Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic WB
Journey 2: The Mysterious Island is the sequel to 2008's Journey To The Center Of The Earth but very little of the original set-up or cast is continued.

Sean Anderson (Josh Hutcherson) receives a very weak coded signal and sets about trying to solve its meaning to find his grandfather (Michael Caine - Harry Brown), whilst his step-dad Hank (The Rock - Faster)...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by J. Morris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Forgettable.
I really like Michael Caine and The Rock. But despite this the film lacked some thing. And I quite cannot put my finger on it. If I compared it to say Jumanji it does not create that type of movie magic. But I would not say do not miss this film. As another mans meat is some one elses Potatoes. The 3D is Okay but not startling Worth a Watch.
Published on 29 May 2012 by dexter luminol


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic WB, 7 Jun 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Journey 2: The Mysterious Island is the sequel to 2008's Journey To The Center Of The Earth but very little of the original set-up or cast is continued.

Sean Anderson (Josh Hutcherson) receives a very weak coded signal and sets about trying to solve its meaning to find his grandfather (Michael Caine - Harry Brown), whilst his step-dad Hank (The Rock - Faster) tries to help to further bond with him. After some extremely dubious cartography (in which they just happen to have the three books in the correct editions & scale so the pages match up) they find the island and set sail to Palau, the nearest land to the supposed location of the island.

When Hank & Sean arrive in Palau, they recruit father-daughter helicopter-tour-operators Gabato (Luiz Guzman - Waiting) and Keilani (Vanessa Hudgens - Sucker Punch) to lead them to the coordinates. But Gabato's rickety helicopter can't handle the raging permanent storm that surrounds the coordinates and the quartet are soon washed up on the eponymous mysterious island. Now that they have found it, will Sean manage to find his grandfather? Will they ever get home?

Well, where to begin? As the title might suggest, this is classic Warner-Brothers; this is overproduced and under scripted. The special effects are amazing and slightly over the top, the script is mind-numbingly straight-forward but I did laugh at a couple of the jokes. Luiz Guzman plays the lovable doofus character brilliantly and his hero-worship for The Rock is cringe worthy, but very funny nonetheless. The juvenile love story between Sean and Keilani is laughable but hey, this is designed for all ages, so I guess the kids will enjoy this. Especially with the extended scenes full of vivacious colour and action (flying bees, fields of flowers, waterfalls, volcano etc)

The scene with the Rock and the berries was a totally random inclusion but shows off the 3D aspect of the film very well if the capacity you are watching it in allows it. Where this lost a star for me was that despite being a feel-good film that keeps the entire family glued to the seat, so much of what is said in the film is just plain factually wrong (not the giant bees, tiny sharks or anything purely for entertainment like that) - for example; the island has a picturesque cone volcano and yet Sean says "the tectonic plates are pulling apart" - which doesn't result in a volcano thusly-shaped. The Rock turns out to be some sort of closet-geophysicist-shaman who can predict, down to the hour, the rate of 'soil liquefaction' (a legitimate but completely unrelated process, to do with earthquakes) the island has left before it slides into the sea from a quick glance at the floor. Later; boy-genius Sean self-assuredly states that they are being chased by a White-throated Needletail bird, but the huge CGI bird is clearly the much-more visually pleasing Bee-Eater. I appreciate WB are making an attempt to involve books, biology & physics in the story, promoting reading & intrigue in younger generations; but then why fill their heads with scientific misinformation?

Extra content: Gag reel, deleted scenes - some of them worthy of inclusion in the main film; the Blu-ray has an interactive featurette on the interaction of actors and CGI components.

Anyhow, apologies for the lengthy rant. I just thought this was a great film aside from that; it left me feeling good and it's wholesome fun for the entire family, beautifully acted by the capable cast and supported by some wondrous CGI. Well worth a watch for a quality WB film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not A Bad Journey 2 Go On, 14 Jun 2012
By 
The Neon Weasel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this film leaves no cliche unused,there is simply no denying thats it is great family fun.Once your past the whole rebelious son not bonding with the oh so nice stepfather,dispite all his attempts,goo of the first 10 minutes or so,it settles down into a very enjoyable romp.There is action a plenty,a giant lizard,a golden volcano,earthquakes and Atlantis are all thrown into the mix.Not to mention a very inpressive sequence involving flying around on giant bees.The lead actors somehow manage not to be completely overshadowed by all of flashy visuals,Dwayne Johnson has fun sending up his tough guy image,and Michael Caine seems to be having a whale of a time as the Grandfather.

Theres nothing new on offer here,of any description,but who cares,the film is fast paced and fun,and has something for all ages to enjoy.If you Liked Journey To The Center Of The Earth,your going to enjoy this one just as much.So sit back,and be entertained for 90 minutes(minus the end credits),Journey 2 wont let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'LIGHT-HEARTED FAMILY FRIENDLY ENTERTAINMENT', 27 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The film combines the legend of 'Plato's' lost city of Atlantis' with 'Jules Verne's '20,000 leagues under the sea' and 'Mysterious Island' along with 'Robert Louise Stevenson's' 'Treasure Island'
'Sean Anderson' (Josh Hutcherson) has been receiving coded messages from his grandfather who had disappeared a few years back.
'Hank'(Dwayne Johnson) 'Sean's' step-dad offers to help work out the code, and using the relevant books locate the position of the Island, which they find doesn't appear on any maps.
'Sean' wants to go and search for his grandfather, 'Hank' after much thought agrees providing he goes too.
The two cannot find a guide to take them to the Islands supposed position in the Pacific at any price, until 'Gabato'(Luis Guzman) who owns a clapped-out Helicopter volunteers his services along with his daughter 'Kallani'(Vanessa Hudgens) in tow.
As they approach the supposed location of the Island they run into a fierce storm, the helicopter begins to break-up.
somehow the four survive the crash finding themselves on a beach, they are on the Island, on which they will discover wondrous places, much beauty along with plenty of danger.
And yes,they soon run into trouble, however 'Sean's' grandfather 'Alexander'(Michael Caine) appears, and saves the four from a giant lizard......the adventure has begun.
'Hank' realizes early on that the island will, in a few days be submerged, they now have to find a way off the Island.
The film has some impressive Special-Effects and '3D imagery to enjoy, it's not the best film you'll see, though i suspect the kids will love it, it is harmless fun throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST FILM!, 26 Feb 2012
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
JOURNEY 2 THE MYSTERIOUS ISLAND is even better than the first film. I loved the first one (JOURNEY TO THE CENTER OF THE EARTH) but this one was just epic! The special effects and 3D was some of the best I've ever seen and the storyline was extremely fun. The acting was mostly brilliant. I've seen better but it was still great! Michael Cane was, at times, just hilarious! The ending definately leaves it open for a third film, which I will certainly see! I hope this film makes a TON of money so they can actually make a third! I highly recommend JOURNEY 2 THE MYSTERIOUS ISLAND, especially if you liked the first film! COMPLETELY EPIC! 9.5/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed the new Journey To The Centre Of The Earth film then you will love this fun family adventure film too!, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Dwayne Johnson who is also known as The Rock has really good timing as a comic actor and when he had these red berries bouncing off his pecs chest muscles this had many people laughing in the cinema audience. The Mysterious Island has elephants small like domestic cats and ants as big as polo bears. Michael Caine is great as the wacky old grandpa and he is the reason why they are all stranded on this Mysterious Island because of his coded message which is grandson recorded. As they travel across the Island they come across a mega large green lizard which is enough to give any lizard hater nightmares and when riding these large bumble bees a even bigger bird drops it's number two all over one of our unlikely heros!
They must find a way off the island before the volcano erupts and causes the island to sink beneath the sea. My six year old daughter, partner and myself really enjoyed this fast paced fun adventure film which I will be buying when it's comes out on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jack Carter on a giant bee..., 28 Feb 2014
Sean Anderson receives a coded distress signal from a mysterious island that should not exist.

Unable to stop tracking the signal, he sets out with a small group on a journey to the mysterious island - a place few people have ever seen or lived to tell about.

What they find is an island of stunning beauty, strange and threatening life forms, volcanoes, mountains of gold and more astonishing secrets....

Yes, The Rock makes a lot of these movies, some of them are okay, and some of them feature Maurice Micklewhite flying a giant bee.

It does exactly what it says on the tin, step father and son bond on a dangerous trip, boy falls for hot girl, and girls dad is the comic relief.

The first movie was okay enough for my daughter, and this one fared pretty much the same, but I could have done with out the berry trick scene featuring The Rocks chest. I know it might have been done as if to apologiese to mothers for making them sit through it, but I didn't feel comfortable with this in a kids film.

As always, though, he is good with this type of stuff, because the film isn't about character development, it's about set pieces and special effects, which are all perfunctory.

The rest of the cast are so so, and Heaven knows what Caine was doing in this, he must need another house, because i cannot think of another reason as to why he would be in this.

It gets from A to B by way of C, and it's perfect for children, just very boring, and slightly creepy, for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning 3D, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey 2: The Mysterious Island (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film only works if you can switch off for a couple of hours and just concentrate on the stunning CGG and 3D effects.It does not have a great story line but the island scenes totally make up for it.You will find that you have to duck a couple of times to avoid being hit by objects flying out of your TV.A good humerous enjoyable family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Forgettable., 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey 2: The Mysterious Island (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I really like Michael Caine and The Rock. But despite this the film lacked some thing. And I quite cannot put my finger on it. If I compared it to say Jumanji it does not create that type of movie magic. But I would not say do not miss this film. As another mans meat is some one elses Potatoes. The 3D is Okay but not startling Worth a Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw this film..., 26 Feb 2012
I saw this film at the cinema and i think it is an amazing and funny film =), i would reccomend this film to anyone who likes exiting yet funny films. I would rate it 5 stars, it is hilarious. I am 11 and this is waht i think but i saw this film with a 12, 11, 11, 40, 9 year old people and everyone loved it, a brilliand family film i highly reccomend it =) xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic adventure, 16 Mar 2012
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say, I was in two minds wether to give this film a chance as it did seem to me like a second rate money spinning sequal on paper. The only returning actor from the first film is Josh Hutcherson and this again made me think it wasn't going to be great.
I did eventually give in to my son who kept nagging me to take him to see it, we saw it in 3D.
I really couldn't have been more wrong, the film was absolutely fantastic, I didn't miss Brendan Fraser at all and Dwayne 'The rock' Johnson who I don't normally like was great as Sean's(Josh Hutcherson) stepdad and Michael Caine as his grandad brought plenty of humour to the mix.
The story was an exciting adventure based on the Jules Verne novel of the same name,Sean and his stepdad, along with a tour guide and his daughter travel to a pacific island in search of his grandfather who hasn't been heard from in a while. Along the way they come across a hurricane, tiny elephants,a giant lizard and a gold erupting volcano among other things. once they find him, they have to get off the island before time runs out and the island sinks into the sea.
The cinematography and effects are breathtaking, it is the best film I have seen in 3D and I can't wait to watch it again. I have ordered the Blu-ray as I think it's worth paying for the better picture quality with a film like this, I just hope they make a third !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews