
G. Brooks "brooksy" (a Brit abroad) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beware, if you are expecting the same high calibre book as the brilliant "Enders Game", look elsewhere.

This lame effort is only a disjointed attempt to cash in on the name of "Ender". It reads like a poor theatre review or travel log at times and is tedious and boring. I only kept reading it as I was hoping for a grand finale at the end (no luck there then)!

This is my first negative book review as I usually give an author the benefit of the doubt as long as I can find something positive in their work.

In this case there is a poor start, middle and end to the story so I felt duty bound to warn other readers. My opinion of the poor nature of this work is, perhaps, given credence by the author's own attempt to explain his dismal performance in the books "afterword".

After all if the book had been well written and entertaining there would be no need to explain its failings at length. Including the fact that several other people had an input into the story line. This, perhaps, explains the disjointed story line or lack of one at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed every page, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender In Exile: Ender Series, book 6 (Ender Saga) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this so much thst I bought the series. A real page turner, although I thought the "buggers" could have had a better name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 16 Dec 2013
By 
A. M. Stirling "ACS" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender In Exile: Ender Series, book 6 (Ender Saga) (Kindle Edition)
not as good as Ender's Game but then few sequels are as good as the first book. It is definitely worth buying and reading though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very worthy, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender In Exile: Ender Series, book 6 (Ender Saga) (Kindle Edition)
A worthy mid-quel as O.S.C. puts it & a good solid read. Definitely recommended if you like the Ender saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring, but well-written, 17 Aug 2011
Scott-Card adds something positive to the Ender Wiggin world with this book, but certainly nothing essential. Well-written and reasonably well paced, if you've read the rest (and enjoyed) of the saga, especially the later additions, reading this will be a satisfying exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Filling in the blanks?, 21 Oct 2010
Though a useful and informative addition to the story of Ender Wiggin (it fills in a number of blanks from the wider story mosaic), Ender in Exile is however somewhat banal when compared to the original or, indeed, the saga which revolved around Bean. Having said that it is a must for fans of the series, and, as ever with Scott Card, is well-written and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews