Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of Language, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Joanna Cannon (Ashbourne, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mondays are Red (Kindle Edition)
Mondays Are Red should really be read twice.

It should be read the first time to be entertained by the plot and the characters and the story itself, but it should also be read a second time, just to enjoy the words. They deserve a reading all to themselves.

I won't elaborate on the story, as there are other reviews which have explained it beautifully, but I do think that Mondays Are Red is about change. It's about how we might feel if we woke one day and saw the world differently, and how we would deal with the challenge of an entirely different view. It's also about the power of language, and reading the story has really made me question the self-imposed filter we place on the world, created purely through our own choice of words.

Mondays Are Red is classed as young adult fiction (which, of course, it is), but it's really a book for anyone who enjoys language. Luke's descriptions of his new view of the world are just magical and will stop you in the middle of a paragraph, just to savour them.

And if you're anything like me, it will make you ever-so-slightly jealous of anyone with synaesthesia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling story with a twist, 28 Nov 2002
By 
Sarah Greening (Worcester, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This story about a condition called synaethesia where the senses are muddled gives the reader a twist on the usual way we see the world. An excellent read for adults as well as teenagers - it makes you really think about phrases we use in everyday life, whilst being gripped by the spooky story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mondays are Red, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Mondays are Red (Kindle Edition)
This book has given me one of the strangest reading experiences I've ever had! From the very 1st page it was a complete and utter attack on my senses. My mind was filled with colours, sounds, tastes and smells as Nicola Morgan introduced me to the world of synaesthesia. A world where "Mondays are Red, sadness has an empty blue smell and music can taste of anything from banana puree to bat's pee."

We meet teenage Luke as he lies awakening from a meningitis induced coma. As he lies on his hospital bed he becomes aware of someone (something?) lurking inside his brain. This character is Dreeg who will lead Luke astray, encourage him to rebel and offer him unrivalled power and glory. However as the story progresses it is clear that Luke will pay the price for this power.

'Mondays are Red' is a thoroughly interesting book which will definitely make the reader think when they put it down. With clear roots in Faustian legend Dreeg is a compelling character. Able to transform at a moment's notice into various nauseating beings he is Luke's personal Satan, willing him down the path of trouble.

As Luke continues on his quest for power Morgan continues to mesmerise us with her use of language. The fact that Luke is suffering from synaesthsia allows her to attack our senses from all angles. Descriptions and language are at times a "...kaleidoscopic shower. Beautiful and confusing."

Running alongside this combination of imagery and legend is a an extremely creepy horror story. It features metal masked men, spooky woods, missing teenagers and many 'not sure if I really want to read on' moments. The whole book is extremely atmospheric and in the last few chapters you can almost hear the crackles of the flames as they leap from tree to tree in the aforementioned woods.

This is a book which has taken a serious issue and dealt with it in an unusual but effective way. Love may be at the heart of the story but this is no traditional love story. It's a gripping read which will scare you, enlighten you and will leave you with more questions then answers when you are finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 26 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Mondays are Red (Kindle Edition)
Teeange Luke comes round from a coma and finds he has synaesthesia - his senses are muddled so that he hears colours and smells sounds, etc. There's a demon lurking in his brain which makes him do bad things; there's also a beautiful girl with cinnamon skin and 'hair as long as the sound of honey' who may or may not be a figment of Luke's imagination. He wants nothing more than to regain his strength, particularly in his bad leg, so he can run in school sports day. The demon has other ideas. Luke's sister is in trouble - stalked in Luke's head by a sinister man in a metal mask, then captured for real by a perverted man who stalks the nearby woods. Luke has to battle both real and imagined foes to save her.

This book has been taught in schools and I can see why. It's a wonderful example of what can be done with language - words stay simple while phrase and simile soar with beauty. Writing from the POV of a character with synaesthesia gives the author unlimited scope for describing things in wholly new ways, and Nicola Morgan has done just that. The imagery melts on your tongue like the colour of birdsong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars power is nothing - a mondays are red review, 5 July 2004
Power Is Nothing
"Mondays are red. Sadness has an empty blue smell. And music can taste of anything from banana puree to bat's pee".
This is how Luke feels. Ever since he has woken from his coma he feels different, he sees things differently, he is different. Since nearly dying from meningitis only a matter of days ago, he is no longer Luke, he can no longer run, but merely walk helplessly with a limp. He is no longer 'normal', but he has power, power to do anything, power to fly.
Synaesthesia has the power to do this, and with Dreeg, Luke's Satan, Luke can rule the world. He can have anything, but Luke starts to realise his needs compromise others, Is it worth it? Dreeg is everything, he is jellyfish, a snake, an octopus, to Luke he is his personal Satan, leading him astray.
Luke never really got on with his sister before, but since his terrible illness, hate has filled his body every time he sees her. He has unimaginable feelings of overpowering his sister, her begging for mercy, he doesn't want her anymore, her wants her dead. Luke has Dreeg and Dreeg has the power, will 'the slut' get her just desserts?
Since that red Monday, Luke has fallen for Seraphina, she understands Luke like no one else does, she knows synaesthesia, she feels synaesthesia, she has synaesthesia. She is everything Luke ever wanted, she is beautiful, a best friend, she is perfect, but she is Dreeg.
Power changes people, power can get too much, and for Luke it already has, it's time to give up power, it's time to give up Dreeg, but is it too late? Has he already lost the most important person in his life?
Mondays Are Red, by Nicola Morgan, is an interesting and worthwhile read. Her use of language does not come from her own experiences of synaesthesia, but of her unusual childhood, surrounded by miles of empty woodland, and Nicola's lack of feminine influences (she grew up in, and went to, an all boy's school) is heavily apparent in her writing.
I would definitely recommend this to any person, of any age, who wants to escape reality for a couple of hours, without travelling to a parallel universe. This is not your normal love orientated read. This book is most unusual; it deals with a serious issue, in an interesting way. The first chapters are tiresome, but persevere as I did, and I can assure you that you will moved by this story, of love, compassion and illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book - very descriptive dealing with the subject of ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mondays are Red (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book - very descriptive dealing with the subject of synaesthesia, but built around a fast paced and exciting story. I highly recommend this book and think both teenagers and adults would love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very strange but brillinat, 20 May 2014
By 
A. Jackson "Alexis" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mondays are Red (Kindle Edition)
This was most unusual but I must say that it was a joy as the whole concept differed from anything else I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars roller-coaster or kaleidoscope, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mondays are Red (Kindle Edition)
Prepare to be swept away by Nicola Morgan's exciting language and surreal images. Mondays Are Red uses fictional synaesthesia to explore the creative power of words. Emotions and actions are powerful as well and Luke must learn to control them before he wreaks lasting damage. For teenagers and about them. Full review on indie e-books review site
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mondays are red, 15 May 2008
you need to have a flexible mind for this book. it plays with ideas and words and phrases and senses and the meaning of everything is interchangeable. you understand the need for power and hope that you, yourself would not be taken but in the back of your mind you know that you might be a little, just a little tempted.
the use of words paint pictures that color never could.
A brilliant way to strech your mind-but not to much.
Read it. ************************************************************************************************
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mondays a red a review, 5 July 2004
Power Is Nothing
"Mondays are red. Sadness has an empty blue smell. And music can taste of anything from banana puree to bat's pee".
This is how Luke feels. Ever since he has woken from his coma he feels different, he sees things differently, he is different. Since nearly dying from meningitis only a matter of days ago, he is no longer Luke, he can no longer run, but merely walk helplessly with a limp. He is no longer 'normal', but he has power, power to do anything, power to fly.
Synaesthesia has the power to do this, and with Dreeg, Luke's Satan, Luke can rule the world. He can have anything, but Luke starts to realise his needs compromise others, Is it worth it? Dreeg is everything, he is jellyfish, a snake, an octopus, to Luke he is his personal Satan, leading him astray.
Luke never really got on with his sister before, but since his terrible illness, hate has filled his body every time he sees her. He has unimaginable feelings of overpowering his sister, her begging for mercy, he doesn't want her anymore, her wants her dead. Luke has Dreeg and Dreeg has the power, will 'the slut' get her just desserts?
Since that red Monday, Luke has fallen for Seraphina, she understands Luke like no one else does, she knows synaesthesia, she feels synaesthesia, she has synaesthesia. She is everything Luke ever wanted, she is beautiful, a best friend, she is perfect, but she is Dreeg.
Power changes people, power can get too much, and for Luke it already has, it's time to give up power, it's time to give up Dreeg, but is it too late? Has he already lost the most important person in his life?
Mondays Are Red, by Nicola Morgan, is an interesting and worthwhile read. Her use of language does not come from her own experiences of synaesthesia, but of her unusual childhood, surrounded by miles of empty woodland, and Nicola's lack of feminine influences (she grew up in, and went to, an all boy's school) is heavily apparent in her writing.
I would definitely recommend this to any person, of any age, who wants to escape reality for a couple of hours, without travelling to a parallel universe. This is not your normal love orientated read. This book is most unusual; it deals with a serious issue, in an interesting way. The first chapters are tiresome, but persevere as I did, and I can assure you that you will moved by this story, of love, compassion and illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mondays are Red
Mondays are Red by Nicola Morgan
2.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews