Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Bob Is Back
Being a big fan of Kevin Smith and his films,I couldnt wait to get my hands on this,his latest solo stage performance.I already own his previous three DVD's,An Evening With,Evening Harder and A Threevening With,so I knew what I was in for,and for the most part this one doesnt fail to live up to expectations.

its the usual mix of storys from his experiences...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by The Neon Weasel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but I think he has ran out of interesting stuff to talk about
For me this started off pretty slow and dragged a bit but the second half was pretty good. If you are a fan of Kevin's, Q and A stuff then you'll probably know some are better than others and this was kind of midway for me. I'd say in order of best to worst they are:

An Evening with Kevin Smith
An Threevening with Kevin Smith
Too Fat for Forty...
Published 18 months ago by Family Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Bob Is Back, 31 Jan 2012
By 
The Neon Weasel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big fan of Kevin Smith and his films,I couldnt wait to get my hands on this,his latest solo stage performance.I already own his previous three DVD's,An Evening With,Evening Harder and A Threevening With,so I knew what I was in for,and for the most part this one doesnt fail to live up to expectations.

its the usual mix of storys from his experiences making films,and his family life.A big section is about making Cop Out with Bruce Willis,which is quite insightful and very funny.As with the previous DVD's,its obvious mr Smith enjoys connecting with his fans,and is still happy to open up his private life to them,something they clearly love him for.Not many writers/directors would go to the lengths he does to keep his fans happy.The only thing about this DVD I didnt like as much as the others,was that it wasnt as interactive with the audience.Theyre known for their Q & A sessions,this doesnt really happen in this one,only one question is asked,but then again the answer does take hours.However on the second disc you do get a Q & A session,and believe me it is really funny.

I would give the main performance a 4 star rating,add in the second disc and the whole package gets 5,which is what Ive marked it on.If your a Kevin Smith fan dont miss out on this one,its well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still good, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
Kevin Smith on his 40th birthday doing his Q&A in his home town in New Jersey. In this one he talks about how he was kicked off the southwest airlines place for being too fat, working with Bruce Willis and some trouble with the Canadian border control. In this Q&A Smith doesn't dole out much of his opinions as much as he's giving a summary of his life since the last Q&A, he does give his opinions on subjects he brings up mind but there is very little audience participation, only one question is asked as a matter of fact but then that's when he spirals into the summary of his life since last time.

I enjoyed this one too, maybe not as much as the first show on an evening with Kevin Smith 2 but is still awesome. He also talks about things that you wouldn't have heard too much about in SModcast or in the news too which is hilarious as usual. I recommend this for fans but a newcomer to Smith might be a bit lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kevin smith fan, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
really happy with the dvd it come within the next day order so i am happy and cant wait to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but I think he has ran out of interesting stuff to talk about, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
For me this started off pretty slow and dragged a bit but the second half was pretty good. If you are a fan of Kevin's, Q and A stuff then you'll probably know some are better than others and this was kind of midway for me. I'd say in order of best to worst they are:

An Evening with Kevin Smith
An Threevening with Kevin Smith
Too Fat for Forty
An Evening with Kevin Smith II
J ans Silent Bob get Old - Teabagging in the UK

In this one we don't get the condescending Smith that we see in an Evening 2 but neither do we get the funny, interesting Smith who interacts so well with the audience in other shows. It's not really a Q and A session as there is 1, possably 2 questions in the whole show but obviously pre planned stories he had decided to tell. While some were okay others were completely pointless.

I enjoy when Smith is giving you some funny inside info on others in the business and talking about the stuff we know him for but the problem is he's said all he really has to say about the movies that made him famous and since then hasn't really done that much else. Although he is associated with some movies they aren't his. NOw I liked Zack and Miri Make a Porno but Cop OUt was just a bad movie. He talks about both. He used to talk about a lot of comic related stuff too but as he admits himself, he iis 40 now and in a different place.

Unfortunately for me although I'm sure Smith will still do some good stuff in his career I'm not sure how much and I think he really needs to leave us for ten years or so now before doing and more stand up as thats what he's kind of turned into but Q and A is more his thing and I think people have run out of interesting stuff to ask him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I'm not a stand-up comedian, I just like to answer questions...", 29 Jan 2013
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
The title for this one-man-show comes from an incident when Kevin Smith was turned away from a flight for being too big for the seat, on his fortieth birthday he stands in front of a home crowd and gives his trademark frank and honest views on life.

The first thing Smith does is introduce his mum - the woman who brought him into this world, the affection is obvious and it sets the tone for the show; Kevin Smith is a big, sweary guy who uses explicit language and isn't averse to a bit of toilet humour, but he's also possibly the least pretentious man in the movie industry and the thing which stands out most is that he wears his heart on his sleeve. His openness is apparent from the first few moments of the show, his first real topic being that the media were willing to pay thousands of dollars for embarrassing photos of him looking fat, after considering making some easy money taking a photo of himself ("Peter Parker style") he decides to keep his dignity instead - or wait until the bounty hits ten thousand dollars!

Remember, this isn't a stand-up DVD - this is a Q&A session and part of the humour comes from the fact that he only manages to answer one question because his answer is so bloody long, but what a great answer! "What was it like working with Bruce Willis?" leads into discourse on drugs, sporting heroes, supermarket deliveries and, oh yeah, working with Bruce Willis. He talks about movie directing and downplays his talents while being one of the most down-to-earth folk you'll hear, and very humble about his achievements. He spends more time having at dig at his film Jersey Girl than celebrating his acclaimed works. If you've listened to his Smodcasts then you will have heard some of this before, and if you're expecting constant laughs then you may want to look elsewhere, but if you want to listen to an interesting guy who feels like "one of us" done good - then there are few better ways to spend a few hours in front of the telly.

In a nutshell: Self-critical, analytical and incredibly honest. A Q&A session which consists of only 1 question becomes an insight into the life of a film fan who became a film maker. Plus, I have a weird habit of looking for 2001: A Space Odyssey references and this contains one of the best ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing!!!, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
I've always been a huge Kevin Smith fan, but I've never been able to get any of the Q&As on a DVD (just on itunes). So I jumped at the chance to get this! Needless to say, the man doesn't disapoint- just under 4 hours of material and thats just for the recorded show!I would reccommend any Kevin Smith fan should buy this and any of the Q&As for that matter- its just brilliant material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most interesting Q+A's with a director that I've ever seen. Kevin Smith provides so much insight and interesting stories throughout the show, you won't be able to stop watching. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay But not his best, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Robert Bruce "Rob Bruce" (hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Fat For 40 [DVD] (DVD)
Being a massive fan of all of Kevin smiths work i was looking forward to the releaseof his third Q&A session dvd & unfortunatley it wasnt as good as his previous Q&A sessions for a few reasons,

1.it seems for the first twenty minutes he's trying to do some material that is pretty amusing but comes across as a bit like stand up (please note Kevin Smith is not a stand up comedian) but it never really seems to get going.

after this mildly amusing monologue the question gets asked which brings me on to point number 2

2.I didnt miss an S of the end of the word question. On the first disc only one question gets asked which is "what was it like working with & directing Bruce Willis"
In which Kevin tells a overly long story about meet Bruce Willis on die hard 4.0 & tells some stories (which if tour a fan of Kevins you will have heard in his SMODcasts) which eventually segway into him living in LA then segway into being to large to fit onto a seat on a commercial flight,To segway back to how he asked Bruce to act a bit like he did in moonlighting then a cake comes out & we are done.

I love a wandering story as much as the next man but i was hoping of a dvd in the style of an evening with Kevin Smith where he gets asked a question & if the answer would take 2 minutes to deliver he would answer it and pad it out with funny hollywood & cinematic tales of how crazy the entertainment industry is & tie a pretty bow round the whole thing making most Answers 10-15 minutes each.

So bassically Kevin Smith i feel spoilt his fans with his first Q&A outing & now what we get on this disk is a pale imitation of a Kevin Smith I/We loved a decade ago.

So in closing Massive kevin smith fans buy it...like i did (but felt slightly hard done by)
However if you like Kevin Smith & have none of his Q&A's go for an evening with Kevin Smith
(you'll get a lot of bang for your buck & its him @ his funniest)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Fat For 40 [DVD]
Too Fat For 40 [DVD] by Kevin Smith (DVD - 2012)
6.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews