Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still keeps going -- different, but good
I have read some of the reviews (in particular, the ones that are not too positive) and I have to say: It still makes me laugh out loud... :-) OK, this season has several week episodes: The back-and-forth episodes at the beginning of the second disk are pretty boring. Seems that they did not really have something for a complete episode, so these are just patchworks of...
Published on 6 Oct. 2012 by Sebastian Boecker

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments, just not that many.
As much as I love the first 3 series I can accept that shows must grow as do characters, but TBBT has grown into a generic Friends clone at the cost of it's quirkyness. I even enjoyed season 4 but the cracks were beginning to show. It seems such a shame because the show's premise can allow for the mining of comedy gold in areas that other sitcoms just can't go...
Published on 3 Sept. 2012 by Portal Cake


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still keeps going -- different, but good, 6 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I have read some of the reviews (in particular, the ones that are not too positive) and I have to say: It still makes me laugh out loud... :-) OK, this season has several week episodes: The back-and-forth episodes at the beginning of the second disk are pretty boring. Seems that they did not really have something for a complete episode, so these are just patchworks of small bits and pieces. But the first episodes and the last about eight are really fun to watch
One big point of discussion seems to be: Not enough science. Too much personal life. I do not care too much that the focus of the series has changed. People change. Repetition is boring. My other two beloved series (House, Monk) really got boring when it got to the fifth season. Because nothing changed. Just more of the same. Only different.
I am a scientist (somewhere between Sheldon and Bernadette in discipline) and I *love* to see good jokes about the scientific part of their lives. But we had loads of great, great jokes on that front that at least I will never forget ("Geology is not a real science!", and the spherical sheep in vacuum joke, and the dark side of the moon). But people from science should be allowed to have a personal life, to change, to develop. (Sorry for my bad English.) And the focus on the more personal stuff is just cool because otherwise, it would get repetitious. Leslie was great, but only for some time. Kripke is definitely great, but I would not want his rhotacism (just got that from Wikipedia) in every episode -- it is only this funny. So, yeah: If you love the characters, and if you think that "a little different" can still be good, then the fifth season is good for you. Full stop.
I am more worried about the sixth season: They are so happy showing Howard floating through the space station, there is hardly anything happening in the first episode. But I hope that what we have seen in the finale will produce, again, something new and pretty crazy. I have always liked Stuart, and it appears we are seeing a hell more of him now! ;-) And finally, Rajesh has found somebody to love... How sweet! I hope for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE UNIVERSE IS STARTING TO CONDENSE, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Currently into its fifth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. Even if the show seems to have slowed down form its initial explosive impetus, I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is **consistently** brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
His equally super-intelligent (yet sexually confused girlfriend), Amy Farrah Fowler, (which Sheldon finally claimed) received a far more enlarged role this fifth season. However, she was not a very good addition and she unbalances the show. Her character only manages to blur the focus form Sheldon (there is only room for one genius!), diffuse a number of comically charged situations and gum up the show's flow.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself (who Sheldon tries to "help" by steering him towards a teaching career), he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny. Which crush, like lunar eclipses, follow a predicted yet unavoidable periodicity.
Leonard tried his hand in a long-distance relationship this season with his friend Raj's sister, Priya, but he seems to be gravitating back towards Penny once more.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD (and Sheldon will never let him forget it). An engineer (whose crowning achievements were a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle and a liquid waste management solution), he also managed to wreck the Mars Rover in hopes of landing a girl (but he made sure no one can prove anything).
The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Howard used to be the show-stealer. Whenever he entered the scene you just knew he would offer such an outrageous perceptive that would render you speechless. Now, if only Howard's character was allowed to continue in its stellar trajectory. He has been weighted down by his fiancée, Bernadette, who is very likeable, but also is cramping his style. Not to mention that she, slowly yet inescapably, is turning into his scary mother.

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley. His character, even in the fifth season, remains underdeveloped.

Then there is Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends (Sheldon has in fact calculated the exact number of them, extrapolated from a bell-curve that started at 14)- and, obviously, from her neighbors.
One of the best fifth season moments: slipping in the "Who is the greatest?" cheer between Sheldon's patented knock of repeated "Penny!".

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments, just not that many., 3 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
As much as I love the first 3 series I can accept that shows must grow as do characters, but TBBT has grown into a generic Friends clone at the cost of it's quirkyness. I even enjoyed season 4 but the cracks were beginning to show. It seems such a shame because the show's premise can allow for the mining of comedy gold in areas that other sitcoms just can't go.

Why can't leonard have a major success which puts sheldon's nose out of joint? Why can't we see Raj's mammouth struggle to overcome his selective mutism? Why can't Howard build a thingymabob that allows him so much success that he puts Sheldon's name as a footnote in his memoirs? Why can't there be a reversal where Penny goes desperately chasing Leonard after Leonard comes to realise that she doesn't care for him as much as he does for her, such as stealing his mail, doing favours for him? Perhaps they even manage to fix the lift! Something as simple as that can change the dynamics of the show.

Instead we have stories about not getting a hair cut, fun with flags, confronting a bully, battling for an office, ruining a toy teleporter, going round to Wil Wheaton's house and bridesmaid dress shopping. This is not to say that some of the episodes are not funny. There are some terrific one liners and anything with Stuart from the comic book store is pure gold. But for every classic line about the bone density of an 80 year old man there is a truly desperate attempt for laughs about getting wood whilst playing Settlers Of Catan.

Sheldon used to be 80% genius, 20% child, now he's the opposite. Why does someone as popular and likeable as Penny spend so much time with nerds such as AFF and Bernadette? The show was how she bounced off 4 uber nerds, now there are 6 nerds on the show. Leonard has turned into an obnoxious douche. Howard is domesticated and lost his appeal.

With the show becoming more successful in this progression I can't see it coming back to what made it special in the first place. To do that they'd have to get rid of AFF and Bernadette for a start. Come on fellas, you can bring it back, just get creative rather than going through the motions!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 Seasons in, still going strong..., 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I'll probably never get tired of the Big Bang Theory. In my opinion, one of the best sitcoms ever. With that said....Season 5 is a bit weaker than Season 1-3 (therefore only 4 stars) but probably on par with Season 4. That's still waaay ahead of your average sitcom, therefore definitely a buying recommendation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but still funny, 5 May 2012
By 
Anthony Green "cascode" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
The first 3 seasons of TBBT were pure gold, season 4 was an amalgum of gold and silver, but right from episode 1 of season 5 there has been something not quite "right". The pacing seems to be off and and I just don't laugh as much.

However, regardless of how much anyone may criticise season 5 it is several orders of magnitude funnier than any other sitcom currently on air. The show might be coasting along on autopilot at the moment but in comparison to anything else it still sparkles.

Also, on repeated viewings it is funnier. TBBT has always had great repeat viewing strength (like all great comedy) but I didn't "get" a lot of season 5 until I'd watched it twice - my wife thought so as well. Does that mean the scripts are not as well written? It certainly isn't the acting, which is as good as ever.

So overall, not as good as past series, but still funny and worth viewing. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I love the big bang theory, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the big bang theory. normally I buy my movies and TV shows from play movies, but it season 5 was cheaper on Amazon video (where you stream it) so I got it from here instead. I do have a couple of complaints, only one is serious the others are just really personal preference. I have a hearing impairment and was a bit upset that there was no subtitles (play movies (usually) has subtitles), it was a bit annoying that you can't actually download programmes once you've bought them (you can on google play), you have to stream them. also when I bought this you couldn't watch them on your tablet and had to do it on the phone - but you can now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glory days have gone, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I loved TBBT from the start, buying my boxsets from the US because they weren't coming out in the UK fast enough, the world stopped when BBT was on, watching the +1 channel to laugh all over again ..... that was my life through seasons 1 to 3, season 4 was a bit .... hmmm, I'll catch it when it repeats later during the week, Season 5 was tivo'd for later on .... oh, the laughs were there, but not as laugh out loud - more a polite titter. "Shelly" and Lactose Lenny still my favourite odd couple and get the most laughs, but I hate to say it, being a gal myself but the ladies have kinda upset the Nerd chemistry!! I still love TBBT, but was hoping for a few more good seasons before it got that tired feeling!!! Would always recommend the early seasons to everyone though .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Running out of ideas fast, 5 May 2012
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
If The Big Bang Theory was a band, I'd be opening this review with 'I prefer their earlier, less commercial stuff'. Seasons 3 and 4 had some hints of dumbing down the science and nerd references in exchange for a Friends clone, but series 5 takes this further than ever. Far too many episodes are revolving around the kind of trivialities and thin stereotypes of virtually every other sitcom. When the first 5 minutes of a series manage to ruin one of the best gags of the previous series (Sheldon's 'what does it look like?' reaction to the aftermath of Penny and Raj's ill-advised hookup), you know you're in trouble.

Plus, a lot of plot ideas are being repeated. Difficulties with voice-activated phones? Done in season 1. Barry Kripke's speech impediment? Done every time he's featured, and just childish anyway. Howard and Raj's bromance? Amy's strange relationship with Penny? Nothing new there. Howard has become far too watered-down and domesticated in recent seasons, and I can't help thinking Bernadette has always taken far more out of the show than she's added. The whole he's-Jewish-she's-Catholic thing doesn't have as much comic mileage as the writers seem to think. Amy can be irritating but does at least give extra comic direction to discuss female matters from a Sheldony perspective - when used properly. Her obsessive commissioning of a painting of Penny to supposedly cement their friendship is certainly not proper use.

Admittedly, I've enjoyed rewatching series 4 on DVD far more than I did when it was first on TV, so maybe this will happen again. It's just hard to see there being too many hidden character subtleties or multi-layered jokes as there once were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Michelle (Dunfermline, Fife) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Another great series! Never disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bazinger, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was great to watch them all in order with no adverts and when we wanted to. Downloaded before we went on holiday - great idea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
£12.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews