Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Race to Save The Olympic Games
The 2012 London Olympic Games are due to start. Everything has been meticulously planned and ready to go. The London Organising Committee for the Olympic Games (LOCOG) is a client of Private International's London branch headed by Jack Morgan with Peter Knight chief investigator. They organise security ,investigation issues backed up by expert scientists and forensic...
Published on 19 Jan 2012 by ACB (swansea)

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terryc
This is one of James Patterson's poorest ever. Full of inaccuracies, and an opportunistic attempt to create a very poor plot, very hurriedly written and poorly researched, on the back of the Olympics. His collaborator's chapters, and you can mostly tell whose they are, are really poorly crafted.
It was a struggle to finish this book. Still, most of his are excellent...
Published 22 months ago by Terrence Carter


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Race to Save The Olympic Games, 19 Jan 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 2012 London Olympic Games are due to start. Everything has been meticulously planned and ready to go. The London Organising Committee for the Olympic Games (LOCOG) is a client of Private International's London branch headed by Jack Morgan with Peter Knight chief investigator. They organise security ,investigation issues backed up by expert scientists and forensic facilities. All seems in order until the gruesome decapitation of Sir Denton Marshall in his back garden, a key figure in the LOCOG. He just happens to be the fiance of Knight's mother. Knight has already lost his old boss Dan Carter and colleagues in a suspicious plane crash. Marshall's death seems linked to the Olympics. Enter a character calling themself Cronus, a titan,on a mission to destroy the Olympics and their modern ideals believing them full of arrogance, cheats and corruption. Cronus is fixated with a destiny that is "fated,chosen,gifted by the Gods. I am clearly a being superior in every way" and with a small following ('The Furies'), is hell-bent,by whatever means to carry out the threat.

The race is on to find the perpetrator of the heinous acts that follow before the Games are forever tainted and destroyed. James Patterson (JP) unveils the protagonists of the action, and action there is aplenty. Fast paced throughout, the chase is on to reveal Cronus's identity and put a stop to further destructive, murderous activity before it is too late. Patterson details Cronus's past that has created this single-minded fanatic and the cold-blooded way he recruited 'The Furies' who are devotees of the obviously intelligent Cronus. They are just as ruthless if not so devious or methodical in following Cronus's plans. JP's narrative is full of colourful characters beautifully developed and woven into the story in a way that keeps the reader (as well as the investigators, police and MI5) puzzling and best-guessing how and which way the plot will unfold. In this novel, Patterson is at his masterly best in creating a thrilling and suspenseful battle of wits and intrigue. There are enough sub-plots, sideways turns and surprises to keep the pages turning rapidly until the twists occur in climactic moments that were unexpected (by me anyway). The Greek themes that pop-up are topical and add spice to the tale. A few unlikely events in the Olympic Park but that's Mr Patterson & co-authors' poetic licence. A cracking read. Recommended highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terryc, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Terrence Carter "TerryC" (Loughton, Essex,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of James Patterson's poorest ever. Full of inaccuracies, and an opportunistic attempt to create a very poor plot, very hurriedly written and poorly researched, on the back of the Olympics. His collaborator's chapters, and you can mostly tell whose they are, are really poorly crafted.
It was a struggle to finish this book. Still, most of his are excellent reads, so I suppose you can forgive the odd rogue effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another ten hours of my life I will never get back!!, 25 Sep 2012
Poorly written with a plot that was quite predictable coupled with very weak characters ,and the ending had me laughing out loud it was so ludicrous. It was almost as if messers Patterson and Sullivan had a brainstorming session to see who could come up with the most implausible way to kill a villain, my wife gave up reading it after about 70 pages if only I'd had the good sense to follow her lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Private games, 4 Oct 2012
This is one of the worst book I have ever read. The plot is unrealistic and very contrived and factually incorrect in many places. England dosen't participate in football in the Olympics. It's team GB. And they would never win!! I would give this book no stars if I could . Don't waste your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Private Games, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Eileen Irwin (Renfrew Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so disappointed in this book after having read Private and Private London. I found it boring tedious and a predictable tale sorry James you are making a big mistake pairing up with Mark Sullivan. Maxine Paetro is simply the best and Mark Pearson created a fantastic character in Dan Carter how dare Mark Sullivan kill him off. Get back on track otherwise I will be speaking to Jack Morgan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why did I bother?, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Malcolm Souter (Berkshire.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Games: (Private 3) (Kindle Edition)
I nearly always try to finish a book that I have started to read but I do wonder why I bothered to struggle through Private Games. It was poorly written and so implausible as to be laughable. The basic idea of the plot could have been used to produce a thrilling book but the characters were not developed and the plot had so many convenient and completely unrealistic turns that the reader is left with the view that the author did not plan the book but made it up as he went along.
My recommendation - don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing poorly written nonsense., 24 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. David G. Summers "Dandms" (Tonbridge, Kent, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have long been a fan of James Patterson, and I thought I was buying his work. But it is co-written by James Sullivan and I wonder how much Patterson wrote! The story centres around the London Olympics which renders the story line of doom and disaster all the more unbelievable post the actual event. The story line and events are just not credible, beyond even the wildest imagination. The series of killings and their manner are just not believable and the ending, where the villain dies in a fight with the hero by a lightning strike to a leatherman tool stuck in his eye. A stupid badly written and constructed tale, not worthy of Patterson's sponsorship. In future I will stick by my rule of never buying a co-authored book - I have always been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly terrible, no redeeming features whatsoever, 22 Aug 2012
This review is from: Private Games: (Private 3) (Kindle Edition)
If I could award this book less than 1 star I would, it is, by a long way, the most awful book I have ever read. There is a laughable plot set at the 2012 London Olympics featuring an insane madmen intent on the destruction of the "Olympic Spirit". Every single character, even the "hero", is made entirely from cardboard. Cardboard of such a low quality that you could probably better describe it as toilet paper. Despite this limitation the author still manages to make almost everyone thoroughly dislikeable in every way from the self centred jerk of a hero to his nauseating children and vile mother he offers absolutely nothing for the reader to care about other than prospect of a long joyless slog to the eventual ridiculous conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No continuation from Private 1, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Private Games: (Private 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book follows a completely different set of characters to the first 'Private' book - which I was not expecting - and so found myself disappointed from the outset.

However I persevered but just didn't warm to the new characters and wasn't enamoured with the story either.

Judging by the other amazon reviews there are clearly divided opinions, but for me I suppose I couldn't get over the disappointment of buying a second book in a series only to find no recurring characters - others may be more forgiving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PRIVATE GAMES, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Knight is Chief investigator of the firm Private London, who are providing security for the 2012 Olympics. Knight is called to the scene of the ruthless murder of Sir Denton Marshall, a man who was serving on the Olympics security committee, and on a more personal level was engaged to Knight's mother. It soon appears evident that the Olympic Games itself is under severe threat from the killer, a man intent on revenge.
I find that it is hit or miss with James Patterson, really enjoyed the last book I read by this author(Kill Me If You Can) but this one not so much. Admittedly a good storyline, but felt it was a little disjointed and somewhat of an anticlimax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private Games: (Private 3)
Private Games: (Private 3) by James Patterson
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews