Customer Reviews


314 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely automatic timepiece
As a watch collector I tend to buy automatic watches due to various reasons as explained further down. This Seiko 5 is a great watch for the price. Movement is smooth and precise, with the second hand sweeping graciously around the watch face. The white hands over the blue watch fascia make for easy reading of the time. The glass back shows the superb movement of this...
Published 11 months ago by Antoine Camilleri

versus
69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch but not for swimming.
This is a really nice looking watch with a dark blue face and slightly lighter band which contrasts well. The brushed stainless steel case compliments both. But why is this advertised as a watch which is OK for swimming? The back is marked "Water resistant" and the Seiko instruction leaflet says "...your watch is manufactured to withstand up to 3 bar...but is not...
Published on 23 Jun. 2012 by Derek


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch but not for swimming., 23 Jun. 2012
By 
Derek (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really nice looking watch with a dark blue face and slightly lighter band which contrasts well. The brushed stainless steel case compliments both. But why is this advertised as a watch which is OK for swimming? The back is marked "Water resistant" and the Seiko instruction leaflet says "...your watch is manufactured to withstand up to 3 bar...but is not designed for wearing while swimming." Guess I will still have to travel with my fifteen year old, £9.00 Casio watch which has been in pools, seas and oceans without once missing a beat. Amazon should ask the seller to amend the description to accurately describe this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely automatic timepiece, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri (Malta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
As a watch collector I tend to buy automatic watches due to various reasons as explained further down. This Seiko 5 is a great watch for the price. Movement is smooth and precise, with the second hand sweeping graciously around the watch face. The white hands over the blue watch fascia make for easy reading of the time. The glass back shows the superb movement of this quality watch.

Yet do not expect an automatic watch to be as precise as a quartz one, in fact the watch could drift a couple of seconds a day. This could lead to around 2 minutes per month.

Automatic watches tend to keep their price relatively well due to the mechanical movement, which involves precision engineering of miniature gears. The glass back reveals these gears in motion. Another big advantage is that you never have to change a battery. Going through my collection changing batteries is quite a laborious chore. And once the watch is opened, it will never regain the water resistance or proofing as when it left the factory, unless, of course you are ready to pay a hefty amount to get it done by the manufacturer. Another point worth mentioning is that during the course of opening or closing the back cover for a battery change, there is always a risk of scratching the watch.

At this price point, I rate the Seiko 5 stars.

I have been using this watch for swimming as the listing originally claimed that it was actually water resistant to 100m - However please note that as per user manual the watch is water resistant to 10m and not fit for swimming. The fact that it worked fine for me does not mean that it will work out for you.

I recommend this watch for those seeking a trendy solid performer, and do not mind losing or gaining a minute every 2 to 3 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loses Time, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
Not much to say about this watch. I like the look of it for casual wear, but right out of the box it lost 2 minutes every half hour. A watch that doesn't keep time is not much good to anyone really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, high quality, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
This watch is very well-built.
The face is very well detailed, with precision machining. The movement is of high quality, and effectively enclosed in a water-resistant case (I wouldn't and haven't tried it in the shower, but it's dealt with a couple of bad rainstorms). The strap is simple, and obviously if you're not happy with it it's a simple job to get it replaced. I've worn it frequently for best part of four months now, and the glass is still scratch-free, so it's quite resistant to damage too (as the hardlex name presumably implies).
It's important to point out that whilst this watch is automatic, it cannot be wound manually. This means it does require you to wear it whenever you can to keep it wound, although a vigorous shaking will always bring it to life. It keeps superb time, however, and the date wheel is easy to correct during shorter months.
Great value for money, seems to retail on Amazon for anywhere between £40 and £60, and it's very much worth two to three times as much. It's now my go-to watch for everything but the dressiest of occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seiko 5 Automatic, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
K. G. Leggett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
I am a retired watchmaker so wanted a reliable movement that would give untroubled timing. This is a good workhorse which is also smaller than the average mens watch and it looks good. I now own 5 of these watches with different straps and/or bracelets, and coloured dials. Remember, if you leave it off for about 12 hours, it will stop. It's an automatic. Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent every day watch., 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
Bought my second Seiko thirteen years ago,for every day use,found it a far too heavy, so it was off my wrist, more than on it.My first, is now twenty five years old, it's for best, and still keeps perfect time.
I decided I would buy a new Seiko,again for every day use,an automatic this time, and looked around.
Saw this SNK807, and started to read the reviews.Most people seemed to love it,some said they hardly noticed they were wearing it, which was more or less what I wanted, after past experiences.Others said it gained or lost a minute or so,
which is quite ok for an automatic.Some liked the strap, others thought it of a lesser quality.
Having read all this, I purchased. The watch arrived within a week, well packaged. I opened the box,and put it on my wrist.
Wow, it looked good, right size and weight, and even liked the strap too.I've had it about 3 weeks now, and I couldn't be more pleased.It feels good, not heavy, face is easy to read,keeps pretty good time too,gains about eighty seconds per week
which is very good for an automatic.The blue strap is comfortable,and looks well.
All in all, for £54, shipped foc to Sweden, It fits the bill in all respects.If you are considering, you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good every day watch, 19 Aug. 2011
Got this at a discount which made it impossible to pass up. Watch is smaller than expected so would be fine with suits. Nylon band is so so, expect to change it for a leather band. As with all Seiko it's well put together. The word for this is dinky. A good every day watch with an attractive watchface. Packaging from company was only ok, brown paper packaging and no protection - foam peanuts or bubble wrap, you'd need your postman to be careful. Overall a good addition to the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SEIKO QUALITY AT A SWATCH PRICE, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
MikeyG (Abingdon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
Bought this watch more or less on impulse in response to an email from Amazon and haven't regretted it. Seiko is my preferred watch brand giving good quality at a reasonable price point. I would be terrified of losing one of the great brands of watch and the only one I ever coveted was a Jaeger LeCoultre 'Reverso' watch that my boss had.

This is an automatic watch that requires you to wear it to keep it wound as the movement on your wrist acts on the spring. For this reason it may keep poor time as the spring winds down or stop when completed spent. This has the advantage of not relying on a battery but the disadvantage of having it stop if left in a drawer. For this reason you will need access to another time source to reset it if not wearing it every day. Being automatic and in a stainless steel case, I was worried it might be heavy. It's a little thicker than most watches but in practice has been very comfortable to wear.

The instructions aren't especially helpful being a bit generic but it's a pretty simple watch with only the day/date feature offering any complexity with its multi-lingual indicator. But, if the instructions are followed, it all works well, neatly scrolling through the different languages in the early hours to get back to English or French depending on how it was set.

It's a good looking timepiece but, for some reason - maybe cost, Seiko has twinned it with a fabric strap to give it a sports appeal. I swopped this for a dark blue leather strap bought off the internet and to my eyes it looks much better as a consequence. I changed the buckle over to keep the Seiko branding - all very easy as it uses a spring bar like the fitting to the watch. If you want to use it as a sports watch, that's obviously fine but with a glass back as well as face, I couldn't speak for its robustness in that role.

All in all its a great looking watch that has rapidly taken its place as my day-to-day wear. At this price, it really can't be beaten. It's really a five star watch but I think the strap slides it into a four star rating. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great looking watch, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
My wife bought me this watch and I think it is great. A bit wary of the strap type but once seen it shows off the watch. Delivery was next day and I have worn it since. Only drawback was that my wife took a fancy to it - I bought her one anmd she is delighted with hers. Price Tag attached to watch showed the [price as $185 so I consider them a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great everyday watch, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko 5 Men's Automatic Watch with Black Dial Analogue Display and Blue Fabric Strap SNK807K2 (Watch)
This is my first automatic watch. It looks great and it is very comfortable for wearing. So far I did not notice any problem with the accuracy. My recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews