Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Werewolves of Boston, 7 Mar 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Many urban fantasy writers include werewolves, fae and vampires revealing themselves to the world, but only a few actually look at how people would realistically react. Patricia Briggs' "Fair Game" gives us both a sobering portrait of how things might unfold AND a solid serial-killer thriller. The third Alpha and Omega novel has a suspenseful story at its core, but Briggs also provides quieter moments so her characters can breathe.

After having to kill several werewolves, Charles is beginning to crumble mentally; he's seeing ghosts and starting to give in to his bloodthirsty instincts. So he and Anna are sent to Boston on a special mission -- assist the FBI on a serial-killer case that has lasted decades. The killer initially had a straightforward pattern (Asian teenagers), but began including werewolves and fae. Each one was carved with witch symbols, raped, and finally murdered.

Now the human daughter of a high-ranking fae has been kidnapped, and the FBI/werewolf team has only hours to find her. But the case becomes particularly strange when they discover that a long-dead witch and a bizarre kind of fae may be involved in it. And unless they figure out who the killers are fast, Anna might be their next target.

"Fair Game" tries to tackle a lot of heavy topics -- prejudice, the cost of killing, and the way normal humans would see the "monsters." And honestly, Patricia Briggs does really well. She doesn't dip into any heavy-handed gay/racial symbolism, and she doesn't depict ALL humans as slavering racists or groupies either. Laurell K. Hamilton should take notes.

The plot is a heavy, fast-moving affair with a feeling of creepy, overhanging suspense, marred only by a few scenes where the characters seem to forget the crisis. It's heavy, dark stuff, made of blood, black magic and killers who are complete unknowns, winding up into a bloodsoaked, genuinely freaky finale. It also has a finale that is both satisfying and realistic, altering the dynamic of human/supernatural relations. Things won't be the same again.

But Briggs also inserts scenes that allow her characters moments of quiet and reflection. And occasionally, there's some gentle humor -- the chapters from Brother Wolf's POV ("No taxis for werewolves!", or Charles and Alistair singing a Welsh folksong after the rescue.

This book also addresses something that perplexed me about the previous Alpha and Omega books: how can a guy like Charles be okay with being an enforcer/executioner, and how can Bran be okay with sending his son to kill? Turns out they aren't -- Charles is haunted by the ghosts of those he killed, and at times Brother Wolf has to take over to keep him from losing control. Fortunately, Brother Wolf is adorable.

Meanwhile, Anna has developed a lot from the frightened, timid creature she used to be -- she's now stronger and more assertive than before. She even faces off against the Marrok. And Briggs populates Boston with a solid cast of characters -- the strong, capable Leslie, the feisty local Alpha Isaac, and the elegant ancient fae Alistair.

"Fair Game" took a long time to arrive, but it was worth it -- this is the sort of urban fantasy that we need more of. And it leaves you wishing you knew what would happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Other reviewers have done a good job in summarising the story. Suffice to say this is probably the best Patricia Briggs has written and rates as my current favourite of 2012 (given that I have enjoyed Eileen Wilks and other writers that is a good compliment)

She successfully weaves two different strands. There is the relationship between Charles and Anna which has been effected by his work as the Marrok's enforcer together with the hunt for serial killers of fae and werewolves. It is realistic and recognises the realities of a world where prejudice exists. I won't add any more as this will only give spoilers

The ending is truly outstanding and pulls off a real surprise that will be reflected in future books (Laurell K Hamilton please note!!). My only disappointment is that the book ended too quickly and I have to wait another year for an installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...Just Wow!, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Not many Authors could manage to pull of what Patricia has dared to do, and to do so well. Two have two series running along the same time-line with occasional references to each series and I hope that maybe, someday down the line some of the characters will overlap.

I knew that Patricia would ultimately find a way to take both of her series and bring the time-lines together. This is great and I think that it is going to make both of these series much more interesting. Especially if each couple can `invade territories' occasional!

Anna and Charles need to make a trip to Boston to help the FBI with a serial murderer that has taken out a few werewolves as well as many Fae. Anna is a great choice to send (along with Charles) for this job since she is much better at PR than anyone else is. Moreover, why wouldn't she be? Her Omega-ness will calm almost anyone and have them eating out of her hand, so it stands to reason that she will be great at PR.

Now Charles is having a problem that he (naturally) has not discussed yet with Anna. It has to do with the ghosts of the last wolves he has had to `discipline' and what it is doing to him mentally AND physically. It is not good. Charles guilt has the ghost feeding off him almost like vampires and this will hinder him at critical times.

It is great to see that Charles is able to use his Brother Wolf when Charles feels he can no longer handle things.

The story moves at what I think is a perfect pace, and allowed for the perfect amount of time to deal with everything on Anna and Charles's plate . Yet, I have to agree with one of the other fans...why wasn't this book longer?

Patricia has allowed Anna growth in very few books, and that is almost unparalleled with any other author and she has allowed us in this novel, to see Charles being vulnerable. This was an amazingly emotional novel as far as Anna and Charles goes, but it does have its usual humorous bits, informative bits and even occasional snarky bits.

This novel has one of the most exciting (although I don't mean that in the usual sense) endings that I have come across lately.

Just what will the Fae Princes proclamation mean for Mercy and the Fae on the reservation there and all the Fae that she knows? What is it going to mean in future books? Will it be important? I for one CANNOT wait to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charles and Anna go to Boston, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
FAIR GAME, which is book three in the Alpha and Omega series, a spin-off of the Mercedes Thompson series, takes place a little over a year after the last book. When we were last with Charles and Anna, Anna was just beginning to overcome the abuse she'd suffered at the hands of her first pack. A pack that had turned her brutally and deliberately knowing she would become an Omega wolf, in an attempt to cure their Alpha's crazy mate. Her treatment at their hands had left her a frightened rabbit. But with Charles' gentle but fierce support, she'd managed to make major progress on the road to recovery.

Cut to a year later and it's now Charles that's needing support. His job as the Marrocks enforcer has taken on new meaning after the werewolves announced themselves to the public. Harsher punishments are being issued and it's affecting Charles. Something Anna is only too happy to point out to the Marrock, aka, her father-in-law, Bran. Bran decides a change of scenery is in order and so sends them both off to Boston to deal with a problematic case working alongside the FBI, hoping this will give Charles and Anna the time they need to sort themselves out, and also as a good PR spinner.

Sounds like a plan to me.

I admit I was kind of saddened to see that Charles and Anna's mate bond was in jeopardy once again after the progress they made in the last book. They are so well suited to each other and such a sweet couple that I don't like to see them going backwards and regressing. But the mix of these relationship issues and the developing mystery/police procedural plot, made for good reading nonetheless. Even if some of the subject matter of the case was disturbing.

The pacing for the first three quarters of the book wasn't the fastest I've seen from Briggs, but the last quarter? Whoo hoo! That was some ending, I absolutely loved it!

I can't help noticing a few changes to the Mercy Thompson world that may effect the next Mercy book. I can't wait to see where Briggs is going with that idea.

4 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To interesting times..., 10 Mar 2012
By 
L.D. "***" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
To interesting times, indeed! It's some time since I took up a book and only put it down after reading it from the first page to the last - and mourning it wasn't longer. This book works on so many levels. The guilt of the enforcer, the charade justice sometimes makes of something and the best and worst humanity has to offer.
The characters are convincing and the story leaves you wishing for the next book to appear quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bl**dy brilliant, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. S. E. Harman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book works on so many levels. I am a huge fan of Patricia Briggs, and unlike some authors, she only gets better. I devoured this book in just one evening and night.

I cannot wait until the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, as always., 21 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Other people have written full reviews, so I will just *thumbs up*. Great continuation of the story, and I read it in one sitting! More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime, psychology, action, relationships - all here!, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've enjoyed all the Alpha & Omega and Mercy Thompson books to date and this is a fine development of Patricia Briggs' themes.
In a gripping, well-paced adventure the action takes place in a world in which fae and werewolves have gone public up to a point. This being a reflection of the "real"world, PR and managing the image the wolves present to the mundane population is hugely important. This has consequences for Charles Cornick and Anna, leading them neatly into the main story.

The "whodunnit" side of things is intriguing and suitably ugly. One of Ms Briggs' strengths is the way she brings all senses into play in describing scenes. I could feel my skin crawl as she described how the residue of black magic felt to the wolves, and my nose almost twitch at some of the descriptions of a "smellscape" at a crime scene.

Underneath the adventure layer is the continuing tension between Charles and Anna as they adjust to mate-hood and Anna develops both in confidence (with oh-so-many setbacks, poor thing!) and use of her Omega ability. This is no magic wand solving all situations, and it's a mark of the quality of the writing that Ms Briggs has thought about how the peace of the Omega could have different effects on the man/wolf aspects of those affected.

Overall, a really good read, rich in background but without sacrificing pace. And joy of joys, a great set-up for more books at the end! I am more than happy to wait for the next if it means it will be as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and engrossing, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Katy May (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I came to this after reading a rather laborious free thriller. It was a joy to be picked up and carried along by a fast paced, well written, well characterised story. I won't describe the plot, others have done that better than I could, but will say that it's a cracking good read and I can't wait for the next one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting For, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Charles Cornick has been his father, the Marrok's hitman for over a hundred years. It's not a task he enjoys, but since his father is the head of all the werewolves in America, he knows it's necessary. Since the werewolves have come out to the public, however, he's been forced to kill more often and the strain is taking a supernatural toll. So when his wife, Anna, takes up his cause, the Marrok sets them a new task.

Three werewolves have been murdered in Boston, but they're just the latest in a long line of serial killings, going back decades. With Anna by his side, and a search for justice for his own kind for once, perhaps this time Charles might be able to put his ghosts to rest.

It's been a bit of a wait since the last Alpha and Omega novel (Cry Wolf, Hunting Ground), but this was definitely worth it. Several years have passed since Hunting Ground, putting this series on the same timeline as the Mercy Thompson books, which means Anna is quite a different character. No longer quite so fragile, she's plenty capable of facing down Bran, new alphas and government agents alike. It's just her husband she has problems with.

Because Charles is the one in trouble this time, racked with guilt and insecurities. Thankfully Brother Wolf is on hand to help out when things get too tortured. I love that wolf - he's predatory and pragmatic, with a wicked sense of humour. He and Anna make a brilliant team as they race to solve the dark crime that sent them to Boston.

Less romantic than the other books, this one definitely has more of a Mercy feel. It was great seeing more of Bran and Asil again, however briefly, and there's even a hint of Adam. The Boston Alpha, Isaac, threatened to steal the show at times (I'd love to see more of him), and Beauclaire was a fascinating fae, adding yet more depth to this incredible world. We even have a sprinkling of intriguing humans here for once, causing more secrets than usual to be shared.

I loved it, from start to finish, but now I desperately want more! A&O or Mercy, after an ending like this I don't mind which, I just want to know what happens next. In the meantime, Bambi pancakes anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book 3)
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews