Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fun
A starry cast heads up this gorgeous looking, forties set gangster flick. A covert group of police officers are put together to bring down the tyranny of Mickey Cohen. Let the action commence.

This was a complete shock. Expecting a drawn out drama with a few action beats it was a surprise when this lit up the screen. Loads of great action set pieces and some...
Published 12 months ago by T. Cosens

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doesn't take itself too seriously
My wife had seen this film at the Cinema with my Son and she was keen to see it again so i purchased the Blu-ray with UV.The UV option lets you create an account online so you can share the film with up to 5 people wherever they may be located as the film is held on your Cloud Account.You can leave this option alone and still run the film,no problem.The film starts off...
Published 7 months ago by s


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime fighting Machine, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Hemesh Alles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great gangster movie, reminiscent of THE UNTOUCHABLES and SHARKEY'S MACHINE.It's about policemen and honest law enforcers faced with a struggle to fight criminals and corrupt lawmen and are then forced to fight a no holds battle against organised criminal syndicates using unauthorized force.Sean Penn is brilliant as the gangster boss.The other lead actors-Josh Brolin,Ray Gosling, and the numerous actors who fill cameo roles are all first class.This a very entertaining movie that is well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better watch the Untouchables, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Serves no purpose other than showcasing a series of tiresome gunfights
I liked this movie more when it was called The Untouchables (1987).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched the film a couple of months ago and decided to buy the DVD with some vouchers I had. I am pleased with how fast the DVD came and it's is a good film. Definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hommage to a by-gone era, 30 July 2013
By 
Rick "RickAnne :o)" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Ganster Squad is a nice tip & a wink to those classic ganster flicks of the 30's & 40's, when we had the likes of Cagney,Bogart, Eddie G & George Raft doing 'their thing'. With Ganster Squad there are moments you will reconise from other certain ganster flicks of this ilk, but it is done well. Sean Penn is a brooding, meancing Micky Cohen who is out to rule L.A & all the underworld business to boot. A task force is made up to sort out the problem that is Mickey Cohen & then we are on a rollercoaster ride of intrigue & danger, shootouts 'a plenty'. This movie is glorious in its bluray format & the sound on my 5:1 is magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Film, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film got mixed reviews when it was released, however I can confirm, in my humble opinion that this is quite simply the BEST gangster film since Casino, it captures 40s LA perfectly and has flawless performances from Ryan Gosling and Josh Brolin, as well as a fantastic turn from that leftie idiot Sean Penn (as much as it pains me to say) WATCH THIS FILM YOU WONT REGRET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gangster Squad blu-ray, 19 July 2013
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well,after reading a few negative reviews of this film I was undecided whether to buy it or not,am I glad I did!!!
Gangster Squad blu-ray is perfect Home Cinema,great picture quality,sound too,and thoroughly entertaining,excellent cast,with Sean Penn doing a marvellous job as Mickey Cohen,"THE BAD GUY",it,s violent/gory,as you would expect from the subject matter,some real nasty scenes,but we,re dealing with some real NASTY characters.
I was pleasantly surprised to see a real "good guys versus bad guys" film,a clear line between good/bad,although some of the good guy scenes are brutal,but they have to be,the start of the film is "self-explanatory",then you know what,s coming.
Gangster Squad blu-ray is Highly Recommended!!!
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We watched this film on a flight to US so bought this DVD to watch it on a larger screen. If you like action and gangster movies this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although its full of action I still thought this film was amazing. I think most girls will enjoy the plot too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see film, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first watched the film at the cinema......I loved it .....the acting was brilliant in my view ....and it made the story more appealing because it is based on a true story ....I would definatly recommend it to my friends and beyond ...saying that it is violent as an afterthought .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget The Negative Reviews, 22 Jun 2013
Gangster Squad is a well made, entertaining, exciting and excellent film. Josh Brolin ,as always ,is fantastic in his roll as are all the rest of the cast.It is difficult to understand the negative reviews,but that's the way it always is. Do not hesitate to watch this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Ryan Gosling (Blu-ray - 2013)
7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews