Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an adventure!
An excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The storyline is about the Lorenz family's French adventure in their wide boat with their 2 small children. The excellent descriptions brought the scenery and events to life and the engaging characters of the family and the people they meet are delightful. i hope there is going to be a sequel?
Published on 20 Nov 2011 by Heather PH

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good continental trip
This is the second book I have read about people travelling along canals, This is a good read, could have been enhanced by more maps, as not knowing the continent I found it difficult to visualise where they were. A good mix of descriptions of towns, their history and local wildlife flora and the people they met. Lots of mention of the children's lessons, but not their...
Published 19 months ago by P J Selby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an adventure!, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The storyline is about the Lorenz family's French adventure in their wide boat with their 2 small children. The excellent descriptions brought the scenery and events to life and the engaging characters of the family and the people they meet are delightful. i hope there is going to be a sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barging into Europe., 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
The voyage of 'Pauline' the Lorenz family barge through europe makes for very interesting reading for those of us who would very much like to do the same one day.
The family manages to combine boating with a great deal more exploration around the canal. I like the description of the countryside and towns with the many little illustrations which complement the story.
I read the book mainly on my mobile phone, and it was the perfect companion for any journey. A must-read for all boaters.Snail's Pace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good insight into family life aboard a historic vessel. The familiy's adventures and day to day activities are described in detail. What a way to spend a year travelling through Europe via the waterways and learning how to speak different languages. I wonder if the children are still fluent? A good read for a wide variety of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Journey, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
As I read, I travelled with this family on their journey along the waterways of England to the canals of Holland and France. It was all brought alive by the charming pictures all drawn by the author herself. A lovely read for boat people and travellers alike- especially those who might need a bit of encouragement to keep exploring the world after having children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue Flag, the Journal of the Dutch Barge Magazine Review, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
Blue Flag, the Journal of the Dutch Barge Magazine Review:
Gabrielle Lorenz's gentle account of a year`s sabbatical with husband Paul and their two lively young children Rosie and Joshua, cruising Europe's waterways aboard their 130 year old English barge is a joy to read. Calmly she takes in her stride the family's crossing of the North Sea in a tiller-steered barge and later their journey across the treacherous Ijsselmeer.
This is not a book of `daring-do' and high adventure but is rather about the minutiae of day to day life with a couple of kids. Many of us know Paul and Gabrielle and think of Rosie and Josh with affection. I remember asking Josh, at the time just a little 7 year old boy, how he and Rosie were managing, having to speak French at the village school in St.Symphorien. "Oh, we don't bother to speak French", said Josh airily, "me and Rosie play really interesting games together and all the others want to join in. We tell them they can only play with us if they speak English"!
"Snail's Pace" is an attractive book and one I am pleased to have on my bookshelf, and on a practical level full of useful ways of keeping young children entertained and occupied.
Tam Murrell, Blue Flag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Wonderful Journey, 8 Jan 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent read about the Lorenz family boating through europe on 'Pauline' their historic boat. The descriptions of the scenery,food and local events, complemented by the lovely illustrations are delightful. The children really seemed to enjoy 'boat school' I am sure they will always remember this great adventure. If anyone is contemplating barging through europe, Snail's Pace is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (South West Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
This book is so well written that I went searching for more . . . and couldn't find any :(

Loved the whole story and found myself wanting to share it with others. Well recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
A lovely read, funny and entertaining, would recommend to anyone fancying an escape from the busy 9 to 5. Lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
As a canal/river cruiser, it was nice to read something written by a women's perspective.
I make a great read, once started, had to read it all the way through, as we are planning french trip in near future, it was very informative, and if nothing else, I have learned that getting bread can be hard and that we need to use a visa card out their.

If there is a second snails pace I would by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snail's Pace (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book immensely and was disappointed when i finished it. A lovely description of a families cruise on the continental waterways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snail's Pace
Snail's Pace by Gabrielle Lorenz
£1.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews