Customer Reviews


427 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY ROMANTIC COMEDY
Roberta Jones Spivey is having a makeover. With a new hair colour, new wardrobe, swapping business suits for mini skirts and snug fitting tops. Plus a whole new attitude. A little over three weeks ago Roberta's husband had phoned to say he wanted a divorce. Warren had now got back with Cookie his old sweetheart. Roberta had foolishly helped him look for his high school...
Published on 5 April 2012 by L. Sims

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable enough
I downloaded this as it was free but did find it an enjoyable light read, though some of the scenarios were plain silly.
While I was entertained by this book for a couple of hours I wouldnt go as far as getting the follow up book.
I looked through the reviews and was very surprised to see it described as a funny read, as I didnt find it so at all.
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by JLP


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY ROMANTIC COMEDY, 5 April 2012
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Roberta Jones Spivey is having a makeover. With a new hair colour, new wardrobe, swapping business suits for mini skirts and snug fitting tops. Plus a whole new attitude. A little over three weeks ago Roberta's husband had phoned to say he wanted a divorce. Warren had now got back with Cookie his old sweetheart. Roberta had foolishly helped him look for his high school sweetheart who had dumped him twenty years before. Roberta, who is now calling herself Bobbie Jones decides to sell up quitting her job, selling her BMW, and buying a VW beetle in bright green, and heads to the small town of Cottonmouth, to let Warren see what he's missing.
Roberta/Bobbie rents a small cottage, the real estate person tries to put her off, as the local serial killer Nick lives oposite. Bobbie moves in anyway, she gets a job in the town as a waitress, and settles down to life in a small town.
Loved this story it is well written with much humour and there's also a wonderful romance. The characters are very well drawn, and not just the two leads. You really get a feel for life in a small town, filled with interesting characters. I just loved the way Bobbie refused to stay away from Nick, her pursuit of him made me laugh,suspected serial killer or not the man is too sexy for his own good. Plenty happens to keep you turning the pages, and let's not forget the fabulous love scenes which are perfect. A highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING, SEXY AND ABOVE ALL ELSE ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
Carol 'avid little bookworm' (LEEDS, Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Oh I absolutely loved this book from the minute I picked it up to the moment I finished it; reading way, way into the night to do so.

Roberta Jones Spivey morphs into Bobbie Jones after being dumped by her "spineless" hubby, Warren, who has tracked down his teenage sweetheart and now wants to build a life with her.

Roberta, a people pleaser, has lived in Warren's shadow and he's walked all over her as well as deprived her of love and sex for over five years. Add to that, she's in a job she hates with a bully for a boss and you can see why she's lost all her self worth.

This all changes when she visits her hairdresser, for a change in hair colour, and is persuaded to go one step further and have her long hair cut short. Let the morphing begin. She's already lost 10lbs from moping over Warren - so new wardrobe here we come. All old clothes are discarded and new sexy outfits complete the transition to Bobbie Jones.

Bobbie Jones is just the most delicious, likeable, hilarious character ever; the complete antithesis of Roberta. She won't take no for an answer which just endeared me to her more. And Nick, the sexy, dark brooding "serial killer" is one of the best male leads I've encountered in a long time. The tension leading up to these two hooking up is pure genius and the love scenes are HOT!

This is the first book I've read of Jennifer Skully's, chosen purely because of the excellent reviews and what a treat I had. I loved her writing style, so descriptive she brought all her characters to life, and there was a whole plethora of them. If I wasn't laughing out loud I was chuckling away most of the way through this excellent book. I read an awful lot of books, but it's not often I say the characters will live with me for a long time. I just loved them and don't feel like going onto another book just yet; I've enjoyed this reading experience so much. Obviously, I've no hesitation in recommending this book 100%!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saucy, romantic and a fun read, 14 Jun. 2012
By 
An avid reader. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is another one of those books I wasn't expecting to like so much. Jennifer managers to pull you in from the word go and yes it's saucy but it's not done in a vulgar way, it's romantic. It's also interjected with some fun one liners so all in all I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Bobbie and Nick. I gave it five stars as it pulled me in straight away and I thoroughly enjoyed the escapism. It's not a thought provoking book, it's not an itellectually stimulating read, sometimes we just don't need them, it's just a romance story that's fun with a bit of sauciness thrown in. A great book for a summertime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witty, sexy all with a bit of mystery, 15 Jun. 2012
By 
S. westerman (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
what more could you ask for in a romantic book? i loved the characters and the plot, its not something i would usually go for being a fantasy fan myself but its free and well written, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 19 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As soon as I put it down, I wanted to pick it straight back up again. The characters were believable and really came to life. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read and funny, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
I romped through this book, it's easy and funny and has a good twisty story line, things i loved about it were that the main heroine is around forty and she gets a sexy thirty something male which makes it not a YA read, it's positive about her exploration of herself and how she pieces together and rebuilds life and reinvents herself after taking a big emotional knock in her life, it has some funny moments that can make your smile and some sexy and touching moments as she and her relationship blossoms and it's got a good plot!, well written and a book you feel you don't want to put down once you start to read it, if i'd bought it in paperback instead of kindle i'd be passing onto my girlfriends :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious romance, first published as "Sex and the serial killer", 11 Mar. 2012
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Under the first of three titles under which this amusing comedy romance has been published, "Sex and the serial killer," it won the 2006 Daphne Du Maurier Award for Excellence.

A couple of years later it was republished by Silhouette as Volume One in their "Sex in the Suburbs" series. (Link: Sex in the Suburbs: v. 1 (Silhouette Special Products)). Now it has come out as a kindle e-book with a third title, "She's Gotta Be Mine" and with two of the author's three pen-names on the Amazon page.

Don't let the presence of two names in the "author" field put you off if you don't like collaborations, this isn't one, they're the same person and Amazon are simply trying to make sure that the author's fanbases under both pen-names can find this book. At the time of updating this review it is available free for the Kindle.

This was the first of five quirky comedy romances which this author originally published under the name Jennifer Skully. These are -

1) "Sex and the Serial Killer" a.k.a. "She's Gotta Be Mine"
2) "Fool's Gold," (to some extent a sequel to this one)
3) "Drop Dead Gorgeous"
4) "Sheer Dynamite"
5) "It Must be Magic (Mira (Direct))."

These five books are independent and stand on their own with the exception that one of the main supporting characters of "She's Gotta Be Mine" is the hero of "Fool's Gold," set shortly afterwards. Some retrospective comments in that book could be mild spoilers for this one, so if you are minded to read both, tackle "She's Gotta Be Mine" first.

The heroine of "She's Gotta Be Mine," Roberta Jones Spivey, has just been dumped by her husband of 15 years. She foolishly helped him to find his former High School sweetheart, supposedly so he could find "closure" by seeing her once more.

Surprise, surprise, when the search is successful the rat tells Roberta he is divorcing her and moving to Cottonmouth where his former sweetheart lives - even though the latter has not got round to leaving or divorcing her own husband.

Roberta decides to shorten her name to Bobbie Jones, and change her look - so far so good. But instead of saying "goodbye and good riddance" to her idiot of a husband, she resigns her job as head of accounting at a Silicon Valley company, follows her husband to Cottonmouth, and gets a job as a waitress paying a tenth of what she used to earn.

When Bobbie moves into her newly rented house in Cottonmouth, the other neighbours warn her that the handsome man opposite is suspected of being a serial killer. Bobbie thinks they're talking nonsense - but flirting with an alleged serial killer to shock everyone, and especially her about-to-be-ex husband, sounds exciting.

One of the good things about Jennifer Skully's books is that you often can't tell what's going to happen. In two of her five novels published under that name, the heroine is warned not to date a man who her friends think may be a lunatic or a killer. In both books she thinks they're talking nonsense and goes ahead.

In one novel the heroine is right and the man turns out to be a misunderstood good guy; in the other novel her friends are right and the man she's dating turns out to be a dangerous nutter. In neither case can you tell until near the end of the book which way it will turn out. And of course I'm not going to spoil either story by telling you which is which.

In case you have read either of Jennifer Skully's most recent two books, I should mention that first three are in a slightly different sub-genre from the last two. "She's Gotta Be Mine", "Fool's Gold", and "Drop Dead Gorgeous" are all straightforward romantic comedies with no supernatural or paranormal element whatsoever. By comparison "Sheer Dynamite" and "It must be magic" do have a supernatural/paranormal element. If you've read either of them and this bothered you, don't let it put you off "She's Gotta be Mine/Sex and the Serial Killer."

If you like a quirky,funny, madcap romance novel, you will very probably like "She's Gotta Be Mine."

N.B. As mentioned, Jennifer Skully has used at least two other pen names; as J.B. Skully she has written the "Max" series of dark romances which begins with "Dead to the Max (Book 1, Max Starr Series, an erotic paranormal mystery/romance)"; as Jasmine Haynes she writes adult fantasy books such as "The Principal's Office."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable enough, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this as it was free but did find it an enjoyable light read, though some of the scenarios were plain silly.
While I was entertained by this book for a couple of hours I wouldnt go as far as getting the follow up book.
I looked through the reviews and was very surprised to see it described as a funny read, as I didnt find it so at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Terrible story line, most of the story revolved around men ogling main characters assets. Sex scenes very unrealistic, 9 orgasms in one night! It was free so can't complain about waste of money but would not read another one by the same author free or paid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Mills and Boon with sex, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's Gotta Be Mine (A sexy, funny mystery/romance, Cottonmouth Book 1) (Cottonmouth Series) (Kindle Edition)
Had a job to finish it! I found it very poorly written, not that I could do much better, but not, definitely not my kind of book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews