Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete, but . . . .
This edition of Samuel Pepys Diary is essentially the 1893 version edited by Henry Wheatley. Much expanded from the 1825 Mynors Bright edition, available for free on Amazon Kindle, it nevertheless relies on that transcript for much of the text.

The only fuller version is the Latham and Matthews edition of the 1970's, not available on Kindle and, being in...
Published on 3 Aug 2012 by Philip G. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Pepys gives an interesting window onto 17th century London and the Restoration. It can be repetitive, but there are many nuggets strewn along the way. Worth dipping into.
Published 10 months ago by Doug


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have on my Kindle, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
Great to have this on my Kindle to dip into endlessly and be amused by Pepys' remarks and to feel one is actually in that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
Pepys gives an interesting window onto 17th century London and the Restoration. It can be repetitive, but there are many nuggets strewn along the way. Worth dipping into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to dip into Pepys, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
I have only recently discovered Pepys. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy he is to read.
Reading Claire Tomalin's biography "The Unequalled Self. " has enabled me to make far more sense of the diaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard work at times!, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
There is a tremendous amount of detail about what he ate and did in his spare time (of which he seems to have had a lot) but not all very rivetting. Well worth reading though to get a feeling of how things were in those days, at least in Pepy's circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Classic Diary Butchered by Appalling text errors, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
I once owned a facsimile copy of this work and so was very excited at having them on Kindle.

My hopes were dashed on the first page when the word 'our' was replaced by the word 'out' rendering the entire FIRST SENTENCE unreadable.

I was deluded by thinking that this was an isolated error.

Very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam the Man, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
Not having read any of his past readings. I was surprise to read how little time they covered. It seems he also loved London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant commentary of his life and the times. Extraordinary honest about his interests: women, the Navy, his King and employers. His womanising is often reprehensible as were many others of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not my cup of tea, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of Samuel Pepys - Complete Edition [Annotated] (Kindle Edition)
I have heard of this book for years and thought I would read it-it was far too slow and so had to put it to one side
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews