Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2007
This book gets off to a fast pace, when an armed gang try to knock off a securicor van, but get more than they bargained for. After this, the pace of the book falls off a lot, and I found the story became quite monotonous at times. I also found it hard to sympathise with the main character. The action does pick up a lot, however, towards the end.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shaun Hutson’s recent novel “Necessary Evil” is a complete return to form for the ‘Godfather Of Gore’. Obviously highly influenced by the recent events of terrorist attacks, Hutson delivers a powerful and compelling novel. From the very beginning, the reader is thrown into the fast-paced action with copious blood spillage on every page.
The tale moves around the main character Matt Franklin, who’s career is that of a professional criminal. Hutson uses this to create a somewhat cliqued character who resembles a less lawful Sean Doyle (Renegades, White Ghost, Knife Edge, Hybrid). With action and plot twists pumped into each page, it’s very difficult to put the book down once you start reading it.
Being a Hutson fan for many, many years now, I can safely say that this is one of his best novels to date. He has kept the energy and passion to shock and repulse his readers, creating this crossover between a thriller and a horror novel.
Running for a total of 468 pages, “Necessary Evil” is one of the longest novels he has written so far. Still, he manages to keep the tension mounting from early on in the story until the final dramatic conclusion. The novel does include a big flaw at the end involving compressed CO2 which Hutson believes is apparently flammable! However, this does not in anyway detract from the story, but will give the reader a bit of a chuckle.
Well worth picking up, especially if you’ve enjoyed previous Hutson novels.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2008
I read this in a ten hour session. One mistake ie Co2 is not flammable.
Also he keeps repeating words, in this one The Younger Man. crops up a lot.
Yes a good long yarn and a gripping read. I did enjoy the book immensly
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2008
Necessary Evil is the first and only book by Shaun Hutson I've read. It deserves a 4 simply because the story is gripping and makes the book difficult to put down - especially as chapters finish on a cliffhanger.

Unfortunately the power of the story is let down by several flaws. The most annoying is an amateurish writing style which I got used to but still sometimes made me stop and wonder why Hutson was writing so clunkily. The relationship between the criminal protagonist and a policeman felt like it'd been lifted straight from a cliched hollywood thriller. A part of the story where armed police rather than the SAS were used just didn't make sense, and the reason given by a character was weak.

Would I read another Hutson novel? Maybe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2004
Wow what a great read and a frighteningly accurate picture of what "might be". The chase through the underground system of London is so eerily close to home it really makes you think. Brilliant thriller, thanks.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2004
Having read all of Shaun's work, except Hell to pay, and those under pseunodyums, I can honestly say that this is the best I have read. The pace rarely falters, except for the occasional bit of schmaltz, but that's easily forgiven. The story is quite plausible, in a way, and the characters quite believable, even though there was scant sympathy for them. As is standard with Shaun's work, his liking for guns is obvious, but in this case, the detail seems part of the story and is barely noticed as scarily too much information. With its pace, good story, and 'average' characters, I thouroghly recommend this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2006
Not great. Found it rather predictable, with pretty thin characters. The final scene is based on the inflammability of carbon dioxide...which isn't inflammable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2005
An excellent story by this brilliant author. I had to check the date on the book as some of the events portrayed in the book have only recently just happened. It was so addictive that I started reading it one afternoon and took it to work as I was on night shift. By 5am the next morning I had finished the entire book and was left finally with a feeling of fulfilment and satisfaction. The sort of feeling you get when you have read a truly excellent piece of literature. Well Done to the author(again).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2004
A definite return to form for Shaun Hutson after the disappointing Hell To Pay. I received Necessary Evil on Thursday 1st July and finished reading it on 8th July. Although Shaun is referenced under Horror Fiction, most of this book could be Horror FACT! Terrorism is with us every day and how many government cover-ups are there? Gory/tense and thought provoking are several words I would use to describe this book. Roll on the next one Shaun.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Typical Shaun Hutson. Fast, furious and graphic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.