Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars162
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2012
Absolutely incredible book. A real page turner. Really makes you think of life in a different light!! If you buy one book this year, make it this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Such a beautifully written book. Alastair can write, you can tell that he's well read himself, I enjoyed the Steinbeck quotes at the beginning of each chapter. A poetic account of a days travel through India following a river. I don't think this would have been the same book had it not been self published. It has a rawness to it, that sweeps you along the dusty, hot riverside too, evoking the smell, and sights of India. A journey of coming to terms with moving on from a young man to a father too. Wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
A book that feels extremely open and honest about life on the open road. It's a bit like listening in to someone's inner thoughts and dreams.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
A brilliant read, brought back lots of memories from my own travels. Made me want to pack my bag up and set off again. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Into the mind of someone who loves to travel, adventure, to rough it, to live hard and uncomfortable, to test themselves - why do they do it? What is it all about? I've re-read this book a couple of times, the more you read it, the more insight you get. Simple little chapters, beautifully and painstakingly written, reveal the simple, subtle pleasures of the life on the road. Glimpsed moments and spontaneous thoughts are captured perfectly. A thoughtful and delicate book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Great book, well written and inspirational. Having just returned from India, reading this book made me want to go right back.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
A fantastic book for anyone who has ever dreamed of getting away from it all. Inspiring and beautifully written. Read it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
This is an excellent read and one that will inspire you to take unexpected adventures. Read it, you won't regret it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I really enjoyed this book. It was so interesting and a bit different from the usual travel stories. A good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
A great read and well written. Another great book from Alastair written in his own style that keeps you hooked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)