Customer Reviews


422 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Oscar Movie
Why Ben Affleck didn't get the best director award that year I will never know as it truly was the best picture.If you watch the extended version there is a constant ratcheting up of the tension through disbelieving CIA chiefs to a near cancelling whilst our hero is actually in Iran the night before.This movie for me me pushed all the right buttons - great...
Published 3 months ago by Ivor Allison

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ben and his beard to the rescue
`Argo' is one of those films `based on real events,' which basically means that Hollywood has beefed up various aspects to put bums on seats.

It's set at the end of the seventies when six Americans are left stranded in Iran, leaving Ben Affleck and his beard to hatch an ingenious plan to make them pose as science-fiction film makers and fly them out of...
Published 15 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ben and his beard to the rescue, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
`Argo' is one of those films `based on real events,' which basically means that Hollywood has beefed up various aspects to put bums on seats.

It's set at the end of the seventies when six Americans are left stranded in Iran, leaving Ben Affleck and his beard to hatch an ingenious plan to make them pose as science-fiction film makers and fly them out of there.

If you want to know how it ended, Google the true story. What you have here is Hollywood's interpretation of it. And, looking at it from an entertainment point of view, it does do the job. It's pretty intense in places, which, if you're after an edgy thriller, should leave you satisfied.

However, if you're looking for something a little more true to life, then you may find it hard to get over some of the major Hollywood views. As usual, the Americans are ultra-heroic, whereas the Iranians are presented as bungling incompetents who are too busy burning US flags to be any more terrifying that your average Scooby Doo villain. Of course there are the little alterations, too. In real life, the escaping Americans were temporarily sheltered by the British. In the film they take great care to point out how the British turned them away - grumble, grumble, grumble.

Bottom line: if you look at it as entertainment with some terrible seventies haircuts and a fantastic beard co-starring on Ben Affleck's face (which definitely should have won the Best Supporting Actor Oscar, in my opinion) then it works. Historically - well, let's just say it will pick up more than its fair share of criticism for its version of `the truth.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


168 of 191 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the lie, 24 Nov 2012
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a taut and gripping thriller. Well made and acted about extricating diplomats from Iran under the guise of a departing film crew.

The tension builds up nicely with some good humourous moments, mainly from John Goodman. I have to say I suspect that the numerous cliff hangers were theatrical licence but heck it makes for superb viewing!

Like a lot of movies, the facts are often victims of the drama. In the film the CIA states that the hostages were rejected by the Brits and the Kiwis. That is not true. The Brits did take them in and it was only when the British embassy itself faced being stormed that they were moved to the Canadians. Why so many movies select to distort facts unnecessarily is a mystery? Maybe it is US politics? But it debases the film.

Likewise, we had some Canadian guests who had refused to see the film on the basis that most of the work was done by the Canadians, for which the credit was hi jacked by the CIA in the movie. So, what's new? But it remains a gripping movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent watch, poor blu ray transfer, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Fraz (Glasgow,Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Interesting story about the hostage crisis in Iran in the eary eighties with, i suspect, a fair bit of artistic licence.It focuses on the 6 americans who escaped from the embassy when it was stormed by crazed extremist students bent on trying the embassy staff as spies.The 6 escape and find refuge in the house of the Canadian ambassador.The film is about the plan put together to get them out without them being caught and executed. It plods a bit until about half an hour from the end when it actually gets quite tense. Some good performances especially from Alan Arkin who has some amusing lines. It's definitely worth a watch but don't waste your money on the blu ray version as its grainy and barely better than dvd ,if at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Oscar Movie, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray)
Why Ben Affleck didn't get the best director award that year I will never know as it truly was the best picture.If you watch the extended version there is a constant ratcheting up of the tension through disbelieving CIA chiefs to a near cancelling whilst our hero is actually in Iran the night before.This movie for me me pushed all the right buttons - great direction,superb unobtrusive photography,and a real authenticity for the period. OK so the Iranian revolutionary guard are seen as a bit bungling distracted villains and we have an all conquering American hero, but if you take it as a really good thriller rather than a drama documentary - which it isn't - then you will thoroughly enjoy it. I await Mr. Afflecks next movie with interest - as director - this will be a hard act to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Alright, let's go make a movie.", 14 Nov 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Ah, Ben Affleck, never really bothers about the cinematography, but he is a damn good storyteller!

Here he offers a recap (with some lies thrown in, a couple of my fellow reviews pointed those out) of an amazing true life story, when brilliant and unconventional CIA agent, Tony Mendez, suggested to the US government production of a sci-fi thriller (taking place in the Middle East), called "Argo". The ingenious plan to get out six employees of American Embassy in Iran, who were hiding in refuge trying to avoid the destiny of their fellow American officials, who were kept hostages after the Iranian politically driven mob stormed the US Embassy in Tehran.

Two hours of this "nearly"-documentary film flew by. "Argo" is a watchable, enjoyable account of the brave (if not insolent) attempt to get the six Americans home. The film has intelligent dialogue, irony, sarcasm and plenty of nail-biting moments.

Taking into account that the majority of the audience will know little to nothing of the story (I certainly did not), and Ben Affleck is not an actor I would run to see performing, "Argo" delivers a brilliant entertainment and never fails to preserve suspense! Four and a half to five stars, easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A very watchable and well made film which provides entertainment ( forgive the cliche) for all the family. Although the film is 'based on facts' the only niggle, which has been voiced a number of times, is that there are inaccuracies. It would have been satisfying for the Brits to get the praise they deserve and may well have enhanced the overall story. Never mind well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not worthy of an Oscar - not even remotely worthy., 16 Aug 2014
By 
John K. Gateley "johngateley" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Finally got round to watching this movie. After all the build up, I was expecting something more gritty and fast-paced but all I got was the first half which drags itself along at a slow pace and a second half which is a bit like watching The Sweeney. The characters are poorly crafted - you never really get to know any of them. The 'plot' is basically that Ben Affleck is sent to Iraq to get some US | Canadian people out of Iraq which he does. That's it. It is such a pedestrian movie that even the Blu-ray version just looks cheaply shot. The streets look like somewhere in Eastern Europe rather than Iraq. Iraqis are painted as medieval primitives running around with guns and knives. The US conquers yet again. The film seems to have this seventies sepia hue over the pictures which just makes it feel dated - like watching Shaft!
Not remotely worthy of an Oscar rather like Affleck is not worthy of being Batman. What's the guy doing to get these awards and roles that the rest of us are not?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fiction and Brit- and New Zealand-bashing, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
I enjoyed 'Argo'.
Until I decided to research the events on which it is based. To state that the British and the New Zealand embassies turned away the 6 Americans is grossly inaccurate and very unfair. I'm getting so fed up with Hollywood bashing Britain in supposedly factual films. Enjoy as a thriller but nothing more. And shame on you President Carter for appearing on the extra and giving undeserved status to this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly excellent, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Treat it as a thriller where you already know the ending and it is fine, but as a piece of history it as closer to Blackadder or U-571.

Only 4 stars as I cannot imagine watching it a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Thriller, 10 Nov 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argo (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Without doubt , "Argo" is the best film that I have seen this year. It ticked all the boxes for me - a tense,intelligent thriller,great acting and plenty of high drama. The backdrop to the film is the Iranian Revolution of 1979 and the capturing of US citizens by Islamic revolutionaries to be held as hostage until the USA extradited the former Shah back to Iran. After an angry mob stormed the US embassy and took the hostages, six US embassy staff escaped and fled to the home of the Canadian Ambassador who agreed to shelter them. Meanwhile back in the USA a CIA agent ,played superbly by Ben Affleck, comes up with the idea of going to Tehran and under the guise of scouting the city for a location for a new science fiction film called Argo, rescue the six fugitives by pretending that they were part of a Canadian film crew and flying them out of Iran. It is a high risk plan and there is great suspense and tension as it plays out. This film is based on a declassified true story which makes the film all the more incredible. "Argo" is a perfect thriller - its combination of history,politics and espionage is a winning one and the movie is paced and filmed superbly. This is a really good film that I would consider to be Oscar winning material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free]
Argo (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] by Ben Affleck (Blu-ray - 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews