Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sparky metal gotta love it
Cleaver bit at the bottom

Two different types of metal,
Rub them together, get a spark,
Do it near anything flammable,
And voilà FIRE!!!!!!

Pyrophorics are substances that spontaneously ignite below room temperature.
Iron is a pyrophoric and it reacts with oxygen, normally we see as rust.
When you rub the two pieces...
Published 16 months ago by Rattatouie

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not the best choice if not used flint and steel before.
This product would be difficult to use initially if you had no experience with getting sparks from flint and steel as there are no instructions. Like most flint and steels initially you must press the steel quite hard onto the flint to produce the sparks. Once you have got the flint to spark it works fine.
Published on 30 Mar. 2013 by george judd


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not the best choice if not used flint and steel before., 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
This product would be difficult to use initially if you had no experience with getting sparks from flint and steel as there are no instructions. Like most flint and steels initially you must press the steel quite hard onto the flint to produce the sparks. Once you have got the flint to spark it works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
Just don't be expecting too much from this.... I've struck it up once in a demo to students and frankly " it was sufficient" it got a fire started. However the flint seemed to wear exceedingly quickly.... So I'm saving it till I genuinely need to use it .... Guess you gets what ya pays for....I'm not complaining about this I'm just highlighting that it works but maybe has it's drawbacks too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
Given one star so this item can be reviewed.
Having read so many positive review attached to this, I was surprised it was so bad. There's a small firestick deeply seated in the metal holder, as can be seen in the picture, which doesn't make things any easier. It was cheap to purchase but in this case, in my humble opinion, you get what you pay for! As for delivery: it took ages to arrive!
I decided to buy a more substantial 'Light My Fire' fire steel which proved both effective and useful albeit slightly more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheap for a reason, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
I have been using firesteels for over twenty years and this is by far the worst product I have tried. You can get it to spark with enough pressure but the spark simply is not a usable one. Simply as that really. Looks the part but useless. Spend a further few pound and save yourself the bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sparky metal gotta love it, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
Cleaver bit at the bottom

Two different types of metal,
Rub them together, get a spark,
Do it near anything flammable,
And voilà FIRE!!!!!!

Pyrophorics are substances that spontaneously ignite below room temperature.
Iron is a pyrophoric and it reacts with oxygen, normally we see as rust.
When you rub the two pieces together, you increase the speed of the chemical reaction(oxidisation).
The smaller the piece that comes off the greater its surface area is in comparison to its total size.
This gives you maximum effect because the surface will oxidise faster than it can dissipate the heat caused by the reaction.
That is what u are actually seeing as sparks, steel dust igniting as it reacts with the oxygen.
And look at that science has made FIRE!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fire steel's ok, 24 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
the actually flint part is rather small, but then i only paid £3 and it does work, where i paid £8 for another brand which has more flint but doesnt work as well as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already using it!, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
Straight out of the packet, I was using this Flint & Striker to set fire to stuff in the garden (Safely mind you!). It definitely works! For the £2-odd it's money well spent. I've got another one as well for backup. This will help a lot when out camping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
Although this product is cheap, it's cheap for a reason because basically, it's very hard to get it to work (there are no instructions). I had bought this as a cheap alternative for my son who liked his Dad's expensive one but I should have saved myself the bother and bought him the same one as his Dad as this is just about useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch., 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Bill Aitch (West Mids., UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
I give it 5 for good reason, despite it being a whole week late. It was due 09/01/14, but was not dispatched until 08/01/14. It finally arrived 17/01/14. For only £1, I did not bother to chase it. I am now so happy with this product, I will certainly be purchasing more of 'em. I need one for the office cooker, which is gas, another for my caravan cooker, and one for my primus, etc.

Some reviewers have had a problem with this item. It took me only a few seconds to clear an adequate measure of the protective coat by means of the serated edge. It then sparked at the second, or third stroke of the smooth edge. It only needs a scratch of an inch long cleaning, then it will last a lifetime. The best £1 I have spent so far this century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes Some Practice, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liroyal Fire Steel Flint & Striker SAS Survival Tool Kit - Outdoor Camping Living Survival Tool (Misc.)
I was initially disappointed as I couldn't get it to spark. The trick is to scrape away the protective coating, then use the short sharp end with a lot of pressure running down the length of the shaft. Don't use the serrated edge to spark, use this to rough-up the flint first. Good product, very cheap and arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews