Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weller continuing to push the boundaries
Massive Weller fan, as I am, I have to give Paul a huge amount of credit for continuing to expand and explore the limits of his compositional ability and sound. This is a raw, uncompromising album and has divided fans and critics alike. It's a challenging but rewarding album if you give it time and effort. If you're expecting a "Wild Wood" or "Stanley Road", however,...
Published 15 months ago by A. Sweeney

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aw Come On....
The man is an icon, should be hailed as a living national monument... Yet despite all the outpouring of support from so many who try to find excuses for what amounts to junk... experimental, not more of the same,Listen to Phil Collins if you want, just dont say Paul has lost it....Well I want to listen to Paul, but aw come on... the first three tracks on the album are...
Published on 12 April 2012 by David S. Haazen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weller continuing to push the boundaries, 31 Dec 2012
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
Massive Weller fan, as I am, I have to give Paul a huge amount of credit for continuing to expand and explore the limits of his compositional ability and sound. This is a raw, uncompromising album and has divided fans and critics alike. It's a challenging but rewarding album if you give it time and effort. If you're expecting a "Wild Wood" or "Stanley Road", however, you may be sorely disappointed. It's a largely upbeat album, with lots of jarring guitars and attitude and combines much of the influences demonstrated in "22 Dreams" and "Wake Up The Nation" in one roller-coaster package. My favourite tracks are the extremely catchy "That Dangerous Age" and the busy, frenetic, Spanish-flavoured rock waltz, "Drifters". Not the best album Paul has ever released, by any means, but there's something about his willingness to experiment and the bang up to date sound of this album that really appeals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weller keeps on giving, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. A. P. Jennings (Berkhamsted, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
I was worried that after the genius re-wiring of the Weller muse on'22 Dreams' and 'Wake Up the Nation' this might be something of a disappointment. Another 'Heliocentric' or something. Wrong! Wrong! Wrong! Apart from the dreadful cover he doesn't put a beat, chord, riff, or note wrong. More listener friendly explorations into the further reaches of his musical know-how, very much of the quality of the previous two LPs, with extra dub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very catchy album, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
one of my favorite Weller albums. Some refreshing and catchy tunes to be had! A lovely companion for a long drive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Weller, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (MP3 Download)
After many years of being a Weller fan I think this is the best he has ever made, it's excellent I listen to it an awful lot I have a hard copy CD I have a copy on my Kindle and my phone, Truly EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonik Kicks - Paul Weller . Modernistic Pop Art music for he 21st century..., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
Modernistic Pop Art music for he 21st century.
No Chuck Hammer or Rober Fripp though P.W. carries on in a differing way syill Waking up The nation with Sonic Sounds and drifting through experimentation and softer meanderings and vocalisms at times verging on a Bow bells dickensian knees up,Psychedelia rushes and Pop-Art interjections.

Weller hones his craft wih some Poetic passages but not primed with Wellers histor of Poliical satire and observation of the British way of life,whether working,middle or upper class comment, or a world problem awareness a la "Savages".

I reckon the next long player may feature those apparatus of moving on with those foundations that Paul will always continue to explore from time to time - A march onward from Wake Up The Nation.

I wonder if A Barn Studio or Fame type studio session of a few tracks on the Following Album/LP/Disc might add to the cornocopia of soundscapes and feel ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sonik kicks cd, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed sonic kicks. I liked the catchy lyrics the rasping vocals and the huge range of musical sound backing resonant of 22 dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great! Still growing stronger, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
Old style Style Council remembrance mix easy with a strong new album in which every number stands and has a different atmosphere and sound. Very, very nice ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Mal (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my friends birthday and they love it. It made my friends day.

Thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. K. Masters (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
I bought this for my partner and was relieved to find he didn't have it already (top marks for me). He hasn't listened to it yet, otherwise it would have got 5 stars possibly. Arrived quickly. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars big fan, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
happy with price of cd and a big fan of artist so enjoy listening to cd, no faults to report.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Sonik Kicks
Sonik Kicks by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews