Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro Swing versus Speakeasy Jazz
White Mink: Black Cotton is subtitled 'Electro Swing vs. Speakeasy Jazz' and that about sums it up. The double CD presents the very best of this 'new' genre with both a retrospective trawl through rare Cotton Club-style tracks on one CD (remastered from original 78's apparently), pitted alongside modern remixes and 20/30's influenced dance floor fillers on the other...
Published on 22 Jan 2010 by 20/20

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A couple of great tracks, but no more than that
I'm a little disappointed with this album. I think it's quite pricey for what it is.

The electro swing Disc 1 has a couple of great tracks (Caravan Palace being one), but the rest begin to sound a bit samey, especially as each one goes on and on and on. A bit too much of the electro and not enough swing in the chosen tracks. I'm new to this genre, so still...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Seraph


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro Swing versus Speakeasy Jazz, 22 Jan 2010
White Mink: Black Cotton is subtitled 'Electro Swing vs. Speakeasy Jazz' and that about sums it up. The double CD presents the very best of this 'new' genre with both a retrospective trawl through rare Cotton Club-style tracks on one CD (remastered from original 78's apparently), pitted alongside modern remixes and 20/30's influenced dance floor fillers on the other.

It was compiled by London DJs Nick Hollywood - for years the power behind famous London scene-maker, Club Montepulciano and now head of Brighton label Freshly Squeezed - and El Nino & Lady Kamakaze of the famous Black Cotton and (award winning) Lady Luck clubs. Between them these guys obviously know a thing or two about rocking a vintage flavored dance floor and it really shows. Both CD's are tastefully and seamlessly blended.

But I'm making it all sound very dry and academic. The music here actually feels very fresh and new. Despite the age! Both albums, although very different, bounce along with joie de vivre and are thoroughly uplifting. Black Cotton - for all that this may seem a era familiar from countless old White-Tie-Top-Hat-and-Tails type CD's, actually uncovers some raunchy, early R&B type gems that are amazing, while White Mink, as you would expect adds weight, a modern twist and some cracking electronic production to the mix.

Overall this is a great, sexy, beautifully packaged, party record and I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOPS !!!!, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Ralph A. D. Perring "rad" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really great double album this. One cd's comprised of upbeat dancy modern twists on old style swing with lots of sampling of old records and great beats, the other is all original 1930s swing. Both are excellent. And the 1930s stuff suprisingly dancy and up beat.(way better than I though 1930s stuff'd be).

Together the whole package blew me away. Great value, too.

This one's a must for any music aficionado's collection. Especially if you like a jazzy retro vibe.

ENJOY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot!, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A double CD of swing and blues with an updated backbeat. It can get a bit samey but this collection is well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pearl., 6 Mar 2011
Wicked record. Love the concept. Love the artwork. This was the first album that finally nailed the whole electro swing genre. On this evidence it's easy to see why it took off... The White Mink side is genius. The Black Cotton side probably not quite as good as the vintage side on the other CD, but it's absolutely essential if you're into jazzy, dance-orientated retro vibes. Every home should have this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound,, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic music, I love house/dance music but this is a new kind of sound which ticks all the same boxes. Now I can't wait to go to the show. Dance Jazz I would call it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars White Mink Black Cotton: Electro Swing vs Speakeasy Jazz, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something I would normally dislike, that is, taking classic jazz tunes and putting it to a beat. However, it's well done, with an obvious appreciation of the original tunes. Cool grooves bringing jazz to a new crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A couple of great tracks, but no more than that, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Seraph (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a little disappointed with this album. I think it's quite pricey for what it is.

The electro swing Disc 1 has a couple of great tracks (Caravan Palace being one), but the rest begin to sound a bit samey, especially as each one goes on and on and on. A bit too much of the electro and not enough swing in the chosen tracks. I'm new to this genre, so still don't know the names of the stuff I like.

I took a punt on this CD and it hasn't paid off as much as I'd like.

Disc 2 is definitely a keeper. Some great vintage classics.

Positives:

Great digi pack cover, with lovely vintage pics and great styling in the new photos too.

A few good tracks for parties, but not deep enough to just listen too.

Next time, I will probably just buy a Caravan Palace album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews