Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Lacks authority
This is a well written and wide ranging book on right and left handedness. The phenomenon is indeed a puzzle and it is no failure of the book not to resolve it. Smits has read widely and the bibliography contains some 200 entries; the book is well indexed. There are many myths and false beliefs associated with left handedness. The book does not reference any statements,...
Published 15 months ago by Donald A. Mcintyre

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Being left handed myself i was hopeful this book would shed some light on what that means scientifically. In short i wanted to know more about myself and how i differ from right handed people, other than the obvious.
So to the book itself: Its first chapters begin with the history of left handedness and the history and superstition surrounding not just being left...
Published on 17 Jan. 2012 by Mr J.G.Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being left handed myself i was hopeful this book would shed some light on what that means scientifically. In short i wanted to know more about myself and how i differ from right handed people, other than the obvious.
So to the book itself: Its first chapters begin with the history of left handedness and the history and superstition surrounding not just being left handed but the left itself, for example an actor entering on stage from the right and leaving to the left would always be the barer of bad luck. And although this is somewhat interesting it is also to much of the book with no real information about being left handed. When we do get to the more scientific side of things the book still does not pick up that well. It is more a case of psychology experiments with no real outcome or flawed data only to be rebuked later.
By the end of the book i found very little substance and nothing concrete about how the let handed persons brain works.
I found the book easy to read the writing style was good enough. Shame then it has so little to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sinister, 6 Oct. 2011
By 
Mrs. V. C. Marks (Leeds Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Disappointed with content. Not as interesting nor revealing as I expected. Overall was worth reading but superficial and basic. Did capture attention enough to read from beginning to end. Or was this because I hoped it would get better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lacks authority, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Donald A. Mcintyre (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well written and wide ranging book on right and left handedness. The phenomenon is indeed a puzzle and it is no failure of the book not to resolve it. Smits has read widely and the bibliography contains some 200 entries; the book is well indexed. There are many myths and false beliefs associated with left handedness. The book does not reference any statements, making it impossible to establish the source of information in the book. This weakens the usefulness of the book for the serious reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book content not as expected, only thumbed through it ..., 21 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book content not as expected, only thumbed through it so far but looks as if it will be difficult to read and comprehend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 April 2015
By 
Mr. M. C. Jeanes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of very interesting info, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Discrimination is not only bad, it's stupid. This book goes to the roots. Highly recommended for all those who want to know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Puzzle of Left-handedness
£12.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews