Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched
Rita Kramer writes like a journalist and has researched thoroughly the 4 women who were murdered at Natzweiler concerntration camp. She delves deeply into the four women's lives before - after and during the war that ended so tragically for them. She details their betrayal and elaborates further on the duplicity of Henri Dericourt and SIS.
It is an interesting...
Published on 4 Jan 2009 by S. Ricks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful account of special operations in 2nd World War
I read this book following a recommendation by a friend. I have an interest in the contribution women made in the two wars and it does not disappoint. I had some initial misgivings, as it looked like it may be suggesting a greater morale outrage about British women being killed in a concentration camp, than that attributed to the Jewish holocaust. However the enormity of...
Published 5 months ago by KMcA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched, 4 Jan 2009
By 
S. Ricks (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rita Kramer writes like a journalist and has researched thoroughly the 4 women who were murdered at Natzweiler concerntration camp. She delves deeply into the four women's lives before - after and during the war that ended so tragically for them. She details their betrayal and elaborates further on the duplicity of Henri Dericourt and SIS.
It is an interesting read - thoroughly researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flames in the field, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
Passionate and engrossing, this book was well researched and asks some very pertinent questions about the work of the SOE.Some detail is lacking due to the secretive nature of the subject matter, but Rita Kramer has done much to ensure that the legacy of the four female agents depicted in the book lives on. Haunting in places, this book will undoubtedly make the reader acutely aware of the bravery,and occasional foolishness of the operatives sent to deal a blow to Nazism in occupied France.
I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, very moving and fascinating, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written and well presented account of the SOE and the brave people who were part of the resistance movement. It also shows the good and bad along with the mishandling and cover-up in a very even handed way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
I picked this up after reading The Spy Princess about the life of Noor Inayat Khan and wanting to know more. This book concentrates on the 4 women who were executed at Natsweiler concentration camp but also touches on other agents in the field. I thought it presented an excellent overview of SOE, the agents in the field, the double agents and balances it against the overall strategy of the war. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 23 Nov 2012
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This story of four agents is quite fascinating. At times their efforts seem inadequately planned and poorly conducted, but overall it is a story of remakable adaptability by these women and almost unbelievable bravery. Obcviously it has a series of sad endings, but it is a fascinating story. Ultimately like many stories from that period it exposes almost inhuman cruelty defeated by quiet bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to ordinary men & women, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
Among the oft told stories of wartime muddle, political scheming and armchair warriors this book highlights the bravery of ordinary men & women who helped others in the early dark days of Germany`s evil occupation of France.
What is so heart breaking is that most of them suffered unimaginably horrific deaths as result of betrayal by collaborators. Rita Kramer`s well written book left me wondering how we Britons would have behaved if the Nazis had crossed the Channel. Thank God that we never had to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
I've only read a few chapters, but, already I'm really enjoying the book. The author hasn't rambled on, like some do, to get the page count up. The book is detailed, and very informative, which makes me just want to keep on reading. Best I've read, in a while, about S.O.E. and The Resistance. It's amazing, just how many selfless, brave and courageous men and women, who were dedicated to their cause, and knew they could be captured, interrogated, tortured and then murdered at any time. Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Story of 4 SOE Agents Flames in the Field., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such brave ladies. Must be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful account of special operations in 2nd World War, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
I read this book following a recommendation by a friend. I have an interest in the contribution women made in the two wars and it does not disappoint. I had some initial misgivings, as it looked like it may be suggesting a greater morale outrage about British women being killed in a concentration camp, than that attributed to the Jewish holocaust. However the enormity of the warped rationale fuelling Nazi ethnic cleansing was poignantly explored. The international politics driving Anglo French and Anglo Russian collaboration was well argued which gave another dimension to this historical account. I would recommend it for the human interest account of ordinary women displaying immense courage and an eating insight into the less palatable aspects of espionage and warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard facts can be as riveting as anything fictional., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flames in the Field (Kindle Edition)
I have read this whilst in France and following in the footsteps of la resistance and in particular the region's in which George Millar ( his books are Horned Pigeon and Maquis ) lived, first as an .escapee hidden by the resistance and later, after his return to England,as an operator for SOE, dropped into the Jura to train the Maquis.Last year, before Hearing of Rita Kramers book, I visited Natzweiler camp and this enthralling account of so many other SOE agents as well as the the courageous four who died there has been truly spellbinding. Magnificent and machiavellianly labyrinthine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flames in the Field
Flames in the Field by Rita Kramer
£2.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews