Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Book!
A newly married English woman is taken out of her comfort zone by her husband to live in a struggling developing country in Africa. The lavish and occasionally decadent lifestyle of the expatriate community soon palls and she gets involved in a slum project witnessing the poor living standards endurred by the locals. This is a thought provoking book and a fine example of...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Felicity R

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written
Nice enough story, but very badly written. I gave up part way through. Felt like reading a 16 year old's fairly mediocre English essay
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. Sylvia Hoad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Book!, 8 Jan 2012
A newly married English woman is taken out of her comfort zone by her husband to live in a struggling developing country in Africa. The lavish and occasionally decadent lifestyle of the expatriate community soon palls and she gets involved in a slum project witnessing the poor living standards endurred by the locals. This is a thought provoking book and a fine example of excellent writing. It is essentially a love story but with an important message. The author writes in a way that grips you from the start, and makes you laugh and cry as you keep turning the pages to find the next twist in the plot and sub-plots. I was stunned by the impact it had on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 3 Jan 2012
This intriguing book cleverly combines the story of a young English mother
who is whisked away to a lavish new lifestyle in 'expatriate' Africa with the
background of the reality of life for the poor in an African slum.
It is witty, honest, sometimes incredibly sad, and has a very powerful
message at the end.
Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing insight into African problems, 10 April 2012
Single mother Jane married Robert after being introduced to him on his six week annual leave. John Ellwood Nicholson's debut novel tells of her adapting to ex-pat life, getting to know her new husband as well as the problems faced in Africa.

The contrast between the luxurious ex-pat compound and the struggle for daily survival in the slums is starkly portrayed. Through Jane's work in a nearby slum, the reader learns about life for families crammed into unsanitary rooms, children orphaned by AIDS or outcast from a society that still believes disability is caused by evil spirits. You also quickly realise that corruption and bribery is an accepted way of life. At times the novel reads like a lecture on what causes the problems in Africa and what could be done to solve them.

I thought the novel was a fascinating insight into the difficulties of African life but felt that the dialogue between the ex-pat characters was a weakness. I found Jane's interaction with the slum project workers was much more believable. Nevertheless I did enjoy the novel and would recommend it to anyone with an interest in the problems facing present day Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 29 Jan 2012
A thought provoking read, with a realistic insight into life in Africa. Some powerful messages and disturbing statistics which will get you thinking. The author obviously knows his subject well and had me gripped from the first page. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Where The Weaver Birds Fly (Kindle Edition)
Nice enough story, but very badly written. I gave up part way through. Felt like reading a 16 year old's fairly mediocre English essay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Weaver Birds Fly (Kindle Edition)
Quite possibly the most embarrassingly badly written book I've read since I attempted (and failed) to plough my way through 50 Shades. Verging, at times, on downright racism I cringed at how the author portrayed most of the African characters. The relationship which pretended to be at the centre of the book was far-fetched but since it was impossible to care about the characters it didn't really matter. Finishing the book could be compared to watching a car crash...we don't want to do it, we know it's wrong but horrible fascination keeps us glued. My advice to any prospective buyer is don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 11 Jan 2012
This book gave me a new insight into the everyday difficulties and hardships experienced by many people in Africa. A story which is at times very funny but with a serious and often sad message. The author has clearly researched his subject and offers some solutions which really could make a difference. Very enjoyable and thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bored Heather, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Weaver Birds Fly (Kindle Edition)
This is by far the most boring book I have ever tried to read. Its poorly written and dull. I kept thinking perhaps the point of the story would develop but unfortunately it didn't. The writer bangs on endlessly how corrupt the African Government,people and organisations appear to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Struggled to get to end, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Weaver Birds Fly (Kindle Edition)
Badly written, characters portrayed in stereotypical manner which at times were racist, thin storyline which is used for the author to promote his views on aid to Africa. I don't know why I stuck with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Set in Africa, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Weaver Birds Fly (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book because it had an interesting title and was set in Africa. It was also a very cheap download (which is never a good reason for choosing a book)! I found the insight into the problems of poverty and providing aid to Africa very interesting and at the same time very depressing. Unfortunately this is all interwoven with the story about a group of unpleasant ex pats and I had very little sympathy for any of the characters. Even Jane, the main character was very flawed and her story lacked all credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5344534)

This product

Where The Weaver Birds Fly
Where The Weaver Birds Fly by John Ellwood Nicholson
1.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews