Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read
With more than its fair share of Magic and Monsters, Kate Griffith's offers up plenty of clever ideas and characters wrapped in a London that is recognisable, but never in a tour guide book kind of way.

For me, part of the fun in reading these books is recognising the places I live and play in all neatly wrapped in a believable, evolving mythology. It is this...
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by Starling

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Continuing, but not improving
I have given this book a 3 star review, but I really enjoyed it. If I were to read this book alone it was be 4/5 stars, but as part of this series, I think it is the weakest.

The story is a change of pace from earlier books and feels more like a marathon rather than a sprint in terms of what Matthew needs to achieve. Characters are not safe, and often turn out...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by TruffleMuffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars loving kate griffin's matthew swift and magicals anonymous books, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minority Council: A Matthew Swift Novel (Kindle Edition)
just recently discovered these books and loving them. Love the use of familiar london landmarks, the main character is interesting and find myself keen to know what happens next to him, story is developed well and flows at about the right rate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous mix, 28 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: The Minority Council: A Matthew Swift Novel (Kindle Edition)
...of urban magic,fantasy and edgy humour. Having read up to date in the series I have to wait with finger tapping impatience for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matthew Swift returns, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minority Council: A Matthew Swift Novel (Kindle Edition)
Another fantastic entry in the Matthew Swift series, so far each instalment has been better than the last. I'm looking forward to starting on the new series of books set in the same universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Kate Griffin, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The previous three Matthew Swift novels tap into the deep and elusive power that is London, and Kate Griffin's newest book doesnt let the reader down. You feel the magic and mysteries of London in a way that I think is rare and extraordinary.

The Minority Council is every bit as good as the preceeding three, with Matthew Swift (part urban sorcerer, part blue electric angels) once again beaten, struggling and yet powerful beyond belief, against a foe that tests him to his limits once again.

I couldnt put the book down, and I definitely and heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More magic of modern London, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minority Council: A Matthew Swift Novel (Kindle Edition)
After the slightly disappointing _Neon Council_, Kate Griffin is back in form. Magical politics, magical vigilanteeism gone accidentally too far - never get a seventeen-year-old to design your ultimate embodiment of justice - magical crack-houses ... new problems set in front of Matthew Swift, Midnight Mayor with a tendency to get into tight corners and escape them by going spontaneously mega-mystic in a way that embarrasses (often into small pieces) everyone involved.

Tightly-plotted, with endearing characters and a marvellous vision of London by an author who really loves the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A busy book, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the previous books in the series - the strength of The Minority Council lies in it's unusual premise and fresh take on modern magic and how it would fit in with City Life.

Dust - the latest drug of choice for magic users is suitably grimm, but the secondary plot with the Soul eating creature did not really add a huge amount. interesting way that Matthew chose to wrap up the issue though - showing he is not that different to the minority council.

The character progresses in this novel, finally taking on the reponsibilty of his office - it wil be interesting to see how this develops in later books.

if you enjoyed the previous books in this series then you will enjoy this. if you have not read the other books however i suggest you go back and buy a Madness of Angels as new readers may get a bit lost without the backstory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The minority council, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minority Council: A Matthew Swift Novel (Kindle Edition)
I have just read the four Matthew swift novels and have enjoyed them all. As a Londoner I can visualise the settings and almost feel the magic. I hope there are more midnight mayor books to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Continuing, but not improving, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Minority Council: A Matthew Swift Novel (Kindle Edition)
I have given this book a 3 star review, but I really enjoyed it. If I were to read this book alone it was be 4/5 stars, but as part of this series, I think it is the weakest.

The story is a change of pace from earlier books and feels more like a marathon rather than a sprint in terms of what Matthew needs to achieve. Characters are not safe, and often turn out to be much more than they are, and that was a really nice part of this book, that you couldn't really tell who was what. There were no huge battles in this book, but there was a lot of death and that made it quite a gritty read. I really enjoyed this book.

Those who have read the first 3 of this series will have their own opinions, but I think the change of pace/tactics put me off a little. I hope the author can keeps things interesting in the future. But it is my opinion that this is the weakest of the series so far (still going strong though), though, I should say, those that have enjoyed previous books should not be put off.

I hope I have conveyed a review of a good book, that is a little weaker than previous fabulous instalments of the series, because thats what this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minority Council by Kate Griffin, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all, I don't normally read books by female authors. They usually get the story muddled up with romance or dashing heroes but Kate Griffin's books on the saga of Matthew Swift are incredible. I'm so glad I discovered her. She knows the lesser known parts of London and the ins and outs of life on the streets and blends it all into a melting pot with her superb imagination and writing, her descriptive passages would make my old English teacher weep. The adventures of Matthew Swift the Midnight Mayor, sorcerer, with his blue electric blood (literally at times) and his down at heel shabby friends of all descriptions, the Rag Lady, the Beggar King,etc, his ability to talk to his wild friends, foxes, rats and pigeons, to use their eyes and senses as he wanders through London are well worth following and get better with each book. In the Minority Council he is settling into his position as Midnight Mayor and learning to flex the power it gives him, just as well since he is up against some of the Aldermen as well as others who wish him ill. And there is a new fatal drug in London. These are the best books I have read about magic and mayhem in London. I am waiting for her next with the same excitement as I am waiting for Jim Butcher's latest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews