Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
As an avid reader of non-fiction books on the war in the east I was sceptical about this book when recommended by a friend. You know what ? - it really worked !! The historical background allied with the technical detail and operational context intricately threaded together by a good old fashioned story had me riding through the Leningrad forest inside the Tiger with Von...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by the real funkmeister

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
From the bumper book of character cliches. Plot was was abit of a blunt instrument and didn't really deliver much at all. Disappointed.
Published 23 months ago by BYH46


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
As an avid reader of non-fiction books on the war in the east I was sceptical about this book when recommended by a friend. You know what ? - it really worked !! The historical background allied with the technical detail and operational context intricately threaded together by a good old fashioned story had me riding through the Leningrad forest inside the Tiger with Von Schroiff and the boys. Despite his political leanings some of Hans' musings on the horrors of war were both insightful and poignant. I await with interest the next installmant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiger Command, 24 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
I bought this for my Kindle as I am avid collector of WW2 history and thought I would try this fiction book. It's well written, captures the horrors of the war on the Eastern Front and the attention to detail is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but!, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
Very good story, well worth the read except for the rotten grammar which spoils the flow of reading many kindle books. Time amazon sorted this!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
From the bumper book of character cliches. Plot was was abit of a blunt instrument and didn't really deliver much at all. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars puts you there!, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Michael Byrne (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a first hand view of Tank warfare between the Germans and Russians on the Eastern front and the development and early introduction of the famed Tiger tank. The author gives a very detailed account which could only come from actually being there at the time. The small group of characters are believable and easy to become familiar with.
A very good story which wasnt easy to put down at any time and made me wish that it had been longer as it was very enjoyable.
If you like world war 2 then this will be just for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of both worlds, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Paperback)
just finished Tiger Command. What a good read, filled with great technical detail, combined with a gripping storyline. Reminded me a lot of The Forgotten Soldier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
It appears that I'm in a minority of one but I was left feeling very unsatisfied by this book. This was a technical manual with a silly 'duel' storyline wrapped around it. While I quite enjoyed learning about the workings of the Tiger it got a little tedious as the experts in the book never failed to take the opportunity to explain these in a prescribed manner.

What I was hoping for was to feel the misery of the Russian Front, the vastness, the distances but apart from repeating how muddy it was in the early chapters, there was little else. Perhaps I was spoiled by the Sven Hassel stories I read as a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tiger 1, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
Good technical difficulty info and limitations. The Tiger was a brilliant war machine and I found the bits about it really good. The story as with the last one was a little plodding with the vendetta scenario ongoing from the last book. The battle scenes and descriptions are good and Bob puts over the terrain and difficulties of fighting in Russia quite well.
Honest opinion, not great in terms of the forgotten soldier sense of the word but worth reading. (it was my holiday read....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars TIGER COMMAND, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because I was intrigued that Bob Caruthers had written some fiction. Whatever you do don't waste your money on it, its total rubbish - embarrassing cr*p. All the 5* reviews can only have been written by Bob Caruthers, any reviewers less than that stick to Sven Hassel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Jonathan Baker (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Command! (Kindle Edition)
Despite other reviews I didn't find this book too technical. The two aspects seemed to flow quite naturally to me and compliment each other. Was sad to finish as enjoyed it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger Command!
Tiger Command! by Sinclair McLay
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews