Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super kettle - once TCP dealt with
This kettle has a really good lid mechanism (a let-down in our previous kettle), boils quite quickly and quietly, and feels well made. The handle is good and the "on" switch has a bright light - quite attractive! It is light - many kettles are just too heavy for my rather weak wrist - and pours and fills well. The only problem was, as noted by another reviewer, a strong...
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by Choosy

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lid fails to open after only one month's use.
Just how hard can it be to design something that will boil water quickly, quietly and without leaking and which will allow you to fill the device easily? Perhaps Dyson need to design kettles... well perhaps not.
I did a load of research into the best kettle and chose this one because it had nothing but great reviews at the time (about 6 weeks ago). However, after...
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by Andrew Fish


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super kettle - once TCP dealt with, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
This kettle has a really good lid mechanism (a let-down in our previous kettle), boils quite quickly and quietly, and feels well made. The handle is good and the "on" switch has a bright light - quite attractive! It is light - many kettles are just too heavy for my rather weak wrist - and pours and fills well. The only problem was, as noted by another reviewer, a strong taste of TCP even after many boilings. Research elsewhere revealed this is due to a release agent on plastic mouldings, which clings through any treatments with water alone but can be removed using bicarbonate of soda. Added two teaspoons, water up to max level, boiled once more and the taste has gone! Many other kettles, even stainless steel ones, apparently suffer from funny tastes and all seem to be curable by this method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't ask for more from a kettle, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
It's hard to get excited about a kettle but I'll start by saying that this is a great product for the price. If you're looking for a 'decent' kettle that will last, then I'd say that this is a safe bet. The kettle itself feels well built (including the lid which can sometimes be a bit flimsy on cheaper models). In terms of it's function of boiling water, it boils fast.

You may have seen this kettle advertised with 'eco' label/branding which initially confused me (easily done) as I assumed it must have a special function, but all it means in this case is that they've reduced the amount of water required for the water level to measure 1 cup. I guess someone realised that you don't need to boil 1 litre of water in order to make a single cup of tea/coffee so they did it correctly!

A couple of things to note about this kettle:

- The grey handle is made of non-slip material (not coloured plastic) which is good for the safety concious / clumsy
- The spout filter is removable for easy cleaning
- It has a concealed element at the bottom which makes it easy to descale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lid fails to open after only one month's use., 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Andrew Fish "AJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
Just how hard can it be to design something that will boil water quickly, quietly and without leaking and which will allow you to fill the device easily? Perhaps Dyson need to design kettles... well perhaps not.
I did a load of research into the best kettle and chose this one because it had nothing but great reviews at the time (about 6 weeks ago). However, after only one month's use, the button which releases the lid to allow the kettle to be filled into the open jug failed. It had got progressively more difficult to release the catch which allows the lid to open using the button on the handle, to the point when the lid couldn't be opened at all. The only alternative you have is to fill the kettle via the spout. Given that the filter is in the spout it means that filling kettle takes much longer and water gets sprayed everywhere.
As far as I can make out, the button releases two catches which secure the lid down to the kettle. The mechanism inside the lid has either failed or "stretched" which means that the two catches cannot withdraw when the button is pressed and the lid stays shut.
I see now that a number of other reviewers have found the same problem with their kettles and this appears to be a design fault.
I shan't be asking for a replacement as the fault is likely to reappear.
I have sent the kettle back for a full refund, including postage, as the item is faulty.
I am now off to design a cheap device which will boil water. It looks very much like a saucepan. Now there's an idea!
Because I had to send this back after a month's use and because it wasn't fit for purpose and appears to have an inherent fault then it can only warrant 1 star. Sorry Kenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent everyday kettle, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
BS (Winchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
This kettle replaced a cheaper plastic model that had to be returned to tesco because of the foul taste of plastic it left in every cup of tea. No problem with this Kenwood model, no residual taste left, very quick to boil, maybe not the quietest electric kettle but noise levels are acceptable and at least it doesn't take long! The best part for me is the handling, the filter removes easily but fits securely, the lid snaps closed with a solid feel, no danger of it opening as you pour and the handle has a rubber finish that is pleasantly secure and tactile. All in all a well designed and well made product. We are very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kettle and a Which? Best Buy, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered this kettle because it is a Which? Best Buy and I have not been disappointed. It is easy to fill and use. The only drawback is it only just fits under my filter tap (It's about 2mm too tall so pushes the tap up slightly when it is on the drainer beneath the tap).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat kettle, 2 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
Good design, lightweight but well made and looks smart but functional. Boils quickly and pours without spilling. Long term use, will have to wait and see, but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Low Cost Kettle, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
Previously had an expensive eco kettle that was leaking. Looked for a replacement and this kettle was a 'Which: best buy. And it certainly is. Simple design easy to open lid and lighted switch when on. Would certainly recommend this kettle to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars item faulty, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
I've only had this kettle a short while and already the light on the switch doen't work and the lid sticks badly so that it is very difficult to open. If I simply return it then I will be without a kettle and that is awkward.
Please let me know what can be done.
Valerie Kent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange taste, 9 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
Have used the kettle about 6 times now, having followed instructions & first boiled 4 times & thrown away water afterwards.
However, the water still tastes of TCP after boiling. Not sure whether to keep.Very disappointed as I thought this was a mid range priced kettle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just my kettle of fish!, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White (Kitchen & Home)
We have two of these Kenwood JKP210 kettles. In my opinion it is close to the perfect kettle as long as you are happy with a plastic rather than metal variety. As I see it these are the pros and cons of the JKP210;

Pros

- Nice "soft" design with a large easy grip rubber-like handle and water indicators on both sides of the kettle. You can see how full it is from almost any direction, and, I suspect this would be a helpful feature for left-handed people.
- Capacious - the 1.6L, 3Kw design means fast boiling, although, you can boil as little as 1 cup at a time, and, it's very fast.
- The element is concealed so the interior base is smooth for easier cleaning, and, if needed descaling.
- The base is truly 360 degree. You can put the kettle on the base from any angle plus you can store excess cord in the base avoiding unsightly extra cable and improving safety.
- The spout is generous and makes pouring easy, and, you can either fill the kettle from the spout or the button controlled lid. There is also a neat, washable, mesh filter in the spout to screen out limescale etc.
- It has a nice large switch with a bright, white LED indicator.
- Which? Consumer Association recommended kettle.

Cons

- Can sound a bit "furious" in the final stages of boiling.
- Looks practical and smart but not "premium" like some expensive metal kettles.
- Nothing else I can think of.

In summary, a really good kettle with excellent ergonomics and performance at a reasonable price. Hard to fault. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kenwood True JKP210 Kettle - White
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews