Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple (B/W)
Being derived from the radio series and produced during the 50's these are mild story lines compared to today. However all four stories jog along nicely. The ating is not outstanding and the back screen projection does leave a bit to be desired (modern filming) Any one who enjoys this early eara will thoughly enjoy this collection. I have these individually so the box...
Published on 4 April 2012 by A. Samuels

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past
I chose these DVDs to show to a number of individuals in their 80s and 90s. They followed the plots although the sound is not as clear as would be ideal for those with hearing impairment.
Published 6 months ago by AJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple (B/W), 4 April 2012
By 
A. Samuels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Being derived from the radio series and produced during the 50's these are mild story lines compared to today. However all four stories jog along nicely. The ating is not outstanding and the back screen projection does leave a bit to be desired (modern filming) Any one who enjoys this early eara will thoughly enjoy this collection. I have these individually so the box presentation is unknown.

If you buy this set I hope you get as much enjoyment from them as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Eleri (LLANELLI, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Well packaged and quick delivery. I have listened to many of the 'Paul Temple' audiobooks so I thought I'd try the films. I have really enjoyed these but you have to remember, that they are what they are, B & W, old fashioned crime movies. For me, just great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Just the right thing to watch when the snow comes in and there is nothing much to do but great stories too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I chose these DVDs to show to a number of individuals in their 80s and 90s. They followed the plots although the sound is not as clear as would be ideal for those with hearing impairment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Francis Matthews version, 10 May 2013
By 
JOHN-MICHAEL KEATING "mikeodad" (Orléans, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
As I mentioned, I found the Francis Matthews series very mixed. With John Bentley (1 episode with Anthony Hulme) it was far more to my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOSTALGIC, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, brought back some great memories of listening to this on the radio. The vintage recordings have been produced very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class and believable 'Paul Temple', 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Having listened to the 'Paul Temple' storied on CD and Tape, these black and white versions of the stories are just as good. Anthony Hulme and John Bentley who play the character 'Paul Temple' make the character believable and as you would imagine him to look when listening to the CD's. This 4 films are 100% better than the awful 1970's colour version. The story line is good and the films have a good pace to them, However remember that these stories were filmed in the 1940's when the country was at war and they are of their time. The stories are ripping good yarns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best example of our intrepid detective duo., 5 Sep 2013
By 
Allen Worcester (Westbury, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I am afraid that for me these films are best viewed only by die hard fans of Paul Temple and Steve. The films are fairly long in the tooth and alas, the picture and sound quality are very variable to say the least. I think the stories are ones that are best read in print, or by way of the excellent audio dramatisations which are part of the legacy from radio days (although the more recent radio adaptations with Crawford Logan and Gerda Stevenson are also excellent). Durbridge wrote the kind of detective thrillers that are best suited to those mediums - when rendered visually you can see the joins so to speak and the action stuff is just hammy and not at all convincing. With books and radio you use your imagination and glide over the dramatic improbabilities that invariably get exposed on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful sound track, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Almost unusable because of the ancient, crackly sound track. Certainly impossible for anyone hard of hearing and not enjoyable for the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD]
Limited Edition Paul Temple Box Set [DVD] by John Bentley (DVD - 2011)
£21.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews