Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yakuza, a wild and wonderfully wacky Japanese curio
I love the Yakuza games, they are very quirky and the closet thing to playing shenmue in this generation of consoles, this chapter plays like a hybrid of Resident Evil and Yakuza, sadly that also includes slightly clunky controls too. So far enjoying the bonkers story and side quests, would def recommend to lovers of bizarre cult Japanese games and humour
Published on 18 April 2012 by Mr J E Martin

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies Everywhere!
A spin off title in the "Yakuza" ("Ryu ga Gotoku" in Japan) series, Dead Souls focuses on a "what if" scenario where a zombie outbreak occurs in Kamurocho.

Featuring characters: Kazuma Kiryu (main character in most Yakuza games), Goro Majima (also a character since the start), Ryuji Goda (of Yakuza 2) and Shun Akiyama (of Yakuza 4); they each play a role in...
Published on 3 Jun. 2012 by zyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yakuza, a wild and wonderfully wacky Japanese curio, 18 April 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I love the Yakuza games, they are very quirky and the closet thing to playing shenmue in this generation of consoles, this chapter plays like a hybrid of Resident Evil and Yakuza, sadly that also includes slightly clunky controls too. So far enjoying the bonkers story and side quests, would def recommend to lovers of bizarre cult Japanese games and humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good if you're a fan of the series, if not..........maybe give it a miss?, 1 Nov. 2012
By 
Sheepy (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I'll start by saying I'm a huge fan of this series, and long may it continue, there really is no other game series currently like it.
So after recently completing Yakuza 4, I decided to get this mostly out of curiosity. Yes I heard the bad reviews, but come on......it's a Yakuza game, it has to be that bit special.

First impression - the bad reviews were a bit unfair. This is not a "bad" game at all. In came the characters we'd come to know from the other games, and again it was set in that part of the city, which if we'd played the other games, we'd come to sort of love.
Here though came one shock. It is a very uneasy feeling to see that city, the setting of many gaming memories, completely trashed and crawling with zombies!

The characters had the same old quirks, and the locations were familiar - but this is set a bit after Yakuza 4 so some building work had been completed.....I won't give too much away. It was the familiar city.
Perhaps it's taking it too seriously, but it almost felt strange that there were different girls in the hostess clubs. Maybe Chihiro had graduated from college and Rio's blog had taken off and she was now earning serious money, but anyway, that is being way too analytic.

Back on track, storyline it's a Yakuza game, and if you've played others, you know pretty much what to expect - lots of cut scenes and crazy humour.

Gamewise however, unfortunately, it is flawed. Too many zombies at one go and the console will almost grind to a halt. The shooting is painfully bad - and it is near impossible to be accurate.
One big downside is that the side missions are frankly "go out, shoot zombies, get back". The possibility of boredom quickly is high.
That isn't to say they aren't worth attempting, and some are really funny. For an unchallenging sidequest and comedy value, speak to the still human hostess club barker you will see inside the contamination zone.

So in all, if you are a fan, it's worth a bash. If you are new to the game, I'm not so sure. This might put someone off the whole series, as this is quite a departure from the norm.

It also has to be said, that this is not the best zombie game out there by any means. Better perhaps to play left 4 dead, which frankly Yakuza Dead Souls pinched many ideas from.

Really though - just buy it. It's at a good price now, and the extra sales will hopefully persuade Sega that it's going to be worth localising Yakuza 5 for the west.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie bashing time, Japanese style!, 16 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I've played all the Yakuza games and when I found out they were making a Yakuza zombie game I was stoked!
And having played on the game for awhile it is AMAZING!
Great how they have adapted shooting into the game instead of just all combat moves (which don't get me wrong is amazing) and what gave Yakuza the style it is today.
Give this game a try, amazing graphics, video scenes and great gameplay and is alot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies Everywhere!, 3 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
A spin off title in the "Yakuza" ("Ryu ga Gotoku" in Japan) series, Dead Souls focuses on a "what if" scenario where a zombie outbreak occurs in Kamurocho.

Featuring characters: Kazuma Kiryu (main character in most Yakuza games), Goro Majima (also a character since the start), Ryuji Goda (of Yakuza 2) and Shun Akiyama (of Yakuza 4); they each play a role in trying to stop the outbreak.

The gameplay changes from what Yakuza is mainly about--fighting. Instead, you now mainly use guns, from shotguns to gatling guns. Returning is the upgrade system, not only for the player character; but now for weapons and armour. Dead Souls still uses most of the familiar Yakuza systems of inventory management, playable mini games (such as: Mahjong and Gambling), and the familiar setting of Kamurocho (although somewhat changed due to the outbreak).

With the main mission of stopping the outbreak, there are side quests of helping people with their problems, should you choose to do so.

Bad points of the game include the character animation, where once hit, it takes you a couple of seconds to get up and move. Problem with this, is that any object sent towards you will knock you down. This state of always getting hit by something will repeat this animation until you are clear to move away--which can lead to you losing quite a lot of health. Another bad aspect of the game, a minor for most people, is that you cannot change the control setup. You will have to aim with the left stick, instead of the shooter standard right stick.

Nonetheless, the game is fun and any Yakuza fan should play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best game in the Yakuza series, 4 Aug. 2014
By 
E. Wilders (Hull, NH, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Not the best game in the Yakuza series, but definitely worth playing on if you're a fan of the series and certainly an interesting offshoot from the main games. Also, one should note that there is no English-language voiceover on this game, so you have to read the subtitles to understand what they're saying if you don't speak Japanese. I actually quite like it since it makes it a bit more authentic, plus I'm a fan of foreign-language films. But it's not for everyone, so beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ON A PAR WITH 3 & 4, 25 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I was somewhat apprehensive over this game having read mixed reviews. However as a fan of the previous games once I started DEAD SOULS all my doubts dissipated. This is a YAKUZA game plain and simple; the qame is massive as usual with all the side-quests not to mention new ones. The only real difference is the fighting being replaced by shooting. However this in no way ruins the game and if anything makes a nice change especially if you like zombies and/or a tongue-in-cheek slant on survival horror. Considering the game is now budget priced (15 quid most places) and the DLC that came with the Limited Edition is now FREE on the Playstation Store you really can't go wrong. I've knocked a point off as like Yakuza 4 the main location is the same city and let us face it things really haven't changed that much since Yakuza 3. But as I've said if you are a fan of the series you will find very little to complain about here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant at a cost!, 26 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
First i would like to say I have completed all the Yakuza games (1,2,3 and 4) so i am a massive fan! The reason i love these games is because they remind me of the legendary Shenmue and obviously the story in these games are great. Dead souls however is different, you can still walk around the city however you cannot fight anymore as you can only use guns. Not a problem...however what lets this game down is the actual camera. It basically makes the experience slightly frustrating. However i fixed this by setting the camera to auto.

The reason i have given this a 5 star is not only because the story is funny, but because i love the characters especially Majima. The game itself is great fun and i recommend this to any Yakuza fan, however this is not for everyone as some may feel the game is broken or doesn't live up to recent zombie games like dead rising 2 or Left for dead.

....feel the heat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Came on time, and very promtply, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Not quite what i expected but still a decent game, yakuza 3 is better though in my opinion ha ha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
NIce shooter this one. A bit different from all the other yakura games. It's a mix of shootergame and beat-them-up kind of game. You still have all the side quests similar to the former ones but adapted to this game's story line. Easier to play than the other ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love yakuza games, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
i love the yakuza series and this was no different, more of a shooter its a great spin on the games if you love them as well and need something to pass the time before the next yakuza game is released in the uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3)
Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3) by Sega (PlayStation 3)
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews