Customer Reviews


397 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Alright, let's go make a movie."
Ah, Ben Affleck, never really bothers about the cinematography, but he is a damn good storyteller!

Here he offers a recap (with some lies thrown in, a couple of my fellow reviews pointed those out) of an amazing true life story, when brilliant and unconventional CIA agent, Tony Mendez, suggested to the US government production of a sci-fi thriller (taking place...
Published 8 months ago by Lola

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ben and his beard to the rescue
`Argo' is one of those films `based on real events,' which basically means that Hollywood has beefed up various aspects to put bums on seats.

It's set at the end of the seventies when six Americans are left stranded in Iran, leaving Ben Affleck and his beard to hatch an ingenious plan to make them pose as science-fiction film makers and fly them out of...
Published 13 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 134 35 3640 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forego, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film is wack. I turned it off after about 40 mins. What exactly is going on is not made clear at all and I'm told it does get more exciting and tense by the 3rd act, but I seriously couldn't wait that long. Listening to all the verbal diarrhea and attempts at humour was embarrassing. Fair play it did win the best picture Oscar but like the Artist last year it really didn't deserve too. Go check out The Town or Gone Baby Gone if you want to see a good Ben Affleck directed movie and steer well clear of this s***.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally satisfying and oozing old-school Hollywood charm, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Ben Affleck's thriller is sourced from a recently declassified US story. Creating tension and vibrancy, he manages to produce the most satisfying adrenaline rush of the year. Bound to reap award glory, it may not be 'worthy' fare, but it is an undeniable crowd pleaser. A killer cast and a gloriously surreal script, he expertly concocts a pulping thriller that shows that fact is indeed often stranger than fiction. It is a step up from the Town (2010) and a step up from Gone Baby Gone (2007). Welcome, Mr Affleck to the directorial big leagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good way to get to sleep on a long flight!, 7 Jun 2013
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Apart from the historical inaccuracies this film was just boring. It sent me to sleep within 15 mins. Give me Zero Dark Thirty any day. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TV movie, 20 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
I thought 'The Town' was quite good so was expecting more from this.It looked and felt like a cheap made for TV drama.Not much suspense or drama unfortunately.None of the characters were particularly memorable or sympathetic so you didn't care if they were caught.The whole thing just fizzles out at the end.Maybe you would have to be an american to find it of any interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nail-biting suspense, 1 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
If nail-biting suspense thrills you, watch this film - it is a masterclass in this area. I usually steer clear of formal CIA/government things but this manages to include that side without it bogging down the principal human story-telling which regular folk can relate to. I can see now why Affleck won the awards he did - he deserves it for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An idea so ridiculous it has to work, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Ben Affleck's rise from dodgy actor to top director is almost worthy of being a movie in itself and his 3rd film after the excellent Gone Baby Gone and The Town pushes Affleck amazingly into must watch territory with this tense, gripping and surprisingly very funny in places film. Set in 1979 and 1980 the film follows the attempt to rescue hostages in Iran who are trapped in the Canadian embassy by posing as a film crew making a fake scifi movie, the Star Wars rip off sounding Argo. As bad ideas go it's ridiculous but as one character played by Bryan Cranston puts it it's the best bad idea we've got. Performances all round are excellent with Ben Affleck giving his best performance in front of the camera as the CIA analyst who comes up with the idea after watching a Planet Of The Apes movie on tv and as the CIA don't have any other options they reluctantly agree to it with Affleck getting the help from Hollywood in the form of make up man John Goodman and producer Alan Arkin who between them steal the film with some hillarious one liners. Supporting cast are excellent full of fammiliar faces from tv starting with Breaking Bad's Bryan Cranston in fact there isn't a bad performance here with a story so ridiculous it has to be true and amazingly is! A highly reccommended film and i can't wait to see what Affleck comes up with next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CANT USE IT, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
VERY DISAPOINTED KEPT THIS AS WE WERE GOING TO FRANCE WERE WE HAVE A BLUERAY PLAYER PUT THE DISC IN AND IT WAS NOT COMPATABLE WITH MY MACHINE IT TURNS OUT IT WAS A UV COPY.A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER.BACK IN FRANCE I READ ON THE BOX AND THERE WAS SUPPOSED TO 2 DISCS 1 BLUE RAY + 1UV COPY ONLY 1 DISC IN BOX. DIDNT SEEM ANY POINT COMPLAINING AS IT WAS SUCH ALONG TIME SINCE I PURCHASED IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Absolute rubbish!!!
Its already in the dustbin and it just goes to show what a farce the oscars are!
Save your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Argo, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
We were enjoying the film when about half way through it stopped playing, It did not restart, thought this was due to being 2nd hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
The fact that it was based on a True Story made it compelling viewing. Very well acted and kept you guessing right to the end as to whether they made it or not. Would recommend to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3640 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free]
Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] by Ben Affleck (Blu-ray - 2013)
7.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews