Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love Warwick Davis!
As a fan of The Office and Extras, I knew that I would be watching Life's Too Short on DVD. Going into it I expected that it would not venture far from Ricky Gervais's tried and true formula, which it doesn't, but I found Warwick Davis very refreshing. I love that he, a bona fide actor, embraces this character completely and is not shy about physical humor, which I...
Published on 16 Nov. 2012 by Cathy A.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss humour
I was looking forward to this DVD after seeing the cast involved but I was disappointed for every episode there is probably about 5minutes of genuine laugh out loud moments (usually where Warwick Davies really drops himself in trouble). I was more impressed with the Easter special that aired on the BBC not long ago.
Published 23 months ago by Dezza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I like most of what Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant have done, but this seemed a bit lazy compared to some of the writing in The Office or Extras. For a start, Warwick's character doesn't seem to be the same from one scene to the next - one minute he's a put-upon, likeable type of person who encounters inexplicable hostility from everyone around him, and the next, he's a complete jerk with seemingly no self-awareness.
At the time of transmission, some people defended the broader elements of comedy in Life's Too Short (by which I mean, the parts where the humour is derived almost exclusively from Warwick's height) by saying that it was OK because he had obviously gone along with it. I'm not sure that's an excuse for getting cheap laughs out of a "little person" trying to retrieve something from a high shelf by climbing up it, while his wife looks on stony-faced.
I did laugh at some parts, though, mostly the ones involving Rosamund Hanson's character. She is absolutely brilliant at playing dim!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life's Too Short, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series. Warwick Davis is a marvel - such a good actor and also very likeable and physically funny. A brilliant clown as well as being able to do the touching bits. Highly recommended - well done Warwick, Ricky and Stephen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
Eg Voysey "Healthy Emma" (South of France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
the reviews sounded good but in reality it's like a dwarf's version of The Office. Cringing (it's meant to be), the jokes were old & Ricky Gervais is in there playing himself again; and for my husband & I the laughs were minimal. Shame because it promised to be fab & I like Warwick Davis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant. So funny, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Funny funny funny. Very sarcastic humour. I really enjoyed this series and missed it when it was shown on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life's too short...buy it., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Some people might find this offensive but it is fantastic and there are a number of big names guesting. It is worth watching more than once. When are they going to bring out the Christmas special?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warwick Davis is excellent. Great story of "agent" looking for work, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Warwick Davis is excellent. Great story of "agent" looking for work. Focus is almost totally kept on Davis who is a strong enough actor to pull this one off. Highly recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the little things, 15 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
didn't know what to expect with this; though am a fan of Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. Got it after watching the scene with Liam Neeson (my opinion the DVD is worth it for that alone) Was a bit worried it might just be cheap gags at dwarfs. (though their are a few) I just found Warrick Davies so funny and the situations he gets himself in. Reminds me a bit of David Brent (The office) I just couldn't stop laughing. This guy who loves to talk about his part in star wars and the little known film Willow. Sting even chucks him out of a charity bash. though the show may not be original or ground breaking. But it is funny; and well made.
Jonny Depp's scene is a bit on and off. His whole conversation with Ricky Gervais.
overall the series is worth watching. Pure genius from Gervais and Merchant of of course Davies.
But suppose if your a fan of the office and extra's and not sure if this will win over any Gervais/merchant critics.
But I just loved the way Davies goes about. Thinking he's this big showbiz star.
(who has to hire Cat Deeley/ Shaun Williamson (Barry eastenders) Keith Chegwin to be his celebrity guests at his party to show off to his soon to be ex-wife and her boyfriend. :)
So should you buy this? Yes
And I do not know how Liam Neeson did that scene; must have been done in a lot of takes. a truly great actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life's too short, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good laugh, would recommend watching more than once to see things maybe missed first time. Bought it for a present but watched it first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... myself as it's got to be one of the best series Warwick has been in, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This s a present but I would keep it for myself as it's got to be one of the best series Warwick has been in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gervais at his best, 26 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is laugh out loud funny. from daft comedy bits like warwick falling out of his car and great cameo roles from some huge hollywood actors. Johnny depp and liam neeson superb. Highly recommended. excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD]
Life's Too Short - Series 1 [DVD] by Warwick Davis (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews