Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'BETTER THAN EXPECTED'
The film exceeded expectations when released in the U.S. becoming a huge
box-office success.
Have to say, no surprise to me.
It is a visually stunning production.
'Same Story'.....yet, with a different spin for the 'Grimm's' fairy-tale.
Other than the 'Snow White' story starring 'Sigourney Weaver' this is perhaps
the darkest version yet...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When the evil Queen is the only one you care about, you know this Snow White's got problems
Inspired more by the Lord of the Rings films than the Brothers Grimm (it even features a fight with a troll), Snow White and the Huntsman tries to put a modern spin on the familiar tale by reinventing it as a fantasy adventure. For the first half hour or so it works fairly well, director Rupert Sanders bringing a strong enough visual style to bridge traditional epic and...
Published 6 months ago by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'BETTER THAN EXPECTED', 7 Mar. 2013
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White and the Huntsman (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The film exceeded expectations when released in the U.S. becoming a huge
box-office success.
Have to say, no surprise to me.
It is a visually stunning production.
'Same Story'.....yet, with a different spin for the 'Grimm's' fairy-tale.
Other than the 'Snow White' story starring 'Sigourney Weaver' this is perhaps
the darkest version yet.
Of course with 'Twilight' star 'Kirsten Stewart' in the lead role the film was
always going to attract a large audience.
Quite simply and enjoyable watch......awesome entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't expecting much..., 13 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But the movie is great. The effects - both visual and special - were amazing. Plain and simple. The scenery is fantastic and very well incorporated into the movie. Theron makes a convincing Queen, worthy of our fear. Hemsworth makes a believable drunken huntsman, lost in his own grief and Stewart delivers one of the best portrayals of one of the most recognisable fairytale characters. I was - along with a lot of other people, I'm sure - surprised and almost "shocked" at the uncharacteristic casting choices but after viewing the finished product I understood and agreed.
Some people write these reviews based solely on trying to tarnish the acting of an actor or actress. It's both rude and tacky.
The truth is, the movie is good. It's not Oscar worthy but I don't think I've ever read anything about it being in the running for a statuette. It's not as ground breaking as some apparently thought it would be, but it is fun and entertaining and I will gladly place it into my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When the evil Queen is the only one you care about, you know this Snow White's got problems, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White and the Huntsman (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Inspired more by the Lord of the Rings films than the Brothers Grimm (it even features a fight with a troll), Snow White and the Huntsman tries to put a modern spin on the familiar tale by reinventing it as a fantasy adventure. For the first half hour or so it works fairly well, director Rupert Sanders bringing a strong enough visual style to bridge traditional epic and dark modern fairytales and managing to create an oppressively slithering and malevolent Dark Forest and a benevolent enchanted one with the CGi tools available to him. But style will only carry a film so far, and this is no exception as you can feel it gradually slipping away from his control as it goes off in too many directions at once without ever making the most of any of them. Yet its biggest failing is that neither of the titular characters are that interesting or even introduced until a surprisingly long way into the film.

While she abandons many of the much-mocked mannerisms she's often been over-reliant on, Kristen Stewart really doesn't make much of an impression as Snow White. While we're told that she's the embodiment of life and beauty who can heal the ravaged land, she gives such a lifeless performance so devoid of grace, either in personality or movement, that we have to take it on trust, and sadly she gets worse once the film recasts her as a particularly uninspiring Joan of Arc figure unconvincingly leading an army into battle. It doesn't help that she seems to be acting in a vacuum, barely connecting with her co-stars even when sharing a scene or a supposedly meaningful look with them. Chris Hemsworth, complete with an ill-advised Scottish accent that seems an unfortunate legacy of when Johnny Depp was being wooed for the part, seems to have lost all the charisma he showed in Thor and Rush and doesn't have a good enough part to make up for it. For all his would-be tragic back story he's a bland and anonymous figure. The dwarfs don't fare much better, though in their case it's more down to a script that reserves its energies for the fantasy elements rather than creating characters you can care for: the CGI that turns Ian McShane, Eddie Marsan, Ray Winstone, Nick Frost, Toby Jones and a visibly ailing Bob Hoskins in his final role into half the men they were is more impressive than anything they get to say or do.

Luckily for the film it has a particularly vivid turn from Charlize Theron as the wicked stepmother, and it's her film all the way, whether she's draining the life from unfortunate maidens to preserve her own youth and beauty, turning into a flock of crows or taking vengeance on the entire male gender. She's far more interesting and given far more convincing motivation than anyone else in the film, and it's notable that it sags the most when she disappears in the lengthy mid-section. The grab bag of styles and influences doesn't help matters much either: there are some interesting ideas like the women of the kingdom deliberately scarring themselves because without beauty they're useless to the queen, but a scene with a stag in a beautiful fairy-infested forest is such an obvious lift from Ridley Scott's Legend that you expect one of Jerry Goldsmith and John Bettis' songs to pop up on the soundtrack while the final battle is a hybrid of El Cid and middle-earth.

You can see where this could have worked with a better script and more developed characters, but the end result is a bit of a Mulligan's Stew of half-realised good ideas and not always well-suited ones from more interesting films that ends up outstaying its welcome enough for you to wonder if it should have called it a day after Snow bit the apple. Two-and-a-half stars for effort.

The Blu-ray offers both the theatrical cut and a slightly extended version - just four minutes longer, none of them a game-changer - audio commentary, picture-in-picture featurettes and assorted behind the scenes puff pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look for the cast and visual design, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Snow White and the Huntsman (DVD)
I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking the visuals looked quite impressive and it had a good cast so thought I'd take a look.
It turned out to be an entertaining retelling of the story. I was never really involved with the characters but it was good value as simple entertainment.
There are some fantastic looking visuals and everything from the production design to the costumes and effects are impressive. The cast is also great and it was a nice surprise to see how many well known and impressive actors there were amongst the dwarves.
Kristen Stewart and Chris Hemsworth are solid and it's fun watching Charlize Theron get her crazy on.
Not really one for the young kids and not really clever enough to keep adults hooked, this is kind of in the middle and might find an audience with teens and adults wanting to watch a bit of simple escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Epic Movie Since Gladiator!, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Snow White and the Huntsman (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Simply the best Epic Movie since "Gladiator". A perfect blend of the hauntingly beautiful, fight scenes, top notch acting, special effects etcetera. This is also Kristen Stewarts best performance up to date. Although her performance, playing a disabled girl in "The Cake Eaters", is also great. Tons of more Girl Power here than in the rather lame role she had to play i "Twilight". Superb... Everything! (Comes from a guy who collects Criterion and film history in general).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 10 Mar. 2013
I was intrigued by this film, and wondered what kind of take on Snow White this would be. It is very dark, darker than I thought it would be, and cleverly incorporates the recognisable elements of the original fairlytale into it without seeming to overdo it. Kristen Stewart, who I have only seen in Panic Room before this, gives an excellent performance. I don't know why she has been slated by others on here, as for me, she gave a believable and gritty performance.I liked the fact that she is a tough woman, battling another tough woman, and has an army of men in league with her-very refreshing when so many woman in Hollywood are shoved into the tiresome role of 'girlfriend' or 'sex kitten'. The rest of the cast are excellent too-Charlize Theron is really rather scary as the evil Queen! The visuals are beautiful and bleak and the music by John Newton Howard is lovely. I found this moving, well acted and highly enjoyable. Try it without having any preconceptions and you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb dark story, 24 Nov. 2012
I knew little about this film before I watched it so I had no preconceptions. First thing I loved the portrayal of the Queen as dangerous, disturbed but somewhat tragic figure which I found nicely sympathetic. I found myself wanting to know more about her. The look of the film is dark, as one would expect, but there are a few nods to the old Disney film that I liked. I also liked the battle scenes which came across very well. The characterisation of the Heroine was some what weak though hunter was slightly better. Also (as in many films of this type) Snow White went too quickly from girl on the run to battle hardened warrior. Pan's Labyrinth this isn't but is nontheless entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Evil Queen, Bella Swan and Thor expose the dangers of radical feminism...))), 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Making a more serious, not really children oriented version of "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs", was a great idea - but it was not very well made and the result is an only half-successful film, saved from total failure by incredible performance of Charlize Theron. This review contains some limited SPOILERS.

The story is of course very well known and in its main lines this film sticks to it, so there is no real need to tell it again here. However the story was changed very much as far as the character and the background of the Evil Queen (Charlize Theron) are concerned. In this film she has a name (Ravenna) and a past, of which I will say only that it is radically feminist...))) She is also much, much more powerful than in the 1937 film and even than in the original Grimm's tale. In this film she is a REALLY powerful sorceress, well versed in the darkest magic and using it massively, both to extend her already unnaturaly long life and to maintain her power over the land. But, and that was a really excellent idea, in the same time she is a poison to the land - the dark magic she uses makes the whole once flourishing country sick...

Charlize Theron is THE reason for which this thing is even watchable. Her Ravenna is a really terrifying creature, feeding on life force of young maidens and rotten insides of dead birds, flying with carrion birds, maintaining an incestuous relation with her own brother ("Game of Thrones" anybody?) when in the same time clearly hating men, using dagger, poison, hexes and legions of henchmen with same deadly skill, etc. She is a real delight to watch!

Snow White was changed deeply too, from a damsel in distress awaiting her prince to a shield-maiden leading her army to war. The general idea was not so bad, but the execution of it was really not terrific... The responsability here lays both with the scenario and with Kristen Stewart's acting. I must here precise that not only I am one of the few hetero-sexual males who actually liked the "Twilight" saga but I also rather liked the way Kristen Stewart played Bella Swan, a troubled, clumsy, introverted teenager. The great problem is that in this film she didn't really try to portray the Upgraded Butt-kicking Fully-Armored Snow White but just... another Bella Swan. And that really hurt this film. Also let's be honest here - Kristen Stewart is not half bad looking but any magic mirror which would consider her fairer than Charlize Theron is certainly in a dire need of deep magico-psychiatrico-ophtalmological revision...)))

The Huntsman also has now a bigger role in the story. Chris Hemsworth plays him here as basically a slightly downgraded Thor with some Han Solo elements. Initially there were thoughts about a sequel and therefore the Huntsman was supposed to develop feelings for Snow White and the setting for a love triangle was even established - but the total lack of any magnetism between Chris Hemsworth and Kristen Stewart is so obvious here that any possible romance between those two seem to be absolutely excluded.

The dwarfs are OK I guess, with a good role of Bob Hoskins as their leader. They too are very different from the dwarfs from both 1937 movie and from the original story - they are also not exactly nice characters.

The film contains one unnecessary scene of travelling through sewers, with a very explicit explanation in WHAT exactly the characters are swimming. Honestly, it grossed me out...

Bottom line, this film is watchable, but mostly for Charlize Theron. Most of the scenes with other characters, you can fast forward without losing much. A film to see once (if at all).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different from what I expected - but so much fun., 7 Nov. 2012
When I saw this as the cinema I was expect a Disney style movie but Snow White and the Huntsman is a very different film. It's a much darker fairy tale with all the traditional characters subverted. The dwarves are no longer just a bunch of happy friends... But the story is a battle between the strong personalities of two women. The queen is a much more rounded character and Snow White is a modern heroine breaking out of the confines of a fairy tale. The middle part of the film is a bit slow, but this is an action packed intelligent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Deryn M. Husker "Deryn" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not sure what I was expecting but found I was hooked from the outset. With continual twists & turns in the storyline
I could not tear away my eyes from the screen, Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews