Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 October 2011
Never judge a book by its cover would be the perfect adage for this release! despite the out of time live shot on the cover this is actually a decent release,if your looking for 'A Show Of Hands/Different Stages' sound quality then you'll be disappointed,if ,like me your a fan of early raw Rush then this is for you.

Like the previous reviewer i believe this is legal in the UK on a technicality,it doesnt appear to be available in the States/Canada for example,it could well be that oxy-moron known as an official bootleg ha ha.Pick it up now .it may disappear quickly.

Sound quality is very good considering when it was recorded,source and equipment available way back then,....37 years ago !!!,of course at times its rough and ready but that does enhance the appeal for me.

Essentially a live run thru of the majority of Rush's debut disc ,6 tracks in all, with excellent renditions of 'Working Man/Here Again alongside early version of 'Best I Can & In The End' from the forthcoming FLY BY NIGHT album.Truth be told i could have died happy at that point but there's more, 2 never released on album tracks .. 'The Garden & Fancy Dancer' with a cover version (Bad Boy) thrown in. The set is augmented with 3 tracks live from another broadcast from 1975 and are all from FLY BY NIGHT.

I have favourite albums from ALL era's of Rush,i do believe this era gets overlooked,this is a fantastic glimpse back in time to a young hungry aggresive Rush which would eventually lead to bigger and better things.. a Rush live time machine indeed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 27 October 2011
Some Bands towards the end of their careers tend to drag up any old trash to push out to their fans. This is NOT the case here, this 1974 recording is a true master piece - as it was, raw and banging - the Band as we know it today pounding out their early songs - playing on the edge of feedback. Apparently it hasn`t been remastered the heck out of and contains a couple of tracks that despite being an ardent fan I have not heard before yet they are truly brilliant. It could have been remastered and cleaned up but then it would not have been the 1974 recording to be perfectly honest the only annoying thing with the CD is the momentary track seperation pause otherwise I am very happy with it. This little Gem has never been offically released and at last it now has a real trip back in time to the beginnings of one of the Greatest Bands on Earth.
This album is well worth the money and I am sure will sell like hot cakes and become a best seller. Talk about saving the Best Until Last!
Although it is not the end of the RUSH just yet! We all hope there is more to come.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2011
This is absolutely fantastic to be able to hear a performance of Rush so early in their career and with such a good sound. Okay, the sound is not perfect, lots of feedback, but who cares...It's LIVE!
The performance is great, it shows a young band, very excited and anxious to conquer the world. You can hear in their playing that they don't master their instruments but the energy makes up for it. Also very funny to hear that Neil Peart can actually make mistakes (so small and few they are!).
Alex Lifeson is absolutely stunning, his guitar work was very rock-driven back then, probably simpler but effecient to say the least.
This is so refreshing and such great timing (coincidence?) with the 2011 Cleveland release.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 8 April 2012
Heard the CD first and thought it was excellent, and really raw rock from the young guys.
Being a vinyl fan, I just had to get this on vinyl (Red & Ltd Ed).
I must say the vinyl is a different world, sounding so much more mellow, smooth and deep toned than the CD.

If you love Rush and have a turntable, then this is a must have, at any price.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2011
Despite the rather silly non review of the show this is actually a terific live document of an early Rush show. I believe this is actually a radio show which exploits a legal loophole as opposed to being a bootleg.

The sound quality is actually very good, its a soundboard recording so clear enough but not tidied up and overdubbed and on occasions there is some feedback which, for me, adds to the show. The show is a good set of early material from the eponymous debut album plus some oddities.

The show itself is pretty electric the energy is captured well with the little heard and not in the studio Garden Road sand Fancy Dancer.

For £8 its very good. For Rush fans only though - and actually a good deal moe interesting than many of the more recent official live albums. Not a place to start for the casuallistener but fun nonetheless.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 5 December 2011
I have to say this CD is impressive, I have the bootleg version of this concert and it does not sound as good as this disc. The songs from 1975 are muffled however to have these songs in my Rush catalog the sound is a minimal issue.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 April 2012
Early and extremely fierce Rush recording, no frills with an FM sounding radio production that gives the music a charm and life of it's own. If you like Rush and appreciate the early no holds barred simpler 3 piece attack - just buy it. This recording simply ROCKS and stands as a great document of that era. A great release.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2011
I wish I was born a few years younger
Away been a rush fan and this is a fans "time machine" back to when I would have been there !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2011
The music on this release can't be faulted, it is Rush as they were in 1974 captured magnificently, with the raw engergy of the performance at the ABC in Cleveland bursting through. This was before they added all the electronic wizardry they use now, and it is a joy to hear them like this - feedback, string buzz, brilliant live guitar tones...I love it.

Now, the bad points: Terrible panning effects, especially on the guitar track. I found this really spoilt the fantastic leads Alex was laying down and annoyed the hell out of me. Also, the transition between tracks is messy. The last 3 tracks are pointless, and sound terrible. So....I decided to remaster the album myself. Turned the tracks into WAV files, deleted the last 3 tracks, converted the whole thing into mono and tidied up the transitions. I could have beefed up the sound a bit, but didn't think it was needed. Now I have the perfect album. Sounds brilliant.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
A rush fan will want to own this for the early gritty sound before the polished performance that we now expect.
If you have all the albums then add this to the collection as it contains three songs that never appeared on any
Rush album that are (fancy dancer)(garden road)and(bad boy).
The quality is radio broadcast type so don't expect too much,but i found it gives a true idea of what a concert
would have sounded like back in 1974.

For me it's another Rush product to add to the collection,and I'm glad it was released,as for anyone new to the
group,it might not be the best starting point,but it's a moment in time captured.
Plus if they release anymore recordings like this,then i will still buy,as any fan of the group will want too
own this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.