Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung to Arcam: how entertainment is supposed to sound.
Used this to link my Samsung Smart LED TV to my Arcam Solo Mini Hifi system - took 5 minutes, works perfectly, sounds.... incredible. No doubt the quality of the hifi and speakers makes a major contribution, but the DAC is the vital link in the chain, and this one is worth every penny. The Arcam equivalent costs 200.

The unit was well packaged and delivered...
Published 15 months ago by Ian Turnedge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does it cope with BBC1HD sound?
I purchased this little item to connect the toslink out of my new Virgin Media box to my analogue Yamaha amplifier. I have powered it via the USB port in the VM box. There is some clicking while changing through some channels, nothing to complain about really. However, I cannot watch BBC1HD because the sound is all a dreadful noise. I haven't experienced this for other HD...
Published 19 months ago by Luis Mendiz


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Converter but only accepts stereo PCM input, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
The most important thing to note about this converter is that it can only work with Stereo (2-channel) PCM audio reliably - it is not sophisticated enough to mix down any kind of surround input. The note in the box when you open it states this, but the product description should make this completely clear. This is not a full blown AV receiver so don't expect to throw any digital bitstream at it and expect magical results.

The unit is robustly built with a metal casing closed by two plastic caps, screwed in place. Because the unit has a mini-usb port you can plug it into your device as USB ports are pretty common on DVD and Blu Ray players for memory sticks. This eliminates the use of the included power supply, but it is handy to have the unit bundled if you need it.

The audio quality is very good, but to my ears it has quite a harsh sound, but it only bothers me on a set of Sennheiser PXC 450 phones which tend to expose even small issues with sound quality. However for 30 quid you can't really expect audiophile quality. Had I paid the original price of 60 quid I might have been a bit more disappointed, as this is edging into the area of digital converters made for pro audio applications. At 60 quid I'd have given it 4 stars, but at 30 quid it's an excellent little connectivity troubleshooting device in an age where analog outputs seem to be disappearing from consumer AV units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with Apple TV, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
Does what it says and works brilliantly to link my Apple TV's optical output to my HiFi amp. It does on rare occasions seem to turn itself off - about once every few months. Not sure if that's the Apple TV's fault though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital to Analogue Audio Converter - 192khz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF, 17 Jun 2012
By 
nowie (glasgow, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
Worked right away upon connecting the toslink cable from virgin media's fiber optic v+ television digital receiver and L/R rca jacks to a 5.1 surround sound amplifier. It comes with a digital switch giving the user an option to use coaxial or toslink unlike most popular digital to analogue audio adapters which I think comes on automatic detection when both coaxial and toslink optical audio cables are connected from source to amplifier output. Thanks to this great seller and Amazon for the usual faultless online transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB Powered DAC, 17 Oct 2013
By 
M. T. Brown (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
I got this one because it could be powered directly from a USB port on the TV set rather than yet another wallwart. It works fine although for some TVs, decoders and HD satellite channels you may have to tell the set to output SPDIF stereo PCM coded rather than Auto. It won't decode Dolby or DTS streams and this at first meant that I had silence on satellite HD channels until I found the right TV config setting. It works well and sound amplified through the main hifi is very much better than from the sets tiny speakers. You will need an SPDIF optical cable too.

You can get cheaper ones if you don't mind running another wallwart to power it, but the convenience of being set powered via USB was worth it for me. YMMV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic device, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
Fantastic device, just connected it to the Tv and the sound bar and switched it on, that easy..
Not expensive either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but lacks sound quality, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
I have bought this to play audio through my Apple TV. This works fine, but having recently changed the wireless router to Airport Express I can tell a huge difference in sound quality (on the same speakers). The Airport Express gives much better sound than AppleTV+Audio-converter.

For me it seems far better to dish out a little extra cash and buy Airport Express instead of buying the converter. (Assuming that you are considering buying the converter for this use)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly useless, a total waste of money, 11 May 2012
By 
Barry D. Hunt "Baddow Baz" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
My present Freeview box only has a digital audio output and thus needs a outboard DAC. So I bought this item so as to run the audio channels from my Freeview box into a separate amplifier and speakers.

When it arrived there was a note saying it would only work with PCM audio, and that I was to set the source to PCM. I cannot, so there is a continuous crackling underlying the sound. The description of the FiiO D3 implied it could be used with any digital source using the SPDIF, without any reference to the modulation required. The manufacturer should have stated 'up-front' that it would only work with PCM setting.

As such it is a wasted purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital-Analog-Audio-Converter-Optical/, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Mr D ASHENDEN (Gravesend, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
This works perfect with my Tivo box. The Tivo has no jack plug outputs. Easy to set up great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit fiddly, 1 April 2013
By 
R. Kruger "deutschlad" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
requires a lot of hooking up - and it ads to the cable mess, significantly. Yes, I can hear a difference - but it's negligible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i give it 2 stars due to cost saving, 28 Oct 2013
By 
P Zijlstra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital to Analog Audio Converter - 192kHz/24bit Optical and Coaxial DAC SPDIF - TOSlink / Coaxial to Stereo Left/Right RCA - FiiO D03K Taishan (Electronics)
the dac is light in weight and the connectors are silver??? they are not as good as GOLD connected DACS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews