Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars19
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£39.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

There are cheaper ones around for a Monocular, this seemed to be a step up in quality and a not unreasonable price for what you get. Build is nice with a solid metal casing which is soft to the touch. You get a supplied case with belt pouch, lens cleaning cloth and an attachment to put around your neck to hold it. Optics are better than expected with a good control of abberations (ie not a problem) sharpness is good too, with a nice smooth focus and zoom action

You can use the zoom control near the eyepiece to zoom from 8-25x magnification, this isn't a fast optic so low light isn't it's ideal application but quality remains good at the full zoom end with decent contrast and sharpness (albeit fairly dim at the 25x end... not an issue in good light but one to watch).. Push the front part forward to enable the macro capability. Close up ability is excellent really good macro for looking at bugs and fine details.

Overall very pleased nice and compact make this a device you would be happy to take anywhere with you

Update Feb 2014:
Still very pleased with the Monocular it's still working very well
Added photo to show the various controls (see users pics)
The only real downside is the rather mediocre case supplied this really needs a better quality case to store it in. In all other ways the unit is still working fine and looks fresh despite being used quite a bit.
review image
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I have had this little gem for three years, and have used it frequently on my travels, as well as usually placing it in my pocket whilst on local walks. It takes up little room, weighs in at only 123g, and is relatively easy to use when you get the knack of gently manipulating the various operations. 8-25x magnification is a big ask for something costing what it does, and it is obviously much harder to keep steady at 25x mag. You also require decent light at this end, and I find placing the lens as close to your eyeball as possible will give the widest and cleanest view. Resting it on something at 25x is recommended, too, like a fencepost or lean yourself up against a tree. At 8x magnification both myself and other friends who have tried it have said how good the optics are and how clear the image is for the price. Moving through 8x to, say, 15x, you may need to slightly refocus, but, with practise, can be done quickly so you don't miss that soaring raptor. When lightweight camping or enjoying bushcraft, it just sits on my belt. Indeed, I was first to pick out a herd of deer before my buddies had got their bins out. One of my most often used and best loved pieces of kit.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Superb value for money! Excellent optics and plenty of focus adjustment (missing from many other monoculars). Having lost the sight in one eye from Diabetes, Binoculars didn't seem appropriate and the good news... This monocular gives me high quality vision with an amazing zoom range - far better than I would have got from binoculars.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I love this piece of kit.It's quick to adjust and focus, the image is clear and it's very lightweight. Sure there are more powerful items on the market and larger binoculars won't compare however I can use this for bird spotting, star gazing, moon watching and what I particularly like is the macro function. You are able to look closely at flowers, rocks, insects or anything close up. A fantastic little gadget for the lightweight nature enthusiast.
It can take a few minutes to get used to the controls as they are slightly different to most mon0-binoculars but once done, you are good to go.
If you want light weight, quality and adaptability this is a good choice. One final thing, I do love the ability to increase the magnification from x8 to x25. This means once you have found a stationary object, you can zoom in on it and take a much closer look, x25 is about the limit as hand shake and the 25mm aperture lens makes it impossible to zoom in any more.

All in all a great bit of kit. I bought mine on sale at £15, there may be better items out there at full price but I bet they don't have a macro feature or adjustable zoom.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
quality, just made to last. well pleased with it, smooth operation, focus so good. even used with mobile for extra zoom
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
The image quality is decent for the price you pay. The quality at 8x magnification is really good (sharp and bright), however towards the 25x magnification the quality starts to suffer a little bit (getting little soft, but still acceptable and darker). Also offers nice close up function if you want to inspect something close up. The focus ring is nice and smooth, quite heavy to turn (won't move on its own). The body of the monocular feels very well made (for the price it costs), and it does not rattle or feel like it is going to fall apart.

Only reason not to give 5 stars - the monocular folded at its most compact setting is focusing past infinity, meaning you have to turn the focus ring when you get it out of the pouch or leave it in the pouch extended few millimetres (focused at infinity). Not sure if that would bother most people using it, but worth mentioning.

Another thing worth mentioning is that to actually use the 25x magnification successfully you need very steady hands, it is not easy to handhold the monocular at that magnification due to its small size and light weight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Focus is average and at max zoom is not good. Stiff action. The close up focusing (0.5m) seemed like good feature but when I tried it your naked eye will give you better view if you can get this close to it anyway. Or any cheap magnifying glass will be much better. Returned it for refund. Bought a Barr and Stroud 15x-45x for about half as much again. It is much bigger but the quality is so much better. I found it focused better at 45x zoom than the Hilkin at 15x.
Not too sure what you could use the Hilkinson 8-25x25 for as 8x binoculars will cover most of what it did but with better view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Not at all easy to use for a novice, although I have used binoculars for 30 years this one leaves me frustrated. The vision once you have managed to get it focus is fair. It just seem to be overly complex and apart from toys binculars, I never had the experience that an optic could be dismantled unitentionally as you use it. So, I am already looking to replace it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Good quality,but very difficult to focus. Not what I expected.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
well made. could do with a strap
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)