Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying read.
The first book in the retrievers series, following the lives of Guenevere "the Wren" Valere and her business partner Sergei Didier. Wren is a retriever, a nice way of saying thief, who uses current (magic) to help her achieve the reputation as the best in the business.
The wonderful world that the characters inhabit is full and vibrant, creating a rich believable...
Published on 24 Jun 2009 by John Nunn

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Staying Dead
Wren is a Retriever, someone who specialises in finding missing items, no questions asked. In a world where magic (Talent) is a not so well kept secret.

For the first 107 pages of Staying Dead I was going to give it 2 stars. I just couldn't connect with the story. Maybe it's because Wren seemed isolated which made it difficult for me to warm to her. Exceptions...
Published on 3 Feb 2007 by Lesley70


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Staying Dead, 3 Feb 2007
Wren is a Retriever, someone who specialises in finding missing items, no questions asked. In a world where magic (Talent) is a not so well kept secret.

For the first 107 pages of Staying Dead I was going to give it 2 stars. I just couldn't connect with the story. Maybe it's because Wren seemed isolated which made it difficult for me to warm to her. Exceptions are when she's interacting with other characters - her meetings with PB, and the Wizzart, let us see she's not just a two-dimensional cut-out character.

On page 108 Wren calls on Perry Mason and Lord Peter Wimsey for inspiration and suddenly the story is off and running. It's after this point that Wren and Sergei (her business partner) start to interact more as a team and it's in exploring their relationship that the story really works. When they are together there is a depth and pace that's missing when they are apart.

In the last sixty pages the story really picks up (if only it had been like this all the way through I would have given it 4 stars). The ending is poignant and leaves this story nicely tied up with enough plot threads left dangling to entice the reader to pick up the sequel.

On the plus side - it's a well thought out Universe populated by interesting characters - the fatae (supernatural beings) have a small role here but there is the feeling they will play a bigger part in future books.

On the minus side - I feel the story is let down by poor editing, especially in the first half of the book. Overuse of certain words distracts from the flow of the writing and 100 pages is a long time to wait for a story to get going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying read., 24 Jun 2009
By 
John Nunn (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The first book in the retrievers series, following the lives of Guenevere "the Wren" Valere and her business partner Sergei Didier. Wren is a retriever, a nice way of saying thief, who uses current (magic) to help her achieve the reputation as the best in the business.
The wonderful world that the characters inhabit is full and vibrant, creating a rich believable environment where magic exists alongside all the trapping of modern life. Whilst not setting any sort of record in the pace department this great novel keeps you enthralled until the very end where the pace defiantly picks up for a perfect ending that wraps up the main plotline but keeps you ready for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., 12 Sep 2008
By 
Kelly "I am a busy mum of 2 under 3's, audio ... (Paulton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I picked up this book expecting something different to what it was. I have seen some really good reviews.

I thought the plot was good, if a bit unexplained. Wren Valere is a Retriever, who specialises in finding things, things sometimes don't want to be found and sometimes people don't want things to be found. Wren's business partner (handles the 'jobs' and finance} is Sergei and there's a fair amount of sexual tension between the two. The will they, won't they between Sergei and Wren was a bit tiresome.

I have since read the next two books in the series but wasn't overly impressed. Won't be picking up anymore, unless it was an exceptional bargain :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grows on you, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staying Dead (Luna) (A Retrievers Novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was a bit dubious at the start of this book butI think the character and plot grow withthe reading. I plan on gettign the next one along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNIQUE FANTASY FEMALE CHARACTER, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staying Dead (Luna) (A Retrievers Novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Finally a fantasy FEMALE CHARACTER who is not 'drop dead gorgeous.' The thief and hot handler, join together in a truly unique partnership. The plot wasn't brilliant but the characters were. Hopefully there will be a sequel soon. ( I hate reviews that reveal most of the plot, it takes away the incentive to read the book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staying Dead (Luna) (A Retrievers Novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book by an author that's new to me. A young woman with magical talent is hired to retrieve a stolen object.. with a hint of romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews