Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fun
A starry cast heads up this gorgeous looking, forties set gangster flick. A covert group of police officers are put together to bring down the tyranny of Mickey Cohen. Let the action commence.

This was a complete shock. Expecting a drawn out drama with a few action beats it was a surprise when this lit up the screen. Loads of great action set pieces and some...
Published 13 months ago by T. Cosens

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doesn't take itself too seriously
My wife had seen this film at the Cinema with my Son and she was keen to see it again so i purchased the Blu-ray with UV.The UV option lets you create an account online so you can share the film with up to 5 people wherever they may be located as the film is held on your Cloud Account.You can leave this option alone and still run the film,no problem.The film starts off...
Published 8 months ago by s


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster Squad [DVD] (DVD)
where do I start?... this film is pants.. utter s***... I have never wanted
a villain to win so much, than in this film... it is based on a "true" story...
The story of the Gangster Squad's mission to stop Mickey's Cohen's
criminal LA empire... and that is all that is "true" in this movie...

It is rubbish!,,, piss-poor... s***e...

ChinaTown and LA Confidential, this film ISN'T... Just read the Wikipedia
page on Mickey Cohen... it is much more exciting, and true, than this pile
of dog-s***...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gangster Drama by numbers, 15 Jan 2013
Gangster Squad
Dir. Ruben Fleicher / Cert 15 / 111 minutes)

How can a film with so many guns, so much blood and such a fine cast fall so flat? I'm a big fan of the genre, so I had high expectations for Gangster Squad, but everything here has been done before and done better. It feels to me as if the filmmakers worked to a shopping list of ingredients, a tick-list of `must-include' tropes thrown together, checked off one-by-one by cautious, smug Hollywood execs, dollar signs for eyes, staring greedily out of empty bloodless sockets.

The result is a workmanlike, shallow and impassionate jigsaw of mismatched pieces, all style and no substance, all pizazz and no plot, with dialogue that sounds like it's come straight out of `How to Write A Gangster Movie for Dummies'. I couldn't even enjoy it as a piece of pastiche because the characters were so utterly dimensionless Performances are weak across the board - Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone can't decide whether to go for ham or cheese, and have none of the chemistry (sexual or otherwise) that they brought to Crazy Stupid Love and somebody really needed to take Nick Nolte and Sean Penn aside and tell them that this wasn't a pantomime. Perhaps I should lighten-up - from what I understand, many people have enjoyed Penn's over-the-top villain, but I'm sorry, having him snarling lines like `Out here, I'm a GOD!!!' took me completely out of the story and the drama. Admittedly, the shoot `em up climax is well-shot and slickly executed, and the closest the film ever comes to having a pulse, but by this point, the damage is done and I couldn't care less who lives and who dies, who wins and who loses.

If you want super-slick 1940s noir-thriller, look no further than Curtis Hanson's superb LA Confidential (1997), or do yourself a favour and invest in HBO's continuing masterwork Boardwalk Empire, a contemporary example of how to do period-set gangster drama intelligently and unpredictably. If you want to waste your time and your money, see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loooove!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster Squad [DVD] (DVD)
Such an awesome watch, Ryan Gosling made it impossible to look away with his devilish good looks!
Quick delivery and decently priced too. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster Squad [DVD] (DVD)
Quite comedic (not sure on purpose or not) but very enjoyable film and Ryan Gosling is great as per usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It did me good. I enjoyed watching this flick, it had good scenes, not a great movie, but entertaining. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Gangster Squad [DVD] (DVD)
Bought these as I had seen them and really liked them. A bit dubious about second hand DVD and when the arrived I thought they had made a mistake and sent new ones! Really pleased Brilliant service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun - some great performances, 8 April 2014
By 
J. Pascal "Pasc'n'Mart" (Ruislip, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gangster Squad (DVD)
I watched the TV show, Mob City, recently - and this film is pretty much based on the same events. Well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GANGSTER SQUAD .... BRIAN DE PALMA'S "THE UNTOUCHABLES" IS NO LONGER UNTOUCHABLE !!!, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Travmeister (Carlton, Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am a huge fan of Brian De Palma's greatest film "The Untouchables", which is "in my humble opinion" ... the best "cops vs gangsters" movie ever made. As such, I never thought anyone would make a film to "touch" it ...... UNTIL NOW !!!

Ruben Fleischer's "Gangster Squad" is a worthy challenger for the title (pardon the pun, considering Sean Penn's bad guy "Mickey Cohen" is an ex-boxer). So much so that I watched it at the cinema 5 TIMES ..... WHICH WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE, BUT FOR IT'S CINEMA RUN ENDING!

It has everything you could possibly want from a great "cops vs gangsters" movie :-
Great story / Great cast :-
1. Hot Leading actress - Emma Stone (including a bit of side boob ... nice!)
2. Hot Leading actors - Ryan Gosling & Josh Brolin (if you are "a lady", or "like that sort of thing"!)
3. Great bad guy - Sean Penn's "Mickey Cohen" is up there with Al Pacino's cult "Tony Montana"
(he even adds his own unique line near the end of the movie. Although it's not quite up there with the classic "Say Hello to my Leeettle Fren!")
Lashings of violence, blood-letting, & vulgarities !
Superb camera-work (notably the scene where Ryan Gosling finally decides to join the "Gangster squad", when something bad happens to a young friend if his)
Excellent & atmospheric sound track.
Good set & costume design.

All in all this is a TRULY GREAT FILM ..... WHICH I DOUBT WILL BE BETTERED THIS YEAR (EVEN BY THE HUGE BLOCK-BUSTERS) !!!
Richies Rating = 83%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster Squad [DVD] (DVD)
Great story line with some excellent acting! Sean Penn played a great part and was very convincing as Mickey Cohen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you like gangsters and action then this is definately the film for you. Great acting, great story line and a good ending. 100% recommend this film, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gangster Squad [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Ryan Gosling (Blu-ray - 2013)
6.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews