Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value
I've been buying a single set of similar inks from a different company for about the same price. I've been really happy with the results but I thought I'd give these a try to see if they work as well. I like to experiment. These arrived from the seller INKSBROKER very quickly and in good order. Installation was easy and my Canon Pixma 5350 accepted them with no...
Published 12 months ago by Spiff

versus
59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a level playing field - choose a supplier carefully!
ORIGINAL REVIEW JULY 2013
LAST UPDATE FEBRUARY 2014

In June 2013 a set of inks was purchased from Prestige Cartridge as part of a research project into the quality of compatible cartridges for the Canon 525/526 series. They were the cheapest of the eleven suppliers listed. Nine images and a colour palette including greyscale were printed on Image Digicolor...
Published 9 months ago by Tel


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a level playing field - choose a supplier carefully!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
ORIGINAL REVIEW JULY 2013
LAST UPDATE FEBRUARY 2014

In June 2013 a set of inks was purchased from Prestige Cartridge as part of a research project into the quality of compatible cartridges for the Canon 525/526 series. They were the cheapest of the eleven suppliers listed. Nine images and a colour palette including greyscale were printed on Image Digicolor card using Canon Pixma iP4950 and MG5250 printers with the test cartridges and compared to the same prints from Canon cartridges.

The inks were very poor which was surprising in view of the many favourable reviews already posted. Amazon currently describes the cartridges as "by ECS" which suggests that all the suppliers are selling the same thing. This isn't the case. Each seller sells what they like and quality varies considerably. Many join the listing to sell a job lot, often of various mixtures or inferior quality and then leave which accounts for the large turnover of suppliers. To obtain a higher profile some pay extra to be "Fulfilled by Amazon". This isn't an endorsment by Amazon and may not be the best sellers to buy from.

Over the following months, and to try to find good quality, we bought cartridges from four more suppliers, choosing only those with an Amazon customer rating of at least 97%. Below is a summary including how we rated them at the time based on a combination of quality, price and service. Because compatible cartridges are not usually branded, for identification we have designated them A, B and C. The best ink we found was Brand A followed by Brand C. Since these tend to appear and disappear from the listing we give links to other Amazon listings where they can be obtained.

SUMMARY

BVH Direct. BRAND A 5.74. Supplied loose. Our rating 10/10
Not only were these inks very good value when we bought them but a considerable plus was that the firm was willing for customers to specify their own colours. However, the offer didn't last. BVH changed to Brand C and have since withdrawn from the listing.

Wantmoreink - Delcomcomputers. BRAND C 6.29. Cellophane packed in sets of 5. Our rating 7/10
The inks were good value at the price. Interestingly, the firm originally said they were offering continuity of supply which they based on a claim that they were themselves importing the cartridges in considerable quantities. Shortly after that they withdrew from the listing!

Prestige Cartridge. BRAND B 4.78. Supplied loose. Our rating 4/10
Like BVH they were willing for customers to specify colours. They were good communicators and anxious to please but they were also keen to be the cheapest and quality was sacrificed as a consequence. Subsequent sets we bought were a mixture of different and mainly poor quality cartridges. Is not currently listed.

Inksbroker. BRAND A 5.52. Supplied in boxed sets of 5. Our rating 9/10
The boxed sets give an assurance of quality (which you normally pay extra for!) but the firm doesn't, therefore, offer the facility to specify colour combinations. That said, this is the best value we have currently (Jan 2014) been able to find anywhere on Amazon but is not always listed.

Ink Jungle. MIXTURE 5.56. Supplied loose. Our rating 5/10
The colours and pigment black cartridges supplied were Brand A, and the photo blacks Brand C. Based on previous tests, this particular combination should be acceptable but firms who mix brands usually do so indiscriminately and are best avoided. Mixtures can significantly affect printer function and the quality of printing.

THE BRANDS

Brand A.
We first tested these cartridges about two years ago. The ink is of good quality but we found that it varies from one manufactured dye batch to the next. From about the beginning of 2013 the cyan has been biased towards blue and relatively weaker than the yellow and magenta. The main effect is to produce prints with significant 'warmth' and a reddish cast in areas of grey. To a large extent this can be remedied by altering the printer settings. (See below) The prints then have very good colour rendering and high vibrancy. Most of the prints from our last test were as good as those from Canon ink. Many we liked even better which confirmed the impression we have had for a while that it is the best compatible on the market. Although perhaps unsuitable for professional use because of the variable colour balance, overall it is a very attractive low cost alternative to Canon. See the review by Spiff. Brand A is widely available elsewhere on Amazon. Click this link The image may be helpful to find prices from other suppliers and to check the cartridges when you receive them.

Brand B.
The cartridges were of poor quality and contained inks that were weak and dried slowly. The photo black, especially, had a tendency to run which led to prints of lower detail and smudging at contrasting edges. Some banding was quite noticeable in an area of bright blue sky in one print and to a lesser extent in other prints. The magenta caused a blockage of the printhead on two occasions - not good news! Unreliable printing could be a problem especially if the printer isn't used often. The inks were reasonably well balanced and for most images there wasn't a benefit to alter the printer settings but the quality was poor and most of the prints looked muddy when compared to Canon. The cartridges are widely available but under several different labels which makes them hard to identify - and therefore to avoid! It is likely that many of the negative reviews which have been posted are a consequence of reviewers buying this brand.

Brand C.
The cartridges can be found unbranded and also under the "Jetplay" label. Both our earlier suppliers supplied this minus the usual boxes. The ink is of good quality and in several respects similar to Brand A. It produces very pleasing prints that are a closer match to OEM than you would normally expect to find from a compatible. Many people will be unable to distinguish one from the other. However, greens are slightly emphasised which if necessary can be reduced by increasing magenta in the printer settings. Compared with Brand A, the cartridge appears to be not quite as reliable, but certainly acceptable, and the inks are a little less vibrant. Neither has a pigment black that is as intense as Canon but that is probably the case for all compatibles and unlikely to be an issue except for the most demanding of professional work. Brand C is available elsewhere on Amazon. Click this link

THE CARTRIDGES

We have used more than one hundred cartridges covering the three brands reviewed to date. Non were as good as Canon. The main difference is the quality of the sponge which can affect the flow of ink. Canon tends to tolerate being kept in the printer for much longer. The problems we experienced with the compatibles included a failure of the printer to recognise the cartridge, ink spills and leaks and blockage of the printheads. Brand A cartridge was very reliable, Brand C a close second and Brand B a poor third. In all cartridges the chip performed identically to Canon with ink level announcement. Brands A and C were still printing satisfactorily when the printer stopped and announced the ink might be out.

PRINTER SETTINGS FOR BRAND A

Click on Printers and Faxes in the Control Panel and click on to your Canon printer
Click Printer
Click Printing Preferences
Check the box Color/Intensity Manual Adjustment
Adjust as follows:-
Cyan +3
Magenta -9
Yellow -4
Click OK

Footnote: From the beginning of 2014, Brand A cartridges we have bought have had a changed colour balance producing prints without the reddish cast referred to. We do not know if this is a permanent change. Check your prints and make adjustments to the printer settings if required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value, 11 April 2013
By 
Spiff (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
I've been buying a single set of similar inks from a different company for about the same price. I've been really happy with the results but I thought I'd give these a try to see if they work as well. I like to experiment. These arrived from the seller INKSBROKER very quickly and in good order. Installation was easy and my Canon Pixma 5350 accepted them with no problems.

I printed basic black text from a 300dpi standard colour formated page in Photoshop CS5. I examined the print for the clarity of the text on ordinary inexpensive white paper. This is a good indication of how quickly the ink formula will dry because slow drying ink will bleed and make text a little blurry. Most modern formulas dry very quickly while older formulas dry more slowly. It's not always easy to tell with a full colour printing.

Poor quality or old-school ink will print black text poorly because it tends to soak deeper into the paper and spread out before it starts to react with the air and dry. It becomes fainter with each passing minute until it's stable. Poor quality ink can reveal a kind of photocopy effect on cheap paper because it reveals the inconsistency of the paper itself. You'll see patches of light and dark areas. Here, I printed onto a medium quality paper and I'm very pleased with the results. You can however see that it's inkjet. I do get the same results with Canons own ink so it's on par with Canons. You'll need top end quality paper to make text look professional.

When it comes to printing colour photographs, the faster the ink dries the more detail is retained. You might have noticed that your full colour pictures don't look as good after drying? That's because the ink has soaked in and spread out. To test for drying time, I also check for the depth and consistency of the tone of a solid printed colour. I printed onto (of all things) cheap Poundland glossy photographic paper. It was 1 and has been sitting on my shelf for a few weeks. What the heck, I'll give it a try. Sometimes cheap cartridges will leave banding marks or produce colour inconsistency and you only see it easly when you print a single hue. When you print a single hue, especially a dark red you can really examine what the print heads are doing and even see how the printer track rollers are interacting with the paper. I do see a few roller marks here and there but other than that, I don't see any oddites in print quality.

I also checked to see if the inks are bright and cheerful by printing some yellow flowers that I colour enhanced in photoshop. This is an indiciation of the optical brighteners which are ink additives which chemically react with the ink formula to make the colours brighter and more pleasing to the eye. Their are a variety of additives that manufacturers can put into ink and the more they use, the more expensive it is. So when you buy ink this cheap you have to wonder where they cut corners. However, the colour image was instantly dry with good detail and colour brightness. I can't say it was worthy of publication in National Georgraphic but it was nice. Or I should say, it is more than good enough for my everyday printing, considering how cheap both the ink and paper are, you can't go wrong. I'm more than satisifed with the results.

Hope this helps someone a little. If you like my review, please click the button to say that you found it helpful. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Really pleased with my order. Ink was of high quality,and i was pleased with the volume of printing i was able to produce for such a small cartridge.Really easy to use with my printer, no fuss and well packaged. Delivery service was prompt. Would certainly be using again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money, 12 Aug 2012
By 
A. J. Maclean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Superfast delivery. Ink cartridges were instantly recognised by my Canon printer. No mess, no fuss and inks printed just as bright and clear as the recommended Canon ink cartridges do. Also got the same volume of printed material from these cartridges as I do from the Canon cartridges so the verdict is - why buy the expensive 'recommended' cartridges when you can buy these superb value for money cartridges? Highly recommend this seller and I will be buying more cartridges from this seller as soon as I need some more. Many thanks, June
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So far.. so good..., 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Canon inks are annoyingly expensive. I have taken a gamble with these lower priced compatible inks. The build of the cartridges are of a poorer quality, but at the price charged, it is to be expected. Cartridges slotted in easily and off we go.

First thing I did was a print check. Print on paper and blank cd/dvd are of reasonable quality. Not as rich in colour depth as the original brand, but the difference is minimal.

For normal, everyday use it is great. But, if you are looking for replacement inks solely for the purpose to print high quality photos, then this is not the product for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as Canon's but half the price!, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. M. J. Waple "Marc" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Well worth the money, I wont be using the Canon's again as there is no difference in the print quality.

M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Excellent value.
Good results.
Unbeatable price. I will certainly be buying more WHEN they run out!
I highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Why pay a fortune for brand names, these are just as good - no noticeable difference from originals including photo prints would definitely recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
Simply perfect .. The ink cartridges are filled to the top and work perfectly. Simply insert the cartridge into the printer .
Thank you very much .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wasn't impressed, 20 Jan 2014
By 
S. Jones (lancashire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Set of 5 Canon Compatible CLI526, PGI525, Printing Ink Cartridges - for CANON PIXMA IP4850 IP4950 MG5150 MG5250 MG5350 MG6150 MG6220 MG6250 MG8150 MG8220 MG8250 MX885 IX6550 Printer Inks PGI 525BK, CLI 526Y, CLI 526M, CLI 526C, CLI 526BK,) WITH CHIP READY FOR USE (Office Product)
i buy generic inks for cheap, everyday printing...
i only use canon's when i need full quality prints.
i've bought quite a few for this printer over the last 18 months and have been quite happy with them.
this particular brand were the same price as the other cheapo inks,
when they arrived one of the cartridges had a slight leak. this didn't bother me too much as things like that can happen,
these catridges have two compartments in them, one full of foam filled ink and one just full of ink which leeches into the foam.
however, out of the 10 cartridges there were about half a dozen where the foam insert in the cartridge was clean foam,
ie they were not filled correctly... so i wont be buying them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaa70498)

This product

Only search this product's reviews