Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment
Eternal Law is a brand new series produced by the same company that was responsible for Life on Mars and Ashes to Ashes. With this sort of pedigree one could reasonably have expected something rather special or at least very different and this series certainly does not disappoint.

The basic premise is that two angels, Zak and Tom, are sent to earth with the...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Brett H

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OF INTEREST, BUT FLAWED
Apparently angels are everywhere, helping those in need. This six part series focuses on two acting as lawyers in York: jaded Zak (Samuel West), enthusiastic rookie Tom (Ukweli Roach). They reside with Mrs. Sherringham (Orla Brady), who traded in her wings for earthly love. Forever trying to thwart is black-winged fallen angel Richard (Tobias Menzies entertainingly...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Eternal Law is a brand new series produced by the same company that was responsible for Life on Mars and Ashes to Ashes. With this sort of pedigree one could reasonably have expected something rather special or at least very different and this series certainly does not disappoint.

The basic premise is that two angels, Zak and Tom, are sent to earth with the mission of working as defence lawyers in York. Now there are many things that they could have been sent to do, but the idea of angelic lawyers could be considered by some as almost a contradiction in terms! However not being angels who shirk a challenge, they are guided towards certain cases where wrongs need to be righted and which are also very varied in terms of both subject and seriousness. For instance, three of the episodes concern murder or attempted murder, whilst another is a child custody case.

Zak is an old hand who has been to earth before and fell in love on the last occasion. His old flame, Hannah, who does not recognise him is working for Richard Pembroke, a fallen angel who is involved as a malevolent influence. Tom is a novice at dealing with the human situations he encounters, but learns fast. In the background guiding is the mysterious Mr Mountjoy, who we never see, but who may or may not be God.

Zak seems to find it particularly difficult to comply with the rule that an angel should not interfere with humanity's free will and regularly finds it necessary to bend the rules. One very amusing aspect is that Zak and Tom finish most episodes holding an end of day post mortem on the case, perched on top of York Minster, complete with wings. This was shamelessly lifted from Boston Legal - Season 1-5 [DVD] where Denny Crane and Alan Shore end each episode with a cigar and a drink on the balcony overlooking the city.

Although this series has not been greeted with universal acclaim by the professional critics I think this is unfair. The cast do well and I thought Sam West was particularly outstanding as Zak. Personally I found it good entertainment and the subject matter sufficiently different to be memorable. Given that it should be easy enough to think up interesting new cases for the guys to tackle, I would think there is plenty of scope for subsequent series of Eternal Law and I certainly hope we see more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect YET, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Paul M. Steele "software hawk" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am writing this not only as a review but as a balance to those who have deliberatly done down the series because it was not perfect. Like all good drama series it was an initial trial to how it would fare.
Unfortunately unlike most of the long running series on tv it wasnt perfect and needs "tweeking", unfortunatley those who make the decisions and hold the purse strings all too often want a winner from the start and are short sighted in that they dont see the possibilities of a new series and stick with the same format even though its dull and boring, think what big brother will be like in 2020.
All the long running soaps on tv had rubbish 1st series and they didnt get much better on the 2nd and in some cases 3rd series was the best. (who thinks Eastenders would get past a 1st series if it were released now? is anything in it close to real life? its had more murders, assaults and rapes per head than any place on earth, Coronation street is not much better either).
I was looking forward to the 2nd series of Eternal Law because it showed the promise of originality missing from the steady drip feed diet of all those american series filling our TV airwaves.
If the first attempt failed why do the TV executives always cancel the idea and move on? If you take their decision making process to the next level then children would never learn to walk because after they have fallen down once walking is abandoned and they stay on all fours as its a tried and trusted system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Series, 30 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The whole family is loving this new series. Original, witty and compelling. Are we comfortable with the idea of angels coming to earth to help out humanity? Some really interesting themes. I really hope they have a second series lined up soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
being a big fan of life on mars and ashes to ashes i was excited to give this series ago, and im glad i did from the first episode i found myself gripped and desperately wanting to find out what happens next. i love the fact this is different from anything else ive watched and i found it refreshing cant wait to buy this it might not be for everybody but it certainly did it for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, hope to see more of it!, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of 'Life on Mars' etc and that was why I bought this series. I wasn't disappointed. The concept is as quirky as 'Life on Mars' and even though one could roughly call it religious, it is more about the issues of good and evil than a religious point of view. It is uplifting, even when we may feel sad because of the central angel's star crossed love life.I don't usually watch the special features but I did with this one as I wanted to know how they made the incredible wings. Quite a task but well worth it.I recommend this to anyone who likes to think about profound issues while they are being entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could they axe it?, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an intelligent, literate, entertaining and clever series. I will watch it again and again. Beautiful setting in York, well thought out scripts, well cast and so clever in the contents. I wanted it to run as long as Dr House or Frasier becaue it is of that quality. If you like unagressive and rather intelligent intellectual crime puzzles with clever script writing buy this and watch it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over view, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was introduced to this series from a friend. After watching the first episode on line I was hooked. I love the plot and the tension between the characters. Shame that ITV did not make another series, hopefully other channels will get the ball rolling to make another. What else can I say except brilliantly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every minute, delightful, want more, 29 July 2012
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose ITV axed series 2 because they hadn't the guts to face the whingeing miserying of tedious critics. WHO CARES WHAT THE NEWSPAPER CRITICS THINK? Each of them is only one person and what I always see is they stick together - one decides what to say and the rest follow slavishly for fear of seeming "different" or "adventurous" or "out of line". The paper I mostly read, the critic for TV is a nightmare. He hates everything I like. He only watches earnestly respectable or politically correct docus, seems to me, and if he ever notices ordinary main-stream drama it's usually to slate it. He's welcome to his opinion but it is very snobbish and it makes his column unreadable as he is simply not in my view in touch even with the readers of the paper.

You don't have to be "religious" to enjoy this series. It's pure fun and at times poignant.

Shame on you ITV. Now it's time to bring back Eternal Law or perhaps the two Angels will decide the ITV program-deiders are not fit for their jobs.

I wonder how it went down in the USA? Could do better there - or were ITV too scared to send it there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Enjoyment, 11 Feb 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This was something that I wasn't originally going to watch when it first came on tv, but I thought I would give it a go as there was nothing else on at the time. With a great cast and both fallen and non-fallen angels as lawyers this definitely makes for some unusual viewing. When Zak is returned to Earth with Tom, one of the Heavenly Choir, Zak is already in trouble for falling for a human in his last tour of duty. Turning up in York they stay with Mrs Sheringham at the Belfry, where they start out on their work. It is not long before they come across Richard, a fallen angel who opposes them in the courts, and Zak finds himself face to face with his old love, Hannah.

Whilst taking on cases provided for them by Mr Mountjoy (God), the duo have to try and help people who are in right messes, at the same time Zak has to try not to fall for Hannah all over again. With good versus evil, this is really well worth watching, and with the comedy here as well this is highly enjoyable. Hopefully there will be another series, as this ends with the countdown for Armageddon starting. All in all, if you like something a bit different and quirky, then this should be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Were They Thinking Cancelling This Series?, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked Eternal Law and thought it had potential for two or three series at least. I gave four stars because I did
feel they could have been a bit more adventurous with it. The cast were all perfect for their roles, particularly Samuel
West and I loved the bit with the two angels on the rooftops at night discussing their current cases. I thought it was a
really original concept and with just a few tweaks it might have caught on with viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD]
Eternal Law - Series 1 [DVD] by Samuel West (DVD - 2012)
£12.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews