Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
82
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2013
Oh no, the same old rom-com stuff. I dont know, I love Jenny, but these movies are just so predictable - but hey, perhaps that's it. Perhaps it's that warm cozy feeling we all like to feel? But no. Wanderlust should of been better with the amazing talent on offer but it just falls flat. The scenes just carry on, bleeding the life out of exhausted joke after exhausted joke. Its embarrasing, because you can almost feel your 'chuckle' muscle ready to launch into uncontrolable mirth & mayhem, but then the punch line never comes, the actors looked bored & the only fun thing about the main feature is the out takes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wanderlust features Paul Rudd (Our Idiot Brother) and Jennifer Anniston (The Bounty Hunter) playing New York couple George & Linda. After striving for years; they finally get their foot on the property (step)ladder in New York with a micro-loft (read; studio apartment). When George is made redundant unexpectedly and Linda's latest sales pitch falls flat they find themselves having to turn-tail, sell and shack up with George's obnoxious Georgia-based brother. En route, they break-down and with little other choice, have to stay at commune Elysium. Disillusioned with city life so far but enamoured by the absence of materialism and finally feeling liberated they decide to give this commune-living thing a shot but it brings more challenges than they are ready for. Are they truly cut out for free-love?

Wanderlust is a beautifully filmed affair; the idyllic surrounds of the forest and the estate are warm and welcoming and the supporting cast are fantastic. Whether it's the ridiculously good-looking & skilled guitarist Seth (Justin Theroux - Zoolander) or the honey-trap Eva (Malin Åkerman - Catch .44) or any of the other idiom-riddled bunch of reprobates, there is sure to be someone to make you laugh. The script really isn't pushing the envelope in any respect, but there were numerous points where the writing is witty and genuinely amusing - the time-lapse scene in the car for instance. Acknowledging that this film is a bit of a pastiche; I did feel a lot of this film had been done before, especially with Rudd in Our Idiot Brother where he just plays the opposite side of the fence. Anniston is a pleasure to watch as she finds herself in the intentional community and truly embraces the lifestyle whilst Rudd's social-awkwardness is very amusing.

Extra Content: Included is the "Bizarro Cut" which director David Wain says fleshes out the characters and story. I genuinely didn't notice anything funnier or interesting in this. There is the usual suite of deleted scenes and a gag reel: Line-o-Rama, there is also the making of, interviews with the cast and an episode the directors webshow titled Wainy Days:Elysium which features the director achieving his own sexual awakening, and er, robots. Loads of upcoming trailers too.

Whilst this film is not going to amaze you in any respect, I found the 98-minute bit funny and warming. Recommended for a no-brainer.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This fish out of the water comedy is good fun during the first half, it's never enough to have you rolling around in laughter, but it's always does enough to make you smile. Then in the second half the water dries up only to be replaced by broader, generic Judd Apatow production set pieces and a Hollywood ending that damages the film thanks to a plot hole opened up by pursuing a happy contained story. The final third is also guilty of pulling a character in directions which don't work for the person we know him to be. Still, like David Wain's earlier film, Role Models, Wanderlust takes a good idea and makes it look like hard work.

Also, Paul Judd's improvised sex pep talk into a mirror is not funny. Its not funny. Stop it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
George (Paul Rudd) and Linda (Jennifer Aniston) are a pretentious NY couple. When their jobs go south, so do they, to live with Paul's uncouth brother (Ken Marino) in Atlanta. Unable to live with him, they opt to go live in a hippy commune. As it turns out the members are not as likable as George originally thought and one has designs on his wife.

I kept waiting for the film to become funny and break out of its predictable mold. It never did. Perhaps the funniest thing was Aniston ranting about Penguins being killed by global warming and living with the seals and polar bears in the Arctic. I didn't know if it was intended to show Aniston's character was stupid or the writer of the script was stupid. Penguins don't live in the Arctic. And since no one at HBO caught the goof while watching her film, I bet it was a stupid mistake made by writers who are not smarter than a fifth grader.

I was bored for most of the film.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex talk, full frontal nudity (male/female). No sex scenes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Wasn't sure about watching wanderlust as most of the reviews seemed lukewarm, but I'm glad I went with the more positive ratings. It's a laugh out watch, except for the cringe worthy scene of Paul Rudd. The script pokes fun at the extremes people will go to to be 'true' to a vision of themselves. Who says you have to be a vegan to embrace the main ethos of the commune, and who says you need to turn your back on a money making profession in order not to be a 'tool'/ jerk.

It's easy to relate to the setting - hard economic times, debt, consumerism and a sense of bewilderment at the world. Not that you need to come away from the movie with any profound revelations - it's a sit back and enjoy the ride sort of film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Twice I've tried to watch this film, and twice I've failed.
The first time I lasted 20 minutes, the second 25.
Maybe by the time I'm 40 I'll have raised my tolerance levels to such a state that I'll be able to stomach the whole film.
I hope that never happens.

It's not like I've a low boredom/ low taste threshold; I happily watch repeats of 3-2-1, Supermarket Sweep, and Goodnight, Sweetheart,
Wanderlust is a cheap, badly directed, badly produced, badly written, piece of garbage that wastes an impressive cast (apart from Paul Rudd, who is terrible in everything).

Far and away the worst film of Jennifer Aniston's career (and if you've sat through Marley and Me, you know that's really saying something bop bop shoo be doo wah).

Shameful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
A silly little watchable movie. If you know Jennifer Anniston is going to be in the movie, expect it to be so- so. She's not a good actor and for the most part only appears in silly middle of the road movies. Somehow she has reached worldwide fame, which just goes to show what a little luck and even less talent (if you can call it that) and a lot of media hype can do for someone's career and status these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
so sad that this missed out on huge potential.... but it is funny and the cliche that almost kills it does not. The director is the real problem, artistic licence lost the plot too many times and did not let what should have happened.... Jennifer was the best actor so she should have led the movie , instead the other characters smothered her... still 4 stars for a great HD disk and some very funny moments..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
As much as I like Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston, there was something about this film that didn't quite seem right. Don't get me wrong, it is not a terrible film, and there are some reasonably funny parts, but it was just too hit and miss. I would say 50% of this movie is quite good, but 50% really isn't - this includes the cast, the jokes and the script, etc.
It is random and occasionally wayward, but Rudd and Aniston produce good performances as the married couple who move to a hippie commune. It is just a shame that nothing much was built on what could have been a funny premise.
Being that comedy is subjective, I'm sure there will be people whose funny bone this will tickle continuously; I however, just felt that there was not enough to the film (particularly as it eventually boiled down to a guy-gets-back-girl flick), for it to be worthy of more than 3 stars.
Wanderlust isn't hilarious, but is fairly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
How does Paul Rudd keep making films? Apart from Anchorman 1 & 2 (where thankfully he is a supporting character) he is just awful in every movie he is cast in. His films, like this one, are crass (not even funny crass), uncomfortable to watch and just plain boring.

This idea of a commune could have been an interesting one, but by only looking at superficial ideas and stereotypes, they are using it as a vehicle for unfunny jokes.

Overall another notch in the litany of awful Paul Rudd films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)