Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
92
4.5 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation Vita|Change
Price:£8.46 - £32.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2012
First things first, this is an arcade game. There's no ifs, ands or buts about it - Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is a game that is intended to be picked up and played with immediate accessibility, and given the fact that it's a portable title, it's all the better for it.

Visually, VT4: WTE is a stunner. Despite the fact that it's running on a handheld system, it looks absolutely gorgeous from start to finish. The character models are flawlessly rendered, and player animations are up there with anything we've ever seen on a home console. Colours are bright and vibrant, making excellent use of the Vita's OLED screen and, perhaps most importantly of all, the game runs without dropping so much as a frame during play.

In terms of what's offered from the game's play modes, there's certainly enough here to keep players of all interest levels happy. If you're planning on really getting stuck in, then the World Tour mode is the one for you. Here you'll be able to create your own player based on a pre-existing character model, with the option of taking a photograph of yourself and placing it onto your character, creating the novel experience of genuinely being part of the game.

Over the Tour's five seasons (four regular seasons and one break season where you'll have the chance to take part in a future stars tournament), you'll need to perform as best you can if you're going to end up as highly respected as the big name players like Roger Federer, Raphael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. The overall tone of the game is certainly light-hearted, with optional fancy dress matches cropping up every so often, for example, which encourage you to get a little bit crazy with your outfit. It's touches like that which really make the game stand out on its own, away from the other offerings in the genre, and it's one of the reasons I love it so much.

The main reason I love it, however, is the fact that it plays like an absolute dream. With relatively straightforward controls meaning that you're left to worry about your on the court performance rather than contorting your fingers, it really is a joy to play. No matter what play mode you opt for, there's always something new to see or do, and lessons to be learned.

Aside from the World Tour mode, you can also take on a series of different single player modes, such as the obligatory Arcade Mode, as well as all the usual online modes (which play perfectly over WiFi), and the impressive new Vita exclusive play modes. While I'll be the first to admit that these modes are more gimmicky than anything else, there's a lot of fun to be had with them - if only for their innovative use of the Vita's technology. For example, you can play a match in first person perspective, where moving the Vita around will let you look around your in-game surroundings. It's a really novel experience and, somewhat surprisingly, it's one that works really well when it comes to actually playing, even if you will spend most of your time moving the Vita around in your hands.

Another innovative game mode is the two player tabletop tennis offering, where you and a friend can take each other on using a single Vita. The court is viewed from a top down perspective, and you control your player's movements by dragging your finger around the court. You hit the ball by flicking in the direction you want to hit it in a timely manner. It's simple and it works. Arguably it's the most enjoyable feature to use in order to show your Vita off to jealous friends!

Ultimately, if Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition was a PS3 or Xbox 360 game, it would probably feel a little hackneyed due to its somewhat dated control scheme and it's arcade persuasions, but the fact is that it lends itself superbly to the portable nature of the Vita. It's made for being picked up and played in short bursts with friends or alone, and that's really what handheld games are all about. If you want something with a more serious tone, or that has more depth and difficulty, then this might not be for you, but when it comes to Vita launch titles, this is right up there with the very best.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
I'm not a big tennis fan in terms of the sport itself but this game is a must buy, the graphics are awesome and definitely match up to the PS3. There is so much game-play and it never gets boring. You have a world tour mode, arcade mode, exhibition and loads of fun mini games which will give you hours and hours of game-play, you will not be disappointed. Plus for all you trophy hunters there are over 40 trophies to achieve most of them quite easy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
I just received my PS Vita and Virtua Tennis 4 in the post this morning and thought I should give a review of this game in case people are thinking of buying it. The graphics are absolutely stunning, I'd go as far to say possibly some of the best I have ever seen in a sports game, not only on a handheld (definitely the best) but also on the home consoles. The gameplay is great, too. Being an old-school gamer I haven't really used the support of the touchscreens for the game as of yet, though I'm sure I will at some point. The world tour mode is a nice take on the career aspect, slightly different from what I remember in previous iterations. The trophies (which I love competing for) are interesting and challenging and add an a bit of longevity to the game. The online mode is also good, although as I haven't had much experience in this so far, that is all I can say. In my opinion, if you're looking for a great game that you will be picking up again and again, give Virtua Tennis 4 a shot.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
A game like Tennis only really caters to a niche group of people, granted it is more arcade style which makes it more accessible. I won't lie I've only had it for 2 days and played for just a few hours, however my initial "wow this is good!" impressions soon turned to yawns and frustration. The frustration comes from the difficulty, EASY is too easy, up it to normal and most games are pretty easy still but some are ridiculously hard, and it seems to be that your opponent always moves where you are going to hit it before you actually hit it. This I do not think is through learning my play style or anything its simply that the AI is being given input from where I'm aiming. The difficulty spikes too much. I ran through the Arcade mode without getting beat then it took me 6 tried to beat my last opponent and I gave up on the exhibition match at the end because it was making me want to smash my Vita. I'm no pro tennis player but I used to be damn good at Virtua Tennis on the Dreamcast.

Another gripe of mine is the back of the case says "New Vintage Tennis Mode" BUT little bit of advice SEGA DON'T MARKET MODES ON THE GAME CASE THAT YOU HAVE TO UNLOCK IN THE GAME! Whats worse is you are not given any explanation of HOW TO UNLOCK IT! What are we supposed to do? play every single portion of the game for hours in the hope that we will randomly unlock it?? I still don't know how to unlock it and can't find out from Google.

It isn't a bad game but it has problems.. For under £10 its worth it, but if I paid full price I wouldn't be happy at all.

The main positive thing to say is that it can be fun for a time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
First things first, this is an arcade game. There's no ifs, ands or buts about it - Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is a game that is intended to be picked up and played with immediate accessibility, and given the fact that it's a portable title, it's all the better for it.

Visually, VT4: WTE is a stunner. Despite the fact that it's running on a handheld system, it looks absolutely gorgeous from start to finish. The character models are flawlessly rendered, and player animations are up there with anything we've ever seen on a home console. Colours are bright and vibrant, making excellent use of the Vita's OLED screen and, perhaps most importantly of all, the game runs without dropping so much as a frame during play.

In terms of what's offered from the game's play modes, there's certainly enough here to keep players of all interest levels happy. If you're planning on really getting stuck in, then the World Tour mode is the one for you. Here you'll be able to create your own player based on a pre-existing character model, with the option of taking a photograph of yourself and placing it onto your character, creating the novel experience of genuinely being part of the game.

The main reason I like it, however, is the fact that it plays like an absolute dream. With relatively straightforward controls meaning that you're left to worry about your on the court performance rather than contorting your fingers, it really is a joy to play. No matter what play mode you opt for, there's always something new to see or do, and lessons to be learned.

Aside from the World Tour mode, you can also take on a series of different single player modes, such as the obligatory Arcade Mode, as well as all the usual online modes (which play perfectly over WiFi), and the impressive new Vita exclusive play modes. While I'll be the first to admit that these modes are more gimmicky than anything else, there's a lot of fun to be had with them - if only for their innovative use of the Vita's technology. For example, you can play a match in first person perspective, where moving the Vita around will let you look around your in-game surroundings. It's a really novel experience and, somewhat surprisingly, it's one that works really well when it comes to actually playing, even if you will spend most of your time moving the Vita around in your hands.

Another innovative game mode is the two player tabletop tennis offering, where you and a friend can take each other on using a single Vita. The court is viewed from a top down perspective, and you control your player's movements by dragging your finger around the court. You hit the ball by flicking in the direction you want to hit it in a timely manner. It's simple and it works. Arguably it's the most enjoyable feature to use in order to show your Vita off to jealous friends!

Ultimately, if Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition was a PS3 or Xbox 360 game, it would probably feel a little hackneyed due to its somewhat dated control scheme and it's arcade persuasions, but the fact is that it lends itself superbly to the portable nature of the Vita. It's made for being picked up and played in short bursts with friends or alone, and that's really what handheld games are all about. If you want something with a more serious tone, or that has more depth and difficulty, then this might not be for you, but when it comes to Vita launch titles, this is right up there with the very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
This game exceeded my expectations. It's really quite fun, and as tennis games go, this hit the spot. You can play as the current crop of tennis players, to which I don't know that many; but that's not so important.

The games online features are robust. To play a quick online match you start playing a game of tennis with the computer, and then when another player is found, a new game starts.

This game also features mini-games, which I believe are included in previous iterations of this series. They work well, and are reasonably fun. One mini-game uses the PSVITA's gyro-controls.

You can create and customise your own player. You can even take a photo of your face using the PSVITA's camera, and apply this to your own character.

Overall, a fun tennis game with decent graphics to boot. Highly recommened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
I got this after trying it our for about 60 seconds in-store. The graphics a very impressive, mainly during actual gameplay rather than the close ups on the faces of the players. It's the player movements that make it really quite realistic and the controls are well designed.
Loving it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
I would agree with most of the other reviews- this is essentially a great arcade sports game that very nicely demonstrates the Vita's capabilities. The graphics are beautiful and virtually the same as the PS3 version, which is very impressive by itself really. The game is fun with a lot of minigames and different playing options, and the "board game" style World Tour mode is very entertaining.

The only medium-sized drawback is the difficulty settings, as pointed out by several other reviewers. The issue is that the "casual" difficulty gets much too easy once you've got the hang of the basics, but upping it to "normal" difficulty makes some matches (the four main French, Australian, England & US contests in particular) almost impossible to win. To counteract this I've begun playing an entire season on "normal" difficulty for a decent challenge, then just before the big tournament at the end of the season, quitting to the menu screen and changing the setting back to "casual" so I actually have a good chance of winning it.

It's a shame they couldn't get this a bit more balanced, but other than that, I'm really enjoying the game, especially for £5!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I bought this game expecting the standard virtua tennis style gameplay (which honestly hasn't changed much since the first installment on the dreamcast) and that is what I got...brilliant! If it aint broke, don't fix it!

I personally have come to enjoy the likes of Top Spin 4 on the PS3 over virtua tennis, however a good arcade tennis experience can be found in VT4 on the vita. The gameplay is slick and responsive and has various difficulty levels for all types of players. I have not owned the full console version of VT4 so I can't really compare game modes across platforms, however there are various modes to keep all kinds of players entertained.

The true gem in this game are the visuals...WOW! This really is a beautiful game and is quite possibly the best looking vita game, even when you throw KZ: Mercenary into the mix! The textures are crisp and are extremely close if not on par with PS3 graphics. This game truly shows off the graphical capabilities of the Vita and does not drop the frame rate at all!

For the price of this game, even if you are not a big tennis fan, this is well worth picking up for a bit of fun and to see just how good your little vita is!!

Great game!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Stunning graphics on the PS Vita game (my first ever!) Loads of different modes to play, tournament, practise etc,. At present, as a newbie, I can`t even beat Laura Robson yet, let alone "The Fed". Highly recommended and a showpiece game for the PS Vita!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.