Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Burton's film
Dark Shadows is a typical Burton's film. It comes across as quirky, surreal, gothic and richly entertaining. I enjoyed the film. Johnny Depp proves how versatile he is as an actor. He plays the role of a vampire really well. I love the make -up and the costumes of the characters. The setting sets the tone of the film really well. The characters are interesting and...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light or dark? It's a misfire either way.
Dark Shadows is directed by Tim Burton and written by John August and Seth Grahame-Smith. It stars Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Chloe Moretz, Eva Green, Bella Heathcote, Jonny Lee Miller, Michelle Pfeiffer, Jackie Earle Haley and Gulliver McGrath. Music is by Danny Elfman and cinematography by Bruno Delbonnel. Based on the TV series of the same name, plot finds Depp...
Published 20 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Burton's film, 4 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dark Shadows is a typical Burton's film. It comes across as quirky, surreal, gothic and richly entertaining. I enjoyed the film. Johnny Depp proves how versatile he is as an actor. He plays the role of a vampire really well. I love the make -up and the costumes of the characters. The setting sets the tone of the film really well. The characters are interesting and eccentric.

The plot initially starts three centuries ago. The opening sequence shows a young Barnabas and his parents leaving Liverpool for a new life in an American fishing town. The family build a huge mansion. Barnabas becomes a businessmen and a servant played by Eva Green falls for him. She is later rejected and takes revenge by killing the parents. She is a witch. Barnabas returns alive in the 70s. Why going back to the 70s? The TV series is based on the 70s and was never shown in the UK. It is available on DVD, but only sold in the States if you are interested to watch the original TV series. The mansion is passed on to a new generation, who are dysfunctional and strange. Barnabas is a vampire and even the past haunts him, as you are about to discover. The film is filled with plenty of comedy moments and a few glory bloodshot moments. It has a good cast, as Michelle Pfeiffer and Helen Bonham compliment the main characters well with their roles.

Dark Shadows is classed as a comedy film. It is a bit like the Adams family, as it is gothic and vampire influenced. I admit it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. It is entertaining and worth seeing if you like to have a good laugh, but I would not say it is totally light hearted. The term light hearted is a bit of an understatement, as there are some sickening moments in the film. I enjoyed the film as a whole. I love the 70s nostalgic to the film. The good old days of the decade are relieved with some classic tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Very entertaining..., 22 Oct 2012
I wasn't planning on writing a review but when I saw how the movie review on amazon averaged out as 3.4 I had to step in and help ^_^

This movie is entertaining start to finish, it doesn't have a slow start (unlike other movies, I am sure we can all think of a few that do) it starts of with how Barnabas Collins turned in to a vampire and how he woke up buried alive two centuries later, very behind time.

What made me laugh was how old fashionably he acted towards everyone and Johnny Depp's acting was spot on!

No other actor could have portrayed the character in a more funny way than he did. So this is a must buy.

Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, I wouldn't think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different sort of vampire movie !, 16 Aug 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A funny well acted vampire movie for those of us who don't normally like that kind of film , there are plenty of funny scenes and cynical humour not normally associated with American offerings. Some of the music seems strange especially The Carpenters track "Top of the World" although it works very well. There is a lasting image of good triumphing over evil although in this case the good is in the guise of Johnny Depps' character as he eventually gets his revenge on the evil witch who sentenced him to 200 years of solitude. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, but entertaining, 10 Jun 2012
By 
S. Ahmad (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had forgotten that Johnny Depp can also be a serious actor - & here he plays the part of an English aristocrat settler in 1700s America - perfectly: having been turned into a vampire by an insanely jealous witch, he awakes 200 years later in 1970's America. To find a strange world, where the inevitable culture clash between the 2 eras is fertile ground for lots of laughs. And with background music of 1970s pop songs, it really is most enjoyable. Special effects - yes & quite well done, horror - not really, more on a par with Addams Family Values. OK, the plot is a bit simple, but you walk out of the cinema with a smile & not feeling as if you've wasted your money. Would buy the DVD provided it's well below a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Depp and Tim Burton - who wouldn't watch it, 19 April 2013
By 
JSL "Jen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was so funny, I couldn't stop laughing. It was very well acted, especially Johnny Depp, I would recommend it if you want to be entertained and have a good laugh. It was light and enjoyable and not difficult to watch or follow. A thoroughly enjoyable bit of fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected as this is so much better, 22 Oct 2012
When you get the pairing of Johnny Depp & Tim Burton you know 2 things
10 Visually impressive with the scenes,back drops & camera usage
2) It will be cooky & entertaining.
This goes so much further than the previous collaborations.
If you have seen the 60's & 90's revival of the classic tv show made in the 60's then you should know this is not like those.
Story line is loosely the same but this has been given a fresh shot of life.
Worth getting as it is the intricate details of Depp's acting that brings this to another level along with the star cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light or dark? It's a misfire either way., 16 Nov 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Shadows (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Dark Shadows is directed by Tim Burton and written by John August and Seth Grahame-Smith. It stars Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Chloe Moretz, Eva Green, Bella Heathcote, Jonny Lee Miller, Michelle Pfeiffer, Jackie Earle Haley and Gulliver McGrath. Music is by Danny Elfman and cinematography by Bruno Delbonnel. Based on the TV series of the same name, plot finds Depp as Barnabas Collins, a 200 year old vampire returning to the family mansion in 1972 to find his dysfunctional descendants in residence. With his old nemesis still to deal with and the changing of the times complicating matters still further, it's clear Barnabas has much on his hands.

The Burton and Depp combination, coupled with an American fan base of the original TV series, ensured that Dark Shadows made a decent profit at the box office. However, this does in no way prove to be a guide to the quality of Dark Shadows. It is in truth a muddled mess of a picture, in fact it comes off as a selfish exercise, it's a film that Burton and Depp appear to have made purely for themselves. Self confessed fans of the original TV show, of which only a cult fan base existed any way, there's no denying that Burton pleases the eyes with his visuals and Depp engages in that kooky way from the corner of the market he has cornered, but even their hardiest of fans must be growing a little concerned about the lack of feeling for their audience.

The film actually starts off quite promising, prologue and lead characters in place, a whiff of comedic horror in the air, but once Barnabas is unearthed from his 200 year old grave, it all goes quickly down hill. Not sure if it wants to be funny or creepy, or what pace of scene or tone should follow each set-up, it's weird for all the wrong reasons. The fish out of water premise quickly grows tired and the support characters to Depp's Barnabas are merely making up the numbers. Only Eva Green, who is so delectable she is made for Blu-ray, is able to compete on equal terms with Depp's latest kook, but even she is hindered by the weak screenplay. It's a shame and a waste rolled into one, because as gorgeous as it is to look at, and as sure as there is loving intent, Burton has crafted a disappointing over long mess of a movie that is neither homage or reinvention. 5/10 for Miss Green, the visuals and a snazzy sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burton now in the front rank of film directors, 17 Oct 2012
By 
P. Morgan "Philmaddict" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just caught this on DVD. Tim Burton's best effort since 'Sleepy Hollow' and very much in the same vein! Johnny Depp is perfect as vampire Barnabas Collins, with a fine cast of Burton regulars trailing in his wake. The sets are brilliant, the photography breathtaking and the story totally engrossing. One slight quibble would have to be the overuse of period pop songs. I would have really preferred more of Danny Elfman's orchestral score. But that is only a minor point in a class movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it The Adams Family? Is it Dracula? No, it's Dark Shadows., 4 Sep 2012
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The cinema trailer for this film featured a string of LOLs. Unfortunately, there were no further laughs in the movie which really didn't seem to know where it was headed. Drama? Comedy? Camp? Scary? In the end, it was a curious mix of all these but they added up to not very much. Depp - as always - provided a great performance (and those cheekbones!)
And the special effects were very special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burton and Depp ride again, 17 May 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Shadows (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Based on an obscure and little known in the uk at least 1960's american gothic soap opera, Dark Shadows tells the story of the very dysfunctional Collins family, a family with some dark and strange secrets including a 200 year old vampire, Barnabus, who was cursed by a witch and buried alive when he refuses to love her. Wakened in 1972, which if you are wondering why he isn't in the present day, is the year after the original tv show apparantly finished its run on american tv. I have never seen the original tv show but am aware and can understand why a lot of the show's american fans have protested the making of this movie but at the same time, if the original show is anything like this i can certainly see why director Tim Burton chose to make the movie a comedy. Very over the top and melodramatic but good fun to watch with good performances from Johnny Depp as vampire Barnabus Collins, Michelle Pfeiffer and Eva Green and good solid support from Johnny Lee Miller, Jackie Earl Haley, Chloe Grace Moretz and a couple of cameos from Alice Cooper as himself, (yes really!) and Christopher Lee and Helena Bonham Carter puts an appearance in as well, the film is amusing and while i admit director Tim Burton has done a lot better than this it at least isn't anywhere near as bad as his Planet Of The Apes remake. The film is visually very impressive too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Shadows (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [Region Free]
Dark Shadows (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [Region Free] by Johnny Depp (Blu-ray - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews