Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
82
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2012
It's been a tough few years for the Farrelly brothers. After arriving on the scene brash and bold with the likes of Dumb And Dumber, and then cementing themselves as the reigning kings of the disgusto-com-meets-sweet-sentiment genre with There's Something About Mary, they'd found their thrones and were unchallenged by other filmmakers. But in recent years those crowns have been slipping. Follow-ups such as Me, Myself & Irene, and Shallow Hal we're ok but didn't really live up to the comedy gold that they were producing in their earlier career.

Now, a few years later, they're back in the comfort zone of goofball man-children and the women they lust after. The concept is a straightforward one and at first this movie seems like it is going to be like a straight to DVD American Pie type film, but it soon turns out that we are going to get treated to some old school Farrelly-style.

It's reliably safe territory for the writer/directors, who make sure to keep both of their leads believable and, to a decent degree, likable as they encounter an assortment of busty babes. And while the friends do get wrapped up in some farcical goings-on, they seem normal compared to their crazier acquaintances including a scene-stealing Stephen Merchant who actually offers most of the big laughs in the film. It's good to see Merchant in a role that has more than one line, and even though he is in a supporting role I can safely say that this film would have easily gone down a few notches on the likability metre if he wasn't in it.

Jenna Fischer is also worth a mention, who, with her mellow vibes, which I can't get enough of, really grounds the film, stops it getting to wacky and going too far into that vulgar and obvious American humour that really turn me off most US comedy films.

Nothing here tops the gross-out heights (or heart) of Mary, and Hall Pass won't prove a revelation for Farrelly fans, but it's a funnier effort than a lot of their recent work, and as a result it is genuinely entertaining rather than horribly tedious.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
This is a brilliant film with laugh out loud moments at every turn, stellar performances from all those involved, and a well written script with a lot of witty jokes and darkly funny moments.

The general premise of the film is that Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis, both obsessed with the opposite sex and how life could have been if they weren't tied down with marriage, are granted "hall passes" (a week off marriage) by their wives - who hope that the men will see that life really isn't any greener on the other side. Much hilarity ensues when the two completely normal, middle aged men attempt to inject some spice into their lives on their week off. An equally interesting twist is the enjoyment that the wives appear to gain from the week off themselves.

This is a comedy with some well thought out and clever jokes & funny situations. The performances of Wilson and Sudeikis are brilliant - wholly believable and hilarious. As are the performances of the supporting actresses and all of the cameo appearances also (Stephen Merchant et al)

This is a brilliant comedy; it will have you laughing out loud several times and you'll want to watch it again and again!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Three Stars for technical problem. This is bad news in this day and age. I'm trying to view the movie on a 3 year old HP 64 bit with Windows 8.1. My Javascript is up to date as is my Chrome browser. Right from the start the picture is pixelated to hell. I tried switching back and forth from SD to Auto without any effect whatsoever. To Hell with it I am going to rate it as a one star movie..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I'm always a bit down on comedies, but I really enjoyed this. It has some laugh out loud moments and the story is good. The sauna scene made me laugh even after the movie finished...just one of the best scenes I've seen, you just don't expect it. It has the usual moralistic American thing going on, but the journey is enjoyable. Have a few beers and enjoy the ride. Your gf or wife will enjoy it to...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
Personally i thought this was hilarious! Very good idea!

Owen Wilson & Jason Sudeikis worked very well with each other, played the part realistically and humorously! Some awkward moments that make you cringe like in most comedies!
The idea itself was new and very entertaining!

Finally, i've never really seen Stephen Merchant in many things but i thought he was beyond hilarious in this! Especially a short extra part at the end of movie!! So keep an eye out!!

Thoroughly enjoyed, definite watch :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
This idiotic comedy movie has been slated in reviews so I must have just been in a good mood as I haven't laughed at a film so much in ages (since Wedding Crashers). It is a light, rude, easy comedy for couples or teen groups and delivers sexual themed jokes.

Stuck in married ruts and fed up of their husbands fantasising about being single again, 2 wives give their husbands hall passes, a week off marriage! The two men are hopeless, useless and comically unprepared for bachelor-hood. Owen Wilson leads the way, with best friend Jason Sudeikis and other group friends such as Stephen Merchant (the tall one from Ricky Gervais shows).

The cast is great, the idea amusing and enticing (if you are in a silly mood) and the film is a laugh out loud joke-fest. I thought it was effortlessly brilliant, if not predictable, daft and childish. It was after all directed by the Farrelly Brothers (Shallow Hal, Something About Mary, Dumb and Dumber).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
Do you remember when the Farrelly Brothers used to be funny? All the goodwill they built up during the `Dumb and Dumber', `Kingpin' and `Mary' days are well gone in a sea of `The Ringer' and `The Heartbreak Kid'. In their best work they were able to balance sick jokes with real heart, now they seem to knock out mediocre comedies which feel awfully dated. Where does `Hall Pass' rate in their tableau of sins? About halfway as it a surprisingly decent film by the Brothers Farrelly, and although it no top comedy, it is a reasonable watch with a few laughs.

The secret to why `Hall Pass' is better than their previous few films is that the heart is back. The main characters Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis) are idiots, but still likable (Fred more so than Rick). It is their wives that make the film bearable, having to put up with their nonsense with good grace and charm. Janna Fischer and Christina Applegate are the stars of the film and although they play a background role, they are the base that the film works from - if you cannot believe that they genuinely love Rick and Fred, the film just won't work.

With workable relationships at its centre, the Farrelly's would have to go a long way to ruin the film, and they almost do. The sick humour is ever present and as amusing as it was in 1998, it is pure dated nonsense by now. The entire format is tired, like a couple of blokes in their 40s churning out stuff that people used to find amusing. Thankfully, the cast make a good job of some dubious material and drag it up to an average standard. There is also the highlight of Stephen Merchant in his cameo, especially at the end.

Overall, `Hall Pass' just manages to leave the classroom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
A movie that's looks at the guys who would rather be with most of the woman they see everyday, but never plucked up the courage in their teens. So now married feel they should have the opportunity to be given a Free Week to make it so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
Do you remember when the Farrelly Brothers used to be funny? All the goodwill they built up during the `Dumb and Dumber', `Kingpin' and `Mary' days are well gone in a sea of `The Ringer' and `The Heartbreak Kid'. In their best work they were able to balance sick jokes with real heart, now they seem to knock out mediocre comedies which feel awfully dated. Where does `Hall Pass' rate in their tableau of sins? About halfway as it a surprisingly decent film by the Brothers Farrelly, and although it no top comedy, it is a reasonable watch with a few laughs.

The secret to why `Hall Pass' is better than their previous few films is that the heart is back. The main characters Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis) are idiots, but still likable (Fred more so than Rick). It is their wives that make the film bearable, having to put up with their nonsense with good grace and charm. Janna Fischer and Christina Applegate are the stars of the film and although they play a background role, they are the base that the film works from - if you cannot believe that they genuinely love Rick and Fred, the film just won't work.

With workable relationships at its centre, the Farrelly's would have to go a long way to ruin the film, and they almost do. The sick humour is ever present and as amusing as it was in 1998, it is pure dated nonsense by now. The entire format is tired, like a couple of blokes in their 40s churning out stuff that people used to find amusing. Thankfully, the cast make a good job of some dubious material and drag it up to an average standard. There is also the highlight of Stephen Merchant in his cameo, especially at the end.

Overall, `Hall Pass' just manages to leave the classroom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
It's not often I look over a review and go and change it, when I originally wrote this review I wrote this:

The farelly brothers have come a long way from their comedic heights but the slump may have stopped with Hall Pass. The film is just funny enough to be passable. Owen Wilson plays Rick who is given a Hall Pass by his wife and along with his pal Fred who gets his after an incident in his car decide to go on the pull for women with a week off from marriage. The laughs are too few but are funny as heck when they come. Worth a Look.
I called this review: Funny just not very funny and gave this film 3 out of 5 stars. April 2011.

Well after seeing this film again and again over the last 1 and 8 months I'll admit i was wrong because this film is a riot a total 5 star classic (of course Dumb and Dumber is better but let's not compare).

Rick and Fred as amazingly funny Rick (Owen Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis) are a great double act. The one liners come thick and fast apparently too fast for me to notice the first time round. This film deserves to be viewed again and again just to see how good it really is.

The incident in the car as mentioned above is hilarious even after repeat viewing.

Fred and Rick's friends are given very little to do so do not deserve much of a mention but one friend who does steal the show is Coakley (Richard Jenkins). I love that photo, that was a great wedding...got with one of the bridesmaids...what was her name again. Fred: Jenny, my sister...Coakley: Oh how is she...Fred: Still Married... Coakley: seemed like it was in trouble.

This film is on par with the Farrelly's earlier work and trust me if you like that then you will love this.

I would also like to apologies for my earlier review.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)