Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excessive head parking!
I use an SSD as my main drive, and this one for storage. It is a single platter, giving it less potential points for mechanical failure, and is thinner than most multi-platter drives.

So far it has been working fine, and I have but one complaint: Seagate have made the baffling decision to include an energy saving head-parking feature in the firmware, similar to...
Published 8 months ago by Mossy

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Certified repaired drive
Ordered this drive directly from amazon thinking it would be well packaged and a genuine item. Was disgusted to find the drive in a jiffy bag inside an amazon fat box, no protection or padding of any kind. I was even more shocked upon opening the jiffy bag, it contained a CERTIFIED REPAIRED hard drive in a DAMAGED anti static bag. I have always found amazon to be reliable...
Published 8 months ago by T. Aitken


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excessive head parking!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
I use an SSD as my main drive, and this one for storage. It is a single platter, giving it less potential points for mechanical failure, and is thinner than most multi-platter drives.

So far it has been working fine, and I have but one complaint: Seagate have made the baffling decision to include an energy saving head-parking feature in the firmware, similar to that found in WD Greens. This means that if the drive is inactive for more than about 30 seconds, the heads park, making an annoying clicking noise and taking a second to move back again when you next access the disk. While the jury seems to be out on whether excessive head parking actually damages the drive, it's certainly damn annoying, and I was forced to download software which turns this feature off every time the computer boots (as you can't save the modified settings).

This isn't a deal-breaker, but it is certainly something to bear in mind when considering this drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Certified repaired drive, 4 Nov 2013
By 
T. Aitken - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
Ordered this drive directly from amazon thinking it would be well packaged and a genuine item. Was disgusted to find the drive in a jiffy bag inside an amazon fat box, no protection or padding of any kind. I was even more shocked upon opening the jiffy bag, it contained a CERTIFIED REPAIRED hard drive in a DAMAGED anti static bag. I have always found amazon to be reliable and trustworthy in the past, I am furious at receiving items in this condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but more decription information required, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
It seems to work fine but I was disappointed to find it was a Seagate repaired item. I guess as long as it work ok that's fine but I would like to have been informed of this before purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My iMac is alive again, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
The hard disk failed on my 2007 iMac and it was a simple job to replace it with this disk. Faster and even quieter than the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The product is reliable., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
The product is still working properly up to the present moment and I don't think I can criticise anything about the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the proice, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
Used this to build my first Mid-budget gaming PC, It was very easy to install and is now working great :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
40 quid for a 1tb hdd sata need I say more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid performance and good cost, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
Great storage great price, it's a seagate, there's not much else to say. It sit's as my secondary drive holding all movie's music and such to my os which run's on a SSD. the drive run's quiet, quick and without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New life for my iMac, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Isabelle304 (Hove, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
Bought this to replace the Western Digital drive in my mid-2007 Intel iMac when it died. Am very pleased with the change - the iMac seems to be running faster now than it was before. The drive is very quiet. No complaints so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracuda 1TB 3.5 inch Hard Drive (Accessory)
Does exactly what it says on the tin, for the price this HDD is brilliant and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews