Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert and Chazz... watch out
On the streets of the Bronx there lies a story of a stand-up guy, a mafia and a kid trying to find his way between his two different lives..Based on Chazz Palminteri's (whose original name is Lorenzo Calogero Palminteri and you will understand why I mentioned this when you see the movie) play and Robert De Niro's directorial debut, this movie will change your life with...
Published on 14 Jan 2002 by enishazan

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New Wax City
Guess the other reviewer has never seen a blu ray before. This is an appalling transfer. Leaden with over the top edge enhancement and digital noise reduction giving those waxy facial textures. The colour balance is also dire. Studio Canal have really dropped the ball here. They have redeeemed themselves with better transfers of The Killing Fields and Nightwatch (the...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Q Quarters


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert and Chazz... watch out, 14 Jan 2002
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [DVD] (DVD)
On the streets of the Bronx there lies a story of a stand-up guy, a mafia and a kid trying to find his way between his two different lives..Based on Chazz Palminteri's (whose original name is Lorenzo Calogero Palminteri and you will understand why I mentioned this when you see the movie) play and Robert De Niro's directorial debut, this movie will change your life with the messages in it.You will be happy when your girlfriend passes the door test :) If you haven't seen it yet..what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Tale, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Steven Roche "SteveStryker" (Renfrewshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [DVD] (DVD)
A Bronx Tale is a charming and touching tale of a boy named Cologero who is torn between his bus drivning father, Lorenzo (Robert De Niro) and a local gangland boss named Sonny (Chazz Palaminteri).
Cologero witnesses a shooting outside his apartment involving Sonny. Cologero is then asked to identify the shooter. Knowing what the conciquences would be, Cologero lies and says he doesn't recognise the shooter (fully knowing it was Sonny). Sonny then sees something within Cologreo and takes him under his wing and teaches him all about the streets and making people respect you. This angers Lorenzo who doesn't want to see his son grow up to be a street gangster. Cologreo then has two fathers, one who he lives with and signs his report cards. And one who he runs errands for and rules the street with.
This movie tackles all aspects of the 1960's New York. Race, free love and communitee are all issues that easily recognisable here.
All the actors on display pull out great performances. De Niro as usual is on form and has worked wonderfully in his directorial debut. It makes you wonder why he isn't directing more nowadays. But my hat has to go off to Chazz Palaminteri who is effectivly convincing as the street wise gangster Sonny.
There are twists in the plot as the story continues and soon comes together for the very convincing ending (With a brief appearance from Joe Pesci). The last line is excellent, with the narrator saying, "To all New Yorkers, my story is just another Bronx Tale."
The only thing I would complain about this film is that there is to much 60's music, it's all good but I feel it's overused.
I think this film appeals to everyone, it will warm your heart and change your life. I think this is the most underrated film I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a moral tale, 20 Dec 2001
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [DVD] (DVD)
a good script and superp acting completes a masterful film.
"c" torn between his father and sonny his role model - life is all about loyalties and morals and this film encompasses all of this and more.
a highlight in my collection of movies and one that is only bettered by the "godfather trilogy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true great, 27 Jan 2002
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [DVD] (DVD)
When i first watched this film i was absolutely blown away...it's everything you could want from a film and more.All of the actors are on song, especially Chazz Palminteri and De Niro, who both give powerful and hugely convincing performances. The locations, choreography and supporting cast are great, the plot is convincing, and this is all from De Niro's first stint in the directors chair. This is a true gem of a film which has sadly been graetly underrated, so if you haven't seen it already get and you'll be assured of a magnificant 2 hours film watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars de niro more than proves that he can cut it directing too!, 31 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A film that tells the tale of a little boy growing up under the influence of two 'fathers', one an honest working man, Robert De Niro, the other a charismatic mafia boss played by Chazz Palminteri, is perfect for the direction of De Niro. Although the film has been described as some what 'Goodfellaesque', it is still a remarkably powerful and moving unique movie. The depiction of the violent scenes in the picture is particularly effective and it is refreshing to see a new director experiment in his ideas. De Niro truly knows how to get the most out of his relatively unknown actors who support and work with the storyline wonderfully. A film that has been grossly underated deserves a lot more recognition, any true De Niro fan will love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story and strong performance from De Niro, 4 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the film Robert De Niro took a real bus driving test so he could play the part of Lorenzo Anello a normal man who is trying to raise his family in the Bronx district.

What makes this film unusual is that De Niro is playing a father and not a mobster (for once) he also takes he directing chair and does a pretty good job overall. The second interesting part of the film is that the part of Sonny LoSpecchio (the local capo) is portrayed by Chazz Palminteri, who wrote the story and it's based partly on his own life.

The story sees Lorenzo and his son Calogero living in the Bronx, Lorenzo wants nothing to do with the mob or for it to be any part of his life, but his Son soon strikes up an interest in mob activities, and forms a friendship with Sonny. This causes a conflict with his father, and the film follows the developments in the strained relationship between Father and Son..and Sonny (who is in many ways an alternative Father to Calogero )

This isn't a normal "mob film" in a lot of ways, there are elements of violence (though not too strong hence the 15 rating) It's more an exploration of the Father/Son bond and how that is tested and grows over time. It's interesting to see De Niro play the part of a Father and not the gangster, and he does it better than I expected. The cast is good, and the story is made all the more appealing being roughly based on reality. The film has a strong moral undertone to it, and it would be fair to call it somewhat removed from your normal Mafia based production. An interesting and unusual film that should appeal to a fairly broad audience, it might not be quite the classic De Niro all time top 5 film list, but it blends a serious story with some lighter more entertaining parts quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 15 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
A Brilliant and classic film starring robert de niro rated very high amoung other gangster films such as goodfellas and scarface A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie About a Neighborhood I Actually Grew Up In, 21 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Believe it or not, I grew up in this very same neighborhood. The Belmont section of the Bronx. Boy I remember, the neighborhood was actually owned by these streetwise guys. They made you feel protected. I lived in a 5 story apartment building in 663 Crescent Ave. which is adjacent to 187 street, the Little Italy of The Bronx. Fordham University is just a couple of blocks down. I didn't go to that college but a friend of mine went. Now I live in Milan, Italy. (Quite strange, isn't it?) But every now and then, I go back to visit that same neighborhood. I am not pointing any fingers at anybody, but a lot of these guys were racists. They wouldn't even let a black person live in the block. Just like the movie portrayed. Fortunately this bigotry never rubbed off onto me. But some of the kids I grew up with did. I wish the movie had a happier ending. When the guys threw cocktail bombs in the black neighborhood and then got killed in revenge as they tried to leave made me cry. Talk about wasted talent. Sad but true. But isn't that what it's all about, art imitating life?

sandy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 15 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Jan Tari "anomalocarus" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Great acting with a great script and solid characters.
It only lets itself down a bit in the last five minutes by delivering a broadside of family-friendly moralistic mush. But then perhaps I'm nitpicking. It really is outstanding.
Update:
Without prejudicing my commendation of this film, one aspect of it made me uncomfortable; the sanitisation of a couple of scenes of strong violence by not having any trace of blood when by rights there should be plenty. I am torn over this practice.
I feel on one hand that 'cleaning up' violence simply makes something more acceptable that should be unacceptable. On the other, showing the full consequences of violence (and images of blood do have a particularly strong effect) might only desensitise us to the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film which makes you all tingly and emotional., 19 July 2003
By 
David (yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bronx Tale [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film a little while ago when I was ill on channel 5 one Saturday night and because I could not sleep I stayed up to watch it.The start is just a black screen with a few lights on it with this rubbishy sort of humming music in the background. The voice over is quite effective. All of a sudden the film fires up into action and you get to see the bronx in the 1960s with children polishing shoes and grown men playing baseball in the middle of the street.
From that scene onwards the film gets very interesting because you can't help it but like Robert De Niro's character, Lorenzo. He is a working class man who belies that a man must work for a living and he keeps teaching his son this and ironically his son tries to mimic the local mafia boss. His son finds himself sat on the stairs outside his house when he spots the boss, he looks up to him and all of a sudden a row breaks out. He witnesses a shooting and sunny, the boss recognises him for the first time.
Sunny begins to recognise the boy much more and ends up making him into a well known street urchin like himself. Lorenzo hates this and there is allot of conflict between tyhe two men.
There are even more twists lurking around the corner and this surprises you. I would say dont bother renting it just buy it straight away, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!!!
Overall the acting is great by all charecters. Robert De Niro's directing debut!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bronx Tale [Blu-ray]
A Bronx Tale [Blu-ray] by Robert De Niro (Blu-ray - 2012)
8.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews