Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still keeps going -- different, but good
I have read some of the reviews (in particular, the ones that are not too positive) and I have to say: It still makes me laugh out loud... :-) OK, this season has several week episodes: The back-and-forth episodes at the beginning of the second disk are pretty boring. Seems that they did not really have something for a complete episode, so these are just patchworks of...
Published on 6 Oct. 2012 by Sebastian Boecker

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments, just not that many.
As much as I love the first 3 series I can accept that shows must grow as do characters, but TBBT has grown into a generic Friends clone at the cost of it's quirkyness. I even enjoyed season 4 but the cracks were beginning to show. It seems such a shame because the show's premise can allow for the mining of comedy gold in areas that other sitcoms just can't go...
Published on 3 Sept. 2012 by Portal Cake


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still keeps going -- different, but good, 6 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I have read some of the reviews (in particular, the ones that are not too positive) and I have to say: It still makes me laugh out loud... :-) OK, this season has several week episodes: The back-and-forth episodes at the beginning of the second disk are pretty boring. Seems that they did not really have something for a complete episode, so these are just patchworks of small bits and pieces. But the first episodes and the last about eight are really fun to watch
One big point of discussion seems to be: Not enough science. Too much personal life. I do not care too much that the focus of the series has changed. People change. Repetition is boring. My other two beloved series (House, Monk) really got boring when it got to the fifth season. Because nothing changed. Just more of the same. Only different.
I am a scientist (somewhere between Sheldon and Bernadette in discipline) and I *love* to see good jokes about the scientific part of their lives. But we had loads of great, great jokes on that front that at least I will never forget ("Geology is not a real science!", and the spherical sheep in vacuum joke, and the dark side of the moon). But people from science should be allowed to have a personal life, to change, to develop. (Sorry for my bad English.) And the focus on the more personal stuff is just cool because otherwise, it would get repetitious. Leslie was great, but only for some time. Kripke is definitely great, but I would not want his rhotacism (just got that from Wikipedia) in every episode -- it is only this funny. So, yeah: If you love the characters, and if you think that "a little different" can still be good, then the fifth season is good for you. Full stop.
I am more worried about the sixth season: They are so happy showing Howard floating through the space station, there is hardly anything happening in the first episode. But I hope that what we have seen in the finale will produce, again, something new and pretty crazy. I have always liked Stuart, and it appears we are seeing a hell more of him now! ;-) And finally, Rajesh has found somebody to love... How sweet! I hope for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE UNIVERSE IS STARTING TO CONDENSE, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Currently into its fifth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. Even if the show seems to have slowed down form its initial explosive impetus, I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is **consistently** brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
His equally super-intelligent (yet sexually confused girlfriend), Amy Farrah Fowler, (which Sheldon finally claimed) received a far more enlarged role this fifth season. However, she was not a very good addition and she unbalances the show. Her character only manages to blur the focus form Sheldon (there is only room for one genius!), diffuse a number of comically charged situations and gum up the show's flow.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself (who Sheldon tries to "help" by steering him towards a teaching career), he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny. Which crush, like lunar eclipses, follow a predicted yet unavoidable periodicity.
Leonard tried his hand in a long-distance relationship this season with his friend Raj's sister, Priya, but he seems to be gravitating back towards Penny once more.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD (and Sheldon will never let him forget it). An engineer (whose crowning achievements were a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle and a liquid waste management solution), he also managed to wreck the Mars Rover in hopes of landing a girl (but he made sure no one can prove anything).
The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Howard used to be the show-stealer. Whenever he entered the scene you just knew he would offer such an outrageous perceptive that would render you speechless. Now, if only Howard's character was allowed to continue in its stellar trajectory. He has been weighted down by his fiancée, Bernadette, who is very likeable, but also is cramping his style. Not to mention that she, slowly yet inescapably, is turning into his scary mother.

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley. His character, even in the fifth season, remains underdeveloped.

Then there is Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends (Sheldon has in fact calculated the exact number of them, extrapolated from a bell-curve that started at 14)- and, obviously, from her neighbors.
One of the best fifth season moments: slipping in the "Who is the greatest?" cheer between Sheldon's patented knock of repeated "Penny!".

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "We Both Know That's Your Koala Face.", 5 Jun. 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The traditional multi-camera sitcom is struggling to make a come back, and the show that is definitely helping the resurgence is The Big Bang Theory. It's just finished season 5 , and is going as strong as ever.

The show follows the misadventures of four brilliant but socially awkward scientists, and their hot, normal neighbor. The last two seasons have introduced some equally brilliant women as love interests for at least two of the guys. While some don't like those characters, I happen to think they've really added to the show.

Season 5 picks up exactly where season 4 left off. Penny (Kaley Cuoco) has just spent a drunken night with Raj (Kunal Nayyar). While it wasn't quite what it appeared, they quickly go back to normal, which isn't hard when Raj will only talk to women when he's drunk.

Meanwhile, Leonard (Johnny Galecki) tries to maintain a long distance relationship before putting his relationship with Penny back in a beta test. Sheldon (Jim Parsons) is forced to take his relationship with Amy (Mayim Bialik) to the next level - and he insists they both sign a relationship agreement. Leonard finds a loophole in his relationship with Sheldon when he voids the friendship clause. And Howard (Simon Helberg) gets ready for a trip into space and his marriage to Bernadette (Melissa Rauch).

That's just a few of the bigger storylines of the season. Each episode is filled with laughs. Some people complain the show isn't as funny as it used to be, but I find it hysterical just about every week. Yes, they have one or two weeks that fall flat, but they are by far the exception rather than the rule. And even then, there are some great lines and classic moments.

Howard and Bernadette have the biggest story arcs of the season, and I must say I love watching the two of them interact. Usually, they are so sweet together, although when they fight it can be pretty funny as well. Howard used to annoy me like crazy, but now I actually find I like him.

Of course, the real star of the show is still Sheldon. While there are some great episodes that don't feature him as prominently, he still gets most of the best lines and the best laughs.

The problem most people who complain about this show have with it is Amy and Bernadette. They are characters that were added in season 3 and 4, and some people feel they've ruined the dynamic of the show. Personally, I think they've helped the show develop. As fun as seasons one and two are, the show would be pretty boring if they were still doing those storylines three years later. These characters have allowed the guys to change and the writers to find new storylines. While I do find Amy's comments about Penny uncomfortable at times, I still find her mostly funny.

As far as cameos go, we've got Wil Wheaton, Brent Spiner, and Dr. Stephen Hawkins appear as themselves, and Leonard Nimoy voices a Spock doll.

The show pasted the 100 episode mark this season, and that means the cast is very familiar with their characters. It shows, too, in the acting. Everyone is believable and comfortable with their parts, and it's easy to just sit back and laugh as the show plays.

There were 24 half hour episodes in season 5, and they are all included in this set in their native wide screen and full surround. Extras include a gag reel, behind the scenes look at the departments that go into creating an episode of the show, and a look at the 100th episode. The set is available in just DVD or in a Blu-Ray/DVD combo set.

The Big Bang Theory is just as funny now as it was originally, and that's saying something for a show in it's fifth season . If you are looking to laugh, this is a set to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To boldly go where Howard has never gone before, 10 April 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Here in box set, spread over three discs, are all twenty four episodes of the fifth season of popular sitcom the Big Bang Theory. All about two brilliant but nerdy physicists, their worldly wise next door neighbour, and their friends.

As ever, each episode runs from eighteen to twenty minutes.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French.

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Dutch, French, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish.

Many of the episodes stand alone, but there are linking themes this year. Sheldon and Amy's relationship continues to develop. After a fashion. Howard and Bernadette's wedding approaches. As he gets the chance to go the international space station. Raj remains so very lonely. And there are changes for Leonard and Penny also.

Fans of the show have split into two camps by this point in the run. There are those who think the show has lost something from the early days with the addition of more characters and more focus on relationship based storylines rather than science/nerd ones. Or those who love it no matter what. The former may not be entirely pleased by this season. The latter won't have a problem.

The show does do very well to fit all the cast in each week, given the length of the episodes - Bernadette is only missing from two and Amy is only missing from three - but after a couple of excellent opening episodes the first half of the run does produce a lot that are merely very good rather than great. These tend to be ones that have two plotlines a week, and in these the whole cast won't always be together for any point of it.

The second half of the season does seem to move beyond this, and is as a whole very good, with some real stand outs. Plus some very good guest stars.

The audience does react with emotion when certain things happen. And you may well do the same. This is a show that survives on the strength of well loved characters providing a lot of laughs. And in that respect, it's at the top of it's game.

Extras are:

On disc two: Two ten minute long featurettes with brief with cast members. One about their favourite moments from the fifth season. And one about the show reaching it's one hundredth episode.

On disc three: a nine minute long gag reel. The show has always produced good ones, and this year's is no exception. Many gag reels can be people pulling silly faces or making silly noises for the sake of it, but these are genuine and often very funny.

Plus a fascinating fourteen minute long feature about the work of the prop department and other integral members of the show's behind the scenes crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A winning formula!, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Take the snooty perfectionism of Niles from 'Frasier' and crank it up a good few notches; add a generous helping of Dustin Hoffman's Rain Man, including the lack of social skills; sprinkle liberally with the abrasive haughtiness of Doc Martin; add a twist of both Kenneth Williams from the 'Carry On' films and Julian Clary; then top with a light dusting of Mr. Bean ...

The result is Sheldon Cooper, gifted theoretical physicist and geek extraordinaire, as arrogant, self-centred and narcissistic as he is childlike and loveable, and who is undoubtedly one of the finest comedy characters of all time - so much so that even the way he knocks on the door is hilarious!

Sheldon is what makes this brilliant sitcom really shine, but he is also aided and abetted by a motley ensemble of fellow geeks: the neurotic Raj, who can't talk to women without first necking some alcohol (and who reminds me of the hilarious 'Indian Keith' in 'Celebrity Juice'); the sleazy and sex-obsessed Howard, who, despite now being engaged, still lives with his belligerent, overbearing mother; and Leonard, who is just as pathetic as the rest of them, but who is their link to Penny, the 'blonde across the hall', and the world of 'normal people'.

This series also sees the return of extreme oddball Amy Farrah Fowler, who, despite being Sheldon's girlfriend (though he's loath to admit it), seems to have taken quite a shine to Penny; and Howard's chipmunk-like yet feisty wife-to-be Bernadette, who may prove to be quite a match for his loud-mouthed mother.

I'd seen snippets of 'The Big Bang Theory' on TV and was generally unimpressed, but it was only when I watched it properly that, beneath the cheesy American feel (not least of which is the incessant and rather irritating laughter of the studio audience), I realised its utter brilliance. As epic and loveable as 'Friends' and 'Frasier', and as quirky and hilarious as the US version of 'The Office', this is a comedy that will rightfully take its place among the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments, just not that many., 3 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
As much as I love the first 3 series I can accept that shows must grow as do characters, but TBBT has grown into a generic Friends clone at the cost of it's quirkyness. I even enjoyed season 4 but the cracks were beginning to show. It seems such a shame because the show's premise can allow for the mining of comedy gold in areas that other sitcoms just can't go.

Why can't leonard have a major success which puts sheldon's nose out of joint? Why can't we see Raj's mammouth struggle to overcome his selective mutism? Why can't Howard build a thingymabob that allows him so much success that he puts Sheldon's name as a footnote in his memoirs? Why can't there be a reversal where Penny goes desperately chasing Leonard after Leonard comes to realise that she doesn't care for him as much as he does for her, such as stealing his mail, doing favours for him? Perhaps they even manage to fix the lift! Something as simple as that can change the dynamics of the show.

Instead we have stories about not getting a hair cut, fun with flags, confronting a bully, battling for an office, ruining a toy teleporter, going round to Wil Wheaton's house and bridesmaid dress shopping. This is not to say that some of the episodes are not funny. There are some terrific one liners and anything with Stuart from the comic book store is pure gold. But for every classic line about the bone density of an 80 year old man there is a truly desperate attempt for laughs about getting wood whilst playing Settlers Of Catan.

Sheldon used to be 80% genius, 20% child, now he's the opposite. Why does someone as popular and likeable as Penny spend so much time with nerds such as AFF and Bernadette? The show was how she bounced off 4 uber nerds, now there are 6 nerds on the show. Leonard has turned into an obnoxious douche. Howard is domesticated and lost his appeal.

With the show becoming more successful in this progression I can't see it coming back to what made it special in the first place. To do that they'd have to get rid of AFF and Bernadette for a start. Come on fellas, you can bring it back, just get creative rather than going through the motions!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 Seasons in, still going strong..., 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I'll probably never get tired of the Big Bang Theory. In my opinion, one of the best sitcoms ever. With that said....Season 5 is a bit weaker than Season 1-3 (therefore only 4 stars) but probably on par with Season 4. That's still waaay ahead of your average sitcom, therefore definitely a buying recommendation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best series for decades, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Some complain about content storylines concentrating on new characters and relationships. Nonsense. The excellent actors are simply given more foils for their banter and more varied situations. Well worth getting the whole series of seasons. The editing on E4, apart from the appalling ads, in inexcusable, taking out huge chunks just to delete such words as Bitch and Damn. With all the utter rubbish produced in the US and shown over here they simply ruin what is a consistently funny and intelligent show. All characters deliver their extremely clever and funny script with and incredible ability to keep their faces straight. Enjoy the outtakes for proof. Jim Parsons is a gem. As a father of an autistic child I can see that his character is autistic, high-end, clearly, and his idiosyncrasies are accurate to a fantastic degree. Wonderful stuff, watchable again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but still funny, 5 May 2012
By 
Anthony Green "cascode" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
The first 3 seasons of TBBT were pure gold, season 4 was an amalgum of gold and silver, but right from episode 1 of season 5 there has been something not quite "right". The pacing seems to be off and and I just don't laugh as much.

However, regardless of how much anyone may criticise season 5 it is several orders of magnitude funnier than any other sitcom currently on air. The show might be coasting along on autopilot at the moment but in comparison to anything else it still sparkles.

Also, on repeated viewings it is funnier. TBBT has always had great repeat viewing strength (like all great comedy) but I didn't "get" a lot of season 5 until I'd watched it twice - my wife thought so as well. Does that mean the scripts are not as well written? It certainly isn't the acting, which is as good as ever.

So overall, not as good as past series, but still funny and worth viewing. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang Theory Season 5, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
From the very first season onwards The Big Bang Theory Show has always hit the mark with me.This is not always so with some sit-coms. Some take awhile to get into, and others after a bit just don't cut it. Likewise there are some comedies which are pretty good on a one shot basis. That is to say, I saw it, and o.k. -yeah, I've seen it, but that's it. Then there are certain sit-coms which join the ranks of those which, going back all the way to like the 'Lucy' days of the 1950's which are classics, and even after you've watched the episdodes and just about know them by heart, you still like to see them again. THe Big Bang Theory is for me, in that ranking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 5 (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews