Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read
It's Freya's birthday and she's about to meet her long term boyfriend, Russell, for a celebratory lunch. When Freya turns up she overhears her boyfriend commenting about her appearance in a way that sends her reeling, taking her totally by surprise and in true Freya style, she does a disappearing act.

Ending up on a Greek island where her best friend Emma...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Book reviews

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light read
A chance romance between a disgruntled English photographer and a Hollywood movie star on a Greek Island is an unlikely starting point. After that, it becomes even less plausible. However, it is nicely written and trips along nicely enough to be satisfactory bedtime reading.
Published 19 months ago by noprobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
It's Freya's birthday and she's about to meet her long term boyfriend, Russell, for a celebratory lunch. When Freya turns up she overhears her boyfriend commenting about her appearance in a way that sends her reeling, taking her totally by surprise and in true Freya style, she does a disappearing act.

Ending up on a Greek island where her best friend Emma lives, Freya thinks she can hide away from the pain and heartache she experienced in the UK. However, she didn't anticipate meeting up with Holloywood heart-throb Nicholas Kaden and she certainly didn't expect to find herself becoming involved with him, despite her initial reservations about his motives.

Freya is fun and fiesty, full of witty comments. She is also extremely loyal to her friends and has deeply grounded principles which have in the past caused her a great deal of trouble. Trouble that she has really doesn't want anyone to know about. Nicholas Kaden is very smooth and calm, has everything under control but he too has something in his past that he is hiding from the world. Freya and Nicholas may on the surface seem like an unlikely couple but underneath they have more in common than they realise. Are either of them able to face up to their past or will it cloud their lives forever? Can they also deal with those around them, dear and not so dear, who are happy to destroy them for their own reasons?

There are twists and turns along the way, together with a few surprises. Excess All Areas is an enjoyable read and I found myself drawn into the novel with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excess all areas, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
Lovely romance, which was an easy read, it had great characters with you could relate to and there was humour thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excess All Areas by Mandy Baggot, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
Freya Johnson should be celebrating her thirtieth birthday, having a nice romantic meal with her boyfriend Russell in a nice restaurant, but instead she has flown to the pretty village of Kassiopi in northern Corfu to be with her best friend Emma. Freya is upset at overhearing her boyfriend Russell putting her down about her weight when asking the barman if he had seen Freya arrive at the restaurant. Russell had not known that Freya heard his unflattering comments and after hearing them she just fled and got in a taxi to the airport and now was in the pretty village of Kassiopi. Emma lived in the village after falling in love with a local boy and had decided to stay. Emma is the closest friend that Freya has ever had and a good confidante. The only person she can turn to as she does not see or talk to her family. Freya is also looking to have a nice peaceful break, a chance to reflect while she decides what to do and the island is the perfect place to do this.

Oscar winning Hollywood actor Nicholas Kaden, one of the most famous men on the planet is filming his latest movie on the island. In less than twenty four hours since Freya had arrived on the island, Nicholas Kaden and his entourage manage to annoy and inconvenience, Freya by taking over the island. When Freya finds out that they have taken over her favourite table in a restaurant, which had been booked for her to have a belated birthday celebration, unimpressed by Nicholas Kaden's celebrity status she marches up to Kaden and gets cross, telling him and his entourage exactly what she thinks. Nicholas Kaden asks them to join his party for dinner, Freya is reluctant and is determined not to, but Emma jumps at the chance of dining and spending time with a film star so she agrees. Freya has formed an opinion on Nicholas Kaden that he is a stuck up, spoilt, arrogant actor with too much money and little concern for anyone but himself and when she overhears two male members of Nicholas entourage putting her down about her weight and saying they have placed a bet with Nicholas to if he beds her when he takes her out on a date. Still angry about what happened with Russell she decides to say yes to when Nicholas asks her out, so that she can take out revenge on `Mr Hollywood' for daring to make her the subject of a bet.

But when Nicholas is charming on their date will she still go ahead with her plan for revenge?

What about Russell is he now a part of her past and is she ready to move forward and leave the past behind?

This is another enjoyable read from Mandy Baggot. I read this book in one sitting. Freya is a good strong leading character in this beautiful written story set in a picturesque part of Greece. What I like about Mandy's main characters in this book is that they have a lot of depth and background that make the characters and the storyline far more interesting and impossible for you to predict how the storyline will come to its conclusion.

I really recommend reading any if not all of Mandy Baggot's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise ., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not normally one for reading romances, unless there is a gothic twist. This book was free so I gave it a go. I'm happy I did. The author has a lovely way of writing realistic, down to earth characters. It had a feel of Bridget Jones/ Shirley Valentine about it. The humour was spot on and I really related to some of the retro references. A great story with brilliant writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feisty fun!, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
What can you say about Freya? She's larger than life, feisty, fun and breaking every rule in the Hollwood book! We could all do with a friend like her.

A fun, fast paced and refreshing read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't want to put down, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great story line and wonderful realistic characters. Completely enjoyed the read :-) great romantic book for a summer holiday relax. Went straight on to purchasing the follow on to Freya and Nick's story - Public Property
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light holiday read, 7 July 2013
By 
FW (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
Typical easy chick lit style, it's a tale of a holiday romance. Fun, but if you read it, you'll probably agree its not the most believable tale in today's society - more's the pity! Very easy to read on your sun lounger and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book, great storyline and characters. Couldn't put it down and read in a day. Ending was a bit abrupt and would like to know if there's a 2nd book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really don't know where to start with this review. I'm glad I left it for a while after reading the book, otherwise it would have looked something like this:
!!!!!!!!!gdgporjgoprogpGESKHGDGJDPOFGPojfpsgposdjod!!!!

I absolutely LOVED this book. To the extent that I was actually sad it had finished and just wanted to wave a wand to hopefully reveal some hidden parts that Mandy had been keeping from us. I could read on and on about these characters, they were perfectly written and the whole book was full of emotional ups and downs. It actually made me blub at a few points and that never happens to me!

Freya is a very complex character and you find out more and more about her as the novel goes on. I really like the unfolding of the story for each of the characters. Nick is a fantastic character right from the first time we meet him, however, when his secret is revealed, your heart melts. 
Mandy really helps you to feel close to her characters and this is a very hard thing to do.

Corfu is an amazing setting for a novel, I visited for the first time last year and fell in love with the place. After reading this novel, I just want to get on a plane right now and become a Corfiot for life!

I have already read `Knowing Me Knowing You' so I know Mandy's skills are constant. I can't wait to get started on the next one!

For more of my reviews, check out [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Likeable, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1) (Kindle Edition)
It's a nice easy book to read,liked the description of Kissopi in Greece which made me fancy visiting.
I liked the generous nature of the characters but to cram in all the ideas the writer has, they can come off not quite fully rounded to me. However I would be happy to read this again and other books by Mandy :D
And in a dream world that the author conjures up means that we know that there is somebody out there for anyone regardless of size. So if anybody wants me I'm going to have a crack at George Clooney/ Bradley Cooper ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9f7abc)

This product

Excess All Areas (Freya Johnson 1)
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews