Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good horror
As creepy places go I think empty shopping centres are quite near the top of the list- a la empty hospitals and hotels. This story is set in a huge empty shopping centre and does not disappoint ratcheting up the tension page by page. The blurb does not hint at quite how depraved our nasty little hero is, be aware that this is definitely not for the faint of heart but for...
Published on 28 May 2012 by seagull

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much padding
the first half of this book is amazing, i thought i was in for the best read ever. Then the second half was just padding padding padding... i skipped chapter after chapter to find nothing had happened. Its like it was a fantastic short story... turned into a long boring book. What a shame, I couldn't put it down, then i couldn't wait for it to end. SO first half,...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by MacGifferbag


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good horror, 28 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
As creepy places go I think empty shopping centres are quite near the top of the list- a la empty hospitals and hotels. This story is set in a huge empty shopping centre and does not disappoint ratcheting up the tension page by page. The blurb does not hint at quite how depraved our nasty little hero is, be aware that this is definitely not for the faint of heart but for those who dare it is one night of bloody horror via mobile phones.
A nice original and easy read if you can stomach it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
This book had me hooked from start to end. Where others have criticised the way the author focuses on the background on some of the characters, I think it just adds to the depth. Not a dull moment throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed reading, 30 Jan 2012
By 
c anderton "chris81" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
From the first page the book grabbed me. Very fast paced which kept my interest high. The bad guy is really brutal and the way the chapters change between different characters viewpoint meant we could understand how/why they were acting as they did.

As long as you are not easily disturbed by cruel acts of torture it is worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shopping malls might never feel safe again, 14 Jan 2012
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
Mallory, a 19 year old girl, has spent the afternoon shopping at the mall with her 13 yr old sister Jenna. Not long after leaving Jenna alone for a few minutes she receives a chilling text message from her sister's phone telling her that she has been kidnapped. Mallory is forced to perform a series of increasingly bizarre and humiliating tasks in order to keep her sister alive.

Text Message is a decently written thriller. The pace of the story is relentless and you almost don't get a chance to stop and take in what has happened during one situation before another arises. However, in terms of realism, there are some parts of the book that aren't very credible. I won't go into details as this would spoil the plot for you but I think you do need to be willing to suspend a need for everything to be accurate and realistic and just enjoy the story for what it is.

Mallory is well developed as a character and Mr Malmborg does a great job as creating empathy for her; In many scenes you can really feel her pain, frustration and humiliation. We are also given a good insight into the background of the perpetrator and thus can comprehend how he justifies his actions to himself.

There are some fairly graphical scenes which some readers might find unpalatable and if you shock easily then this book might not be for you.

Overall, it was very easy to turn the pages here and to quickly get involved in the story. If you enjoy this style of book then once started, you will find it difficult to put down - I read it from start to finish in just one day.

There are a few spelling and grammatical errors, but I have found this to be the case with many Kindle books. As long as you don't let them bother you then it doesn't detract from what is ultimately a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would make an exciting film., 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
Mallory and her sister Jenna are shopping in a Chicago mall. They separate whilst shopping and Mallory receives a text message from Jenna's phone. Mallory has a choice, ignore the message, phone the Police or play the game. She chooses to play the game and this roller coaster of a thriller starts.

Text message is all about a sadistic game played within a shopping mall. It is a fast moving thriller set in a short time frame, less than 8 hours. I liked the structure when each new chapter was from the viewpoint of another of the 3 central characters within the same time frame. You get the actions and thoughts of Mallory, a security guard called Dan and Mr Edwards the sadistic game master. Although the pace is fast, there is plenty of back story on each character so you can get a handle on what drives each person. The tasks that Mr Edwards sets for Mallory to play are a sexy challenge and the punishment for failing is very sadistic.

I really enjoyed reading Text Message, it gave a lot of pleasure and I think it would make an exciting film. This is an entertaining read and the games Mr Edwards wants Mallory to play will make most men smile with desire. Women readers may find the games creepy or embarrassing though.

William sets the scene of the shopping mall very well and captures the mood of all the people working there. I have often wondered if things other than shopping is going on in the background within shopping malls. Now whenever I hear a text message notification sound, I will wonder if another game is taking place. Text Message is a very good read and I vote it the top score of 5 stars.

Text Message is available as an Amazon Kindle eBook of 658 KB and was written in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt put it down!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book & it was free so even better! The suspense in the book was great and you didnt know what was coming next. Very good read for fans of saw the "grusomeness" of the book and the playing games is a fantastic part of the storyline! Would highly recommend this book. Bit of an abruot ending although didnt ruin the book leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, well worth a read ., 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
I am amazed this book was chilling and yet there was humor. I loved the ending, brilliant! Keeps you guessing all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disturbingly sick read., 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book ive read by this author and boy was it good. This saw-like story kept me gripped from the start and did until the end. The whole concept of it taking place in a shopping centre and the female character being stalked by a mobile phone was a great idea that keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the story.
I would certainly say it is a sick storyline which i liked for a change and is certainly not for the weak hearted.
The only down point id put on the book is to me it seemed a bit of a weak ending like other people have said,but overall a fantastic book. Keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much padding, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
the first half of this book is amazing, i thought i was in for the best read ever. Then the second half was just padding padding padding... i skipped chapter after chapter to find nothing had happened. Its like it was a fantastic short story... turned into a long boring book. What a shame, I couldn't put it down, then i couldn't wait for it to end. SO first half, fantastic, second half drawn out, boring, predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pacey, demanding but needs work, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Text Message (Kindle Edition)
As serial killing psycho's go, this villain is one of the maddest I suspect. Not for the faint-hearted, the story contains various flashbacks detailing the horrific abuse he suffered at the hands of his perverse paedophile Mother. The fast paced narrative and the way the chapters are written from the main characters points of view works well.

However, the grammar and spelling are both substandard in some areas. For instance, repeated misuse of your/you're and the use of undo instead of undue, amongst other errors, indicates the author needs to do some serious proof reading and checking.

Worth a read if you are not easily shocked (or irritated by poor English)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Text Message
Text Message by William Malmborg
2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews